Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great
This book is amazing I love it one of the best books I've read you will like it to if you do
Published 16 months ago by B.Thompson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great games do not make great comics
Plants Vs Zombies is one of the most addictive, entertaining games I've ever played. I played the first game to death, doing the challenges long after I'd completed the game (several times) and not a day goes by since Plants Vs Zombies 2 has been released where I don't play at least one game of it (that damn Treasure Yeti's lunchbox!). I love this gaming series, it's so...
Published 21 months ago by Sam Quixote


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great games do not make great comics, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Plants vs. Zombies: Lawnmageddon (Hardcover)
Plants Vs Zombies is one of the most addictive, entertaining games I've ever played. I played the first game to death, doing the challenges long after I'd completed the game (several times) and not a day goes by since Plants Vs Zombies 2 has been released where I don't play at least one game of it (that damn Treasure Yeti's lunchbox!). I love this gaming series, it's so much fun.

The flip side is that the popularity of the game spawns further iterations of the franchise in other media, in this case a comic book version of Plants Vs Zombies written by Paul "Bandette" Tobin, the go-to guy for writing kid-friendly comics. It might be because this comic is clearly aimed at younger readers, but I could not get through it despite it being a short book of not even 100 pages.

The story - and I use the term loosely - is about a small town suddenly being invaded by zombies. A boy and a girl - because everyone else has disappeared, maybe they're the zombies? I don't know, I didn't read far enough ahead but I doubt it - are the last line of defence against the hilariously dressed horde. Or are they? The girl's uncle turns out to be Crazy Dave, the guy wearing a saucepan, who has been experimenting on plants and created a ton of mutant plants, all of which are scattered about town and are taking down the zombies. It's up to the kids to marshal the plants in an epic showdown against the zombies.

The story, as far as I read it, was the kids running about town, encountering a type of zombie - and all of the plants and zombies used are from the first game, not the second - and then a plant showing up to kill it. This was repeated again, and again, and again, until I couldn't go on any more. The novelty of seeing the plants and zombies that I know so well in a comic wore off a few pages in and after that I was left with the no-plot story and weak jokes. After struggling to keep my interest for nearly half the book I put it down and down it shall remain.

This isn't entirely Tobin's fault - Plants Vs Zombies is a tower defence game, it's all about the gameplay and it doesn't require a story. But transfer the game into a medium that requires a narrative and you can only do so much with what you've got. Plants Vs Zombies - the title is the story, like Snakes on a Plane, but it's also not an interesting story. Fun to play, boring to read.

The Devil May Cry and Assassin's Creed comics are awful, the Street Fighter comics are pretty poor, and added to the bunch is Plants Vs Zombies. Great games do not make great comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is amazing I love it one of the best books I've read you will like it to if you do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars plants v zombies, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my grandson for alternative bedtime reading on my kindle, He loves the games and has really enjoyed the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comic book, 30 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plants vs. Zombies: Lawnmageddon (Hardcover)
Excellent comic book. My nephew loved it and now wants more of them. Great price too and super fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plants vs. Zombies: Lawnmageddon (Hardcover)
excellent thanks very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plants vs. Zombies: Lawnmageddon (Hardcover)
Great for younger readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plants vs. Zombies: Lawnmageddon
Plants vs. Zombies: Lawnmageddon by Paul Tobin (Hardcover - 19 Nov. 2013)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews