Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good co-operative dice game
A good game in which the players take different roles and use dice to discover and hopefully conquer a haunted museum. Fans of Arkham Horror should like it as a way to get a 'quick fix' in around 30 mins to an hour, rather than the 3+ hours of Arkham. It's a tough challenge and you will almost certainly lose horribly on your first few attempts, but that's what a good...
Published on 28 Dec. 2011 by NickWal

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Presentation is not everything
The whole graphical presentation of the game is very atmospheric and of top quality. The gameplay however consist of brainless and endless dice rolling. There is very little skill involved in this game, the choices are almost non existent as the various great looking cards give you exactly the same bonuses. I bought it two years ago and after 2-3 hours nobody wanted to...
Published 6 months ago by Bartosz Jaworski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good co-operative dice game, 28 Dec. 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
A good game in which the players take different roles and use dice to discover and hopefully conquer a haunted museum. Fans of Arkham Horror should like it as a way to get a 'quick fix' in around 30 mins to an hour, rather than the 3+ hours of Arkham. It's a tough challenge and you will almost certainly lose horribly on your first few attempts, but that's what a good co-operative game should be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 16 Oct. 2012
By 
J. Robinson "mr_jackdaw" (Lancaster, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
I really enjoy playing Arkham Horror with my family as the cooperative atmosphere stops all the arguments we have with other games...

However, that game takes far too long to play.

This feels, thematically, the same. It is superbly designed so that tactical choices can be made team wide to solve difficult cards.

One problem is the instructions; they are rather badly written and I found them hard to follow. I suggest getting the Android game (It's only £2.50) and playing that as a primer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini Arkham Horror., 6 Jan. 2012
By 
AL "Ninja B" (Letchworth Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
This game is great fun, kinda similar to Arkham Horror, but plays in a quarter of the time.

I wouldn't call it especially deep, as after all, this is a card / dice game. But it is fun solo or with 2 or more players, get the drinks and snacks out and have a laugh.

Some reviewers claim that this game is too easy, i don't agree, as it is easy to miss out on some of the tighter rules. I think if the rules are followed then the game is of a decent enough difficulty.

I own and have previously reviewed Last Night On Earth and Mansions of Madness, which i both love. This game creates an alternative to the above and sits nicely next to them thematically.

If you like rolling dice, a bit of horror, like making choices that are not overly complex and don't mind a chunk of random luck chucked in, then this could be the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Ancient Stirs..., 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
Elder Sign is set in the same Arkham Horror universe and based on the Lovecraftian mythos that has proven popular for countless games and other knockoffs that has surfaced over the years. Unlike some of its predecessors and counterparts, however, this game is simple and quick to pick up and you can have a game in under a hour with 4 players once people know what they are doing.

The idea behind the story is that you are a team of intrepid investigators going into the Arkham museum each night in hope of closing a gate that has opened, thus stopping on the of the Ancient Ones (of which you get 8 in the base game) from rising. How do you stop him/her/it from rising? Simple, get enough Elder Signs t do so before the Ancient One amasses enough Doom Tokens to awaken fully and take the world by storm (one of my gaming groups believe they intend to take over Broadway and attain stardom through a plethora of successful musicals, but we shall see). The Ancient One awakening does not automatically mean game over though, for you then get to combat the great ancient evil and try to force it back before it devours you and then the world (or conquers the aforementioned Broadway).

While all of the dice rolling adds a significant luck factor to your endeavors, there is still strategy required in working with your strengths and what items you have to help you and working cooperatively toward your goal, you really do not want to try to be greedy and work solo thinking eveyone else will be fine, your character may quickly die and your teammates may not want to help you (as one fellow in another of my gaming groups found out).

So get out there, kick down some monsters, solve those dastardly (and often deadly) investigations and send that Ancient One back down the hole It came from, but you'll be back as there are plenty more where It came from.

While I do not have any of the expansions for this game I have had dozens of games and enjoyed each one since each game plays very differently since you never know what investigations or mythos cards events will come out next and you can really end up scratching your head trying to work out how to get 3 Terror results whilst also dealing with 2 monsters that have also attached itself to that devilish investigation. So, yes, while there is plenbty of dice rolling, it certainly is not the be and end all of this game, not by a long shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first co-op game, 7 Nov. 2011
By 
D. Sjulander - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
And it's really great. I've been having a lot of fun playing this with a loved one of mine.
I recommend it if you want something fun to play with another person, and if you want to stop competing against people and instead co-operate towards a common goal. Fun game, some of the pieces are a bit small, it seems to be a bit on the easy side, but I don't know. There's a lot of content to explore and it's fun! Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A speedier way to end the world!, 28 Oct. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
While Arkham Horror has been a mainstay of our games' sessions over the years, there's been a notable lessening of our willingness to play it as add-on added to add-on, such that set-up took an age, and then every turn required a checklist of a whole wealth of conditions, to the point where it lost any immediacy it had.

Elder Sign reclaims this, and brings back the playability of the original game while being dosed with a strong sense of mood and atmosphere. It's basically Arkham Horror with adventure resolution courtesy of Risk Express, and has worked really well in the sessions we've had so far. There has been talk of it being too easy in some forums, but this hasn't seemed to be the case so far: probably the only real drawback of this release is that you *need* to read the FAQ that clarifies a few rules (especially the distribution of new monsters) and does make it harder! The tiny pieces in some cases are a nuisance, but nothing worse.

It would have been nice to have the game a bit bigger, as I get the sense that there'll be a few add-ons with more monsters and players and rules, and then we're back to square one with the whole lack of immediacy. But for the moment this is a lot of fun, a much faster game than its parent, but just as thrilling and scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't touch the exhibits., 2 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Williams (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
What seems initially complex, is actually a relatively simple game. Choose an area to investigate, roll the required dice to complete the tasks, reap the rewards. Hopefully those rewards will include Elder Signs. Get enough signs and the ancient ones will be kept at bay (for now). There's more too it, of course, but it really is intuitive once you play it. However, stay focussed, things can turn bad pretty quick. If your team is low on stamina and sanity you will struggle to prevent one of the ancient ones arriving. Then your investigators will face off against the ancient one, and most likely fail.
It is an awesome game. Once i have played it to death i am defo getting Arkham Horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game of horror in the Museum, 25 Dec. 2014
By 
Benny Bosmans "Ben_Bos" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
Brilliant game of horror in the Museum. Equally enjoyable solo as with a small group. I only stumbled on this game a few weeks ago ... and with 500 games on my attic ... I stood perplex how good it is with a rather modest complexity.
Those who think this is just dice rolling have no clue and probably played it a few turns without knowledge.
In straight H.P. Lovecraft style you need to beat monsters and bad guys in a haunted museum. Choose among 16 investigators to beat the bad things before the big Elder (several choices of end bosses) comes down to destroy humanity. In order to do that you need to enter many rooms and defeat the the things.
You need to roll dice indeed, but LOTS of items and spells can help you with manipulating them. Those just throwing dice will be devoured for ever :).
The tension is great and the atmosphere is awesome for such a rather small game. Components are top notch. Protect this jewell with card sleeves :)
I would advice taking 3 investigators in solo mode and 4 investigators with 2-4 players (best with 4 people each playing one investigator).
I have been playing board games since 1965 and it is telling that Elder Sign is easy top 5 in my solo/co op games (right up there with Ambush OOP or the Lord of the Rings Living Card Game).
If you are in doubt : buy the very cheap tablet version of Elder Sign and see for yourselves. I like the board game version more though as the board gives a much better overview and the setting is gorgeous.

Must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game, 5 April 2015
By 
Mr. P. Hart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
I love this game.

Roll dice, match symbols to complete tasks, until you have collected enough goodies to defeat the impending evil.

I mean, yes, as some have said - it's simply rolling dice. But then, aren't lots of games 'just' rolling dice, or 'just' playing a card?

The strategy comes with knowing which dice to role, when to test your luck, and working out some odds. The different characters, with their varied abilities, mean you have to balance completing a task that's causing you a headache now, or waiting a couple of turns until a person with a killer ability or card can do it easily.

It also opens up with the expansions, which add greater difficulty and more strategic options.

Once you're used to the rules it plays in 30-45 minutes (usually). You shouldn't be comparing this to Arkham Horror just because it shares a theme, but it's better thinking of this as an alternative way to spend an hour to games like Munchkin, or Castle Panic, or any other shorter tabletop game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You better like losing, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game (Toy)
Sounds like a negative review, but this game is really very challenging. You can play solo or with several friends but, unlike games like Pandemic, the difficulty level remains pretty static and that means you're in for a fight and beating the game feels pretty rewarding. Once you start to lose, it can snowball pretty quickly until you're completely defeated but the dice mean you always feel like you might have a chance to turn it around.

This is probably a game for "board gamers" - it can take a fair bit of setting up and explaining to people new to Lovecraft and/or board games and it's not a game of instant gratification so you probably wouldn't want to use it to introduce someone to the genre. Absolutely worth picking up if you're a few games into the hobby, though,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game
Elder Sign: A Cthulhu Dice Game by Fantasy Flight Games
Used & New from: £19.67
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews