Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Artwork for a stunning game !
The title says it all really, the character artwork and the scenery is absolutely stunning. Its brilliant to see how the characters were developed into their final guises for the game itself. Loads of pictures of the whole cast including the various stages of the infection. Inspiring stuff and a perfect addition to what I think will be the game of the year.
Published 13 months ago by Mark Simmons

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice art but only an okay art-book.
The Art of The Last of Us was a must buy for me. As an artist in the video-game industry I felt that I wanted dive deeper into the world of The Last of Us. However I was disappointed to find that most of the artwork in this book is only about concept art and loose abstract sentences regarding the world itself. There were loads of imagines of the main-characters and the...
Published 13 months ago by Christoffer Radsby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Artwork for a stunning game !, 4 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
The title says it all really, the character artwork and the scenery is absolutely stunning. Its brilliant to see how the characters were developed into their final guises for the game itself. Loads of pictures of the whole cast including the various stages of the infection. Inspiring stuff and a perfect addition to what I think will be the game of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful & Impressive Showcase., 2 July 2013
By 
J. C. Neale (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
There can be no denying the intricate, delicate and amazingly crafted world The Last Of Us created. It is one of the most powerful concepts in gaming to this date, and for that reason alone I was almost compelled to purchase this book, and it can straightforwardly say that this only extends the love I have for the Art & Design team at Naughty Dog.

Firstly, the contents are as follows:

Large matte-style hardback book with an Introduction by Neil Druckmann and Bruce Straley, then chapters consisting of:

- Joel And Ellie
- The Journey
- The Infected
- The World
- Marketing
- American Dreams

Each chapter showcases some form of design evolution for either characters or environments, from the first ideas to, for example, different looks and outfits for the finalised characters which you are familiar with, all set out as a pure showcase of art, with minimal annotation. For those who are familiar with these kinds of art books, this is pretty expected and normal stuff.

However, what really sets this book apart from others, and what makes it one of the very best in my opinion, is the standard of art and design shown. All art books are impressive, but there is something really quite fascinating and special about the content in this one. Some of the design concepts and mood drawings are some of the very best that I've ever seen for, well, anything really. They are so evocative and moving i'm not surprised that the final game has such a well pulled off vision, as it would be hard not to be inspired.

Really, it is hard for me to emphasise that enough - Although the character design sections, though interesting, are not exactly something to write home about, they are placed between amazing, powerfully evocative and very talented pieces of art and design conceptualisations. the vast majority of which are some of the best I've ever come across.

Certainly, I'd be hard pressed to mention another art book that is as emotionally drawing as this one. It is very involving, incredibly powerful and endlessly impressive in its scope and talent.

Beautiful, evocative art & design from a beautiful, evocative game.
I would recommend to all fans of the game with no hesitation at all. Again, it one of the finest art books (in terms of the quality of content) that there is.

(And just a small point to note, for those who haven't yet completed the game, this will contain spoilers)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First ArtBook, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. I. Ahmed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
Asa 15 year old, i dont actually have any other artbooks, so i wasnt entirely sure what to expect. i mainly bought this because well, the game is AMAZING, and having the Joel Edition, i saw a glimpse of artwork and decided to buy the full thing - im also considering things like character design/illustration as perhaps a future career, being somwthing of interest and desire.

This artbook really helps you to appreciate the little details in last of us more than you would already, things like lighting (obviously) and those extra little unrequired details that hint to you the lifestyles of hunters and fireflies - right down to the basic clothing. its also quite amazing how initial infected designs changed so much to what they are now. Although, i wish there was a little more on the character development for David than just 1 or 2 pages.
and to those wondering, this does have more than mini artbooks that came with Joel/Ellie Edition and it also includes some more things that arent included in the in-game concept art bonuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Art Book, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
When I pre-ordered this book I wasn't expecting much apart from the usual concepts from games. But this book gives the reader and insight into the world Ellie and Joel have to endure on they're travels. From Character Profiles to Abandoned Buildings this book really makes you feel as if you are in the environments that are portrayed. Excellent Work Naughty Dog!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning presentation of work, 5 July 2013
By 
Liam Nicholson (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
The Last of Us is one of the most impressive achievements in video games in recent years, and wonderfully represented by this fantastic book.Packed full of beautiful artwork, of exquisite detail. A worthy addition to any bookshelf, especially fans of the game and/or concept art. Don't read before having completed the game, as spoilers are found within.

As a collector of 'Art of' books, I can say that when compared to others, the artwork found in this is astounding, there was clearly a huge effort to produce a game of stunning beauty, and I always find myself appreciating the smaller details even more after reading these art books.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of The Last of Us, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
Hi

The Art of The Last of Us, Nice art work and best book. Best game of PS3. Best of the game 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
This art book is a must for any fan of The Last of Us so go buy it money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic art book for a fantastic game, 23 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
This is one of my favourite hardback books from Dark Horse. The game itself was something special, and they capture the passion of work and art that went into the game here. A great collection, from early concepts and character designs to mood pieces. If you loved the game, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and instructive, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
I am reliably informed the book is brilliant and instructive (by my 18 year old daughter, who the book was bought for as a gift).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, as expected!, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of The Last of Us (Hardcover)
Some really beautiful scenery in this book including pictures of Joel and Ellie I've pondered buying posters for but now feel no need. Just pre-ordered TLoU Poster Collection. Happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of The Last of Us
The Art of The Last of Us by Naughty Dog Studios (Hardcover - 2 July 2013)
20.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews