Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars62
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2013
My partner has an original1948 publication of Watch Repairing as a Hobby. It was given to him by his grandfather who like my partner, was an avid amateur watch repairer and restorer. 'This little book is a gem of a how to book.' Or so my partner says.

So I bought him this reprint. I thought he'd enjoy the comparison, which he does. Though he enjoyed the book more.

Praise indeed.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
I'm just embarking on Repairing Watches as a hobby. This book is very involved but gives a great deal of information on most types of watches. Anyone thinking of taking up watch repairs as a hobby/service I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Well written book with fine line drawings. Deals only with mechanical (Wind-up) watches
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
It was very helpful as I hadn't a clue where to start but I do now thank you I use it a lot just to find where Iv'e gone wromng
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
Clear, concise, practical, educational and a wonderful book that has stood the test of time, being a direct reprint of its 1948 original. It needs no updating, it does what it says on the cover, its an essential guide, particularly to newcomers to this fascinating subject.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Interesting book, old but still relevant helpful with techniques for dismantling.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
In 1948 (when it was published) this book would be OK. But in 2016, it is just too short and basic with simple hand drawn diagrams. Only 61 pages covering all 4 subjects -
How a watch works -
Tools how to use -
How to dissemble -
Common ailments -
It should be a free PDF download, not a printed book. The author even says it only touches on subjects and refers you to other books.
It includes information about cylinder escapements which are no longer used in today's watchmaking.
It's a basic guide book that barely scratches the surface.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Very matter of fact approach. info on basic tools necessary. A well structured explanation of a logical method of recording and then dismantling a pocket watch stage by stage. With a full explanation of the function of each stage of the pocket watch and how it has to be recorded, dismantled to avoid damage to the parts , cleaned and then re-assembled. How the tools and watch have to be held in the hands steadily to enable manipulation of the tools on the watch. A good book for anyone needing to understand how a watch works and its component parts functions. An easy read. definately recommended reading for anyone interested in Clocks and watches.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
Full of useful information,Well laid out and easy understandable. A hobby that i can now follow in my retirement. Good old Amazon does it again!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Competent guide easy to follow
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)