Customer Reviews
BEE


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lights a fire of curiosity, 18 July 2012
By 
Nelle Tap (Gt Kingshill, Bucks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee (Hardcover)
This is quite simply an amazing book. I am a beekeeper and a volunteer with the National Trust for the apiary at Hughenden Manor. As a teacher for 33 years as well I take a leading part in trying to help the public and children understand about bees and bee keeping. This book is invaluable - you show selected pictures to the young or old alike and see the awe, wonder and understanding - often followed by the most enthusiastic questioning to learn more. Whether you believe in evolution or a divine hand, seeing the line of hooks that allow one wing to attach to another and knowing this is the fundamental idea of velcro, you see the intrinsic beauty alongside the practical efficiency. Showing the barbed sting enlarged allows you to explain why it needs to be removed but also why just pulling it may not work. And the enlarged eye with 8000 hexagonal lenses - WOW. Would be a wonderful book especially for the child who dislikes reading lots of text or who has difficulty in doing so but the effectiveness of the images means it will inspire anyone at any age. The only problem is that my copy is getting marked by tiny and not so tiny fingers as I share it with others. I need at least one more copy so I have one to keep and one to use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honey-Bee in close up, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BEE (Paperback)
Bought as a present for my father who is a scientist who keeps bees as a hobby - he loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning pictures for any nature lover, 31 Aug 2011
By 
E. Marshall (North Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband, who keeps bees. He was delighted with the book. It is very different to other beekeeping books. It is a collection of photographs, zoomed in, of different parts of the bee. The detail is amazing and it is quite fascinating (even to me - and I'm not really a bee enthusiast!)! It would make an ideal gift to anyone interested in nature, photography and of course, bees!
Great value, and lovely binding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you thought you had all the books about bees .. think again, 6 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Bee (Hardcover)
As a beekeeper I found this book just stunning. Beautifully shot it is a 'must have' for the regular beekeeper, the beekeeper with an leaning toward bee anatomy or just anyone fascinated by bees. A great gift for anyone interested in this wonderful hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bee (Hardcover)
Amazing imaging! There are close-ups I thought were impossible to reach. It is very educative, perfect as a present at the same time- for a beekeeper, anyone interested in nature or photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a bee looks like very close up & personal!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BEE (Paperback)
What a fabulous book for understanding little bits of the bee! The photography is exceptional....you will never see with the naked eye the things she depicts...those little hooky things on their wings. What a great idea of mother nature. Well worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BEE (Paperback)
This was recommended at our local natural bee keeping club. The photographs are absolutely incredible. Will recommend it myself to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BEE (Paperback)
This is an excellent book and is well recommended for any bee keeper or someone interested in insects. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BEE (Paperback)
really good pictures clear and very well taken quite a lot with great magnification a fantastic bee referance book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BEE
BEE by Rose-Lynn Fisher (Paperback - 1 Aug 2012)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews