Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HITLER AS MESSIAH
I found Stolfi's highly readable and refreshing take on Hitler fascinating. This is basically a critique of the great biographers of Hitler, from Bullock to Kershaw, avoiding labels like evil and psychopath and instead seeing Hitler as a world-historical personality, amoral, intense, idealistic and messianic, even comparing him to the Prophet Muhammad and Caesar, a man...
Published on 13 Mar. 2012 by Mr. Atb Gower

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not just about Hitler
I am no expert on Hitler, so I am not in a position to judge which authors have written fair portraits of the man (which I guess probably applies to many of the people who have taken sides in their reviews of this and other books). I bought this book, and The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler by Laurence Rees, at the same time, with the intention of reading both, since they...
Published 2 months ago by ChuckH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HITLER AS MESSIAH, 13 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. Atb Gower - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler: Beyond Evil and Tyranny (Hardcover)
I found Stolfi's highly readable and refreshing take on Hitler fascinating. This is basically a critique of the great biographers of Hitler, from Bullock to Kershaw, avoiding labels like evil and psychopath and instead seeing Hitler as a world-historical personality, amoral, intense, idealistic and messianic, even comparing him to the Prophet Muhammad and Caesar, a man with a mission with only the restoration of German greatness and expansion in mind, Hitler with his artistic temperament and dramatic outlook on life had little sense of proportion which was both his curse and his gift...and he could have defeated Soviet Russia had he focused on Moscow in August 1941, instead of diverting forces south, thereby winning the war. Whether this book is a corrective I'll let others decide, but I found it rewarding. Essentially Stolfi's Hitler is a dark, tragic romantic figure, but I doubt we'll ever understand the real Adolf Hitler. Despite some excellent books on his early years and service in the Great War, I still await a history that will satisfactorily explain what actually happened to this man in 1919 which eventually led to so much bitterness, hatred and cruel murder of millions of innocent civilians, and the sacrifice and slaughter of military personnel, by the end of World War II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting Kershaw & Co. out with the trash!, 23 May 2014
By 
Devil's Advocate (Over your shoulder!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hitler: Beyond Evil and Tyranny (Hardcover)
The subtitle to the book "Beyond Evil and Tyranny" is the key to this fascinating and engaging read.
Stolfi shows that the so-called "great" historians have been criminally negligent in their analysis and explanation of Hitler to date.
Their millions of readers short-changed by frauds cashing in on a fascination with Hitler while doing nothing other than portraying him as some cartoonish monster. Fine for the masses, but are you satisfied?
Fest, Bullock, Kershaw et al. allowed hatred of their subject to cloud any objective study of this titan of world history.
However, it seems that their monopoly of thought has now been broken.
Mr Stolfi reaches beyond the cliches and prejudices to show how Hitler came to be the most significant world figure of the 20th century.
Through this audacity he is able to make some ground-breaking arguments about Hitler and the vision he tried to put into reality.
The principal result is to focus again on Mein Kampf and the manifesto laid out therein. It is clear that rather than focussing on Jews the book places Hitler as an implacable foe of Communism/Marxism.
We learn about the Jewish preponderance of leadership in the post-WW1 communist uprisings in Germany. This crucial fact has been purposely overlooked by other historians.
Militarily, Stolfi also makes a compelling argument for a Hitler not interested in world domination but in ensuring the strategic protection of Germany's raw materials. The quest for the Thousand Year Reich demanded such a groundrock.
I see this as the first of a new wave of more mature and certainly revisionist biographies of Hitler than the rubbish we've had to date.
Flawed, Hitler may have been but he deserves his place up there with Caesar, Napoleon and the other Great men of history.
We, the reading public deserve better than the shoddy service we have received to date from the academics.
Thank you Mr Stolfi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye opening new work on Adolf Hitler, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. G. England (oxfordshire U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler: Beyond Evil and Tyranny (Hardcover)
It was a privilege to read this book and its' attempt to redress the balance over the obcscenely biased and basically untrue material that we are used to having served up to us from an early age . I doubt if many readers will ever feel the same way about ' The Chief ' after reading this. After a few chapters you soon realise just what an astounding man he was. I must admire the courage of Mr. Stolfi and his fairness in dealing with the subject. What was also very revealing to myself was when the author quotes the statistics on the numbers actually incarcerated by the National Socialists during their time in power - an astonishingly low number !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler the maligned messiah., 6 Mar. 2015
By 
Dr. M. Cunningham (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler: Beyond Evil and Tyranny (Hardcover)
corrective to allied myopic propaganda. You need to read this to understand why Germany had to defend itself against the evils of jewish inspired communism. The Jews with some justification hated the ruling Russian elite and took their revenge on the russian aristocracy through the bolschewist revolution (Marx>Bronstein>Apfelbaum etc), which sought to wipe out the russian intelligentsia. After Russia the main focus of communist internationalism (the destruction of the nation states, who had persecuted God's self-important people) was Germany. Hitler was the strong leader needed to save a nation. We need to understand the great threat to Germany of communism. Unfortunately, Churchill and Rooseveldt backed the wrong horse and so helped the soviets destroy, rape and pillage half of Europe. Bulgaria and Romania will need another 50 years to recover from the national trauma inflicted by Stalin aided by the England and America, who supported communist Russia. History is indeed the story told by the victor. So look deeper for the facts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About Time!, 9 Jun. 2013
By 
K. BOYLE "kbo_wakeup" (Croydon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler: Beyond Evil and Tyranny (Hardcover)
After 70+ years of Judeo-centric commentaries and propaganda about Adolf Hitler it's about time we had a much fairer and more balanced look at the central historical phenomenon of the 20th century.
Those who prefer to get their history from Jeremy Isaacs and Stephen Spielberg will find this book terribly shocking. In fact it is more than anything an expose of the lies and vile propaganda that have been heaped on this man (and his 'anti-Semitism) since Germany was defeated, though the propaganda blitz didn't really get under way until the very late 1960's.

The main problem people should have with Hitler is that his ideology was of a racist supremacist bent, like the very tribe whose hegemony he was (unsuccessfully) trying to disempower.

The main libel (and great lie) leveled against Hitler is that he ran facilities for the industrialised extermination of a race* (the "gas chambers"). This is history's greatest and most damaging lie. It has caused the shovelling of hundreds of billions of dollars in compensation into the hands of people who have recycled this money to take control of western political systems. Furthermore, this lie has displaced Christ on Calvary by the God of the Talmud, the "Jewish People" in Auschwitz.(no wonder Christ condemned these damnable satanists)

*Watch these documentaries to learn what everybody needs to know:
[...]
[...]
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not just about Hitler, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am no expert on Hitler, so I am not in a position to judge which authors have written fair portraits of the man (which I guess probably applies to many of the people who have taken sides in their reviews of this and other books). I bought this book, and The Dark Charisma of Adolf Hitler by Laurence Rees, at the same time, with the intention of reading both, since they clearly put forward differing views. However, I have only read part of Stolfi's book, and skimmed through the rest of it. Apart from not being very well written (and poorly edited), what really did it for me was the continual carping by the author about other authors. I know he doesn't agree with what he calls "the great biographers", from Bullock to Kershaw; he states that in the introduction, and that's fine. I bought the book precisely because he wishes to put forward a different view. However, what I wanted was to read a book about Hitler from Stolfi's point of view, and not a book where the author, with monotonous regularity, slags off these other writers. I did not want to read a book about arguments between writers. I rather agree with Marcus Laver's comments (26 Sept 2014).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, flawed and poorly written, 26 Sept. 2014
By 
Marcus Laver (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the most tedious books on Hitler on the market, to be sure. The author (quite correctly) criticizes the conventional historians and biographers for demonizing Hitler without adequate analysis of the facts and the political climate of the period. So far, so good, but there is no new analysis from the author and much of the what he writes is utter drivel - e.g, stating that Hitler in his Vienna bedsit in 1908 didn't even have a microwave oven - 60 years before these things came on the market! There is also a lot of repetition and the whole style of writing is extremely dull. It's a shame, because there is much that is valid in the author's arguments and a better writer would have used the information much more skilfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars he loved his parents, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler: Beyond Evil and Tyranny (Hardcover)
In the far distant future, when they erect sarcophagi to his parents, who were dug up by the local Catholic priest at the order of the Jew, this book will be seen by those future historians as the first crack in the brainwashing machine which spins the millstones of the zionist run planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Craquepots a-go-go, 17 July 2014
By 
K. N. Crosby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler: Beyond Evil and Tyranny (Hardcover)
With praise like that in the other comments about the book, who needs criticism?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitler: Beyond Evil and Tyranny
Hitler: Beyond Evil and Tyranny by R.H.S. Stolfi (Hardcover - 15 Nov. 2011)
£25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews