Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did LBJ really have JFK killed?
Whether Barr McClellan was legally disbarred or not this book, if it contains 20% of the truth, is a bombshell. There had been mutterings in the US for a number of years prior to the publication of the book that Lyndon Johnson had much to gain from John Kennedy's death and was involved. It's November 1963, Dallas, and in a split second the assassin(s) transforms the rest...
Published on 30 Nov. 2012 by Ovekat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not entirely convincing
I found this book interesting rather than compelling. McClellan makes a very detailed case based on his inside knowledge of the people involved.The history of politics in Texas I found particularly interesting.

However, I'm somewhat cautious in this respect: the record of some of the key conversations.

I don't see where he can state verbatim the...
Published 6 months ago by Robert Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Did LBJ really have JFK killed?, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
Ovekat (Exeter, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Whether Barr McClellan was legally disbarred or not this book, if it contains 20% of the truth, is a bombshell. There had been mutterings in the US for a number of years prior to the publication of the book that Lyndon Johnson had much to gain from John Kennedy's death and was involved. It's November 1963, Dallas, and in a split second the assassin(s) transforms the rest of Lyndon Johnson's life for the better. Sure the suggestion that the next President of America had the incumbent President murdered is mind boggling, but quite apart from Mr McClellan's chequered past his presentation of the facts and the who, the why and the how of Johnson's involvement is extremely impressive and believeable. So much so that all the way through the book you're thinking LBJ is banged to rights and guilty!

I have been reading everything I could get hold of on the Kennedy assassination since 1963 and I'm no wiser as to whether the killer was a lone nut (Oswald) or a conspiracy (two or more people) let alone, if it was a conspiracy, whether it was the Mafia, the Russians, the Cubans, renegade CIA, various vested industrial interests, local oil producers or good ole boy Lyndon Johnson (who hated the Kennedys with a vengence).

It's too easy to dismiss this book because of the author's misdemeanours or because it's simply incredulous that LBJ could have organised it. To understand the inner workings of LBJ's mind and his propensity to have this terrible deed carried out Blood Money and Power is an essential read and I enjoyed every one of its thought provoking pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not entirely convincing, 15 Aug. 2014
By 
Robert Jones "Bobjay" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book interesting rather than compelling. McClellan makes a very detailed case based on his inside knowledge of the people involved.The history of politics in Texas I found particularly interesting.

However, I'm somewhat cautious in this respect: the record of some of the key conversations.

I don't see where he can state verbatim the conversation between LBJ and Edward Clark when the whole thing was set up in a private meeting between the two alone near the LBJ ranch. I can't see that Clark would have told him (McClellan) and LBJ was dead by the time McClellan was involved in the story.

Also I don't see where the record of the conversation between Clark and Mac Wallace setting the whole thing up came from. Again I don't see Clark as passing on this information and Wallace died in 1971.

There is also the conversation between LBJ and Don Thomas shortly before LBJ died re what the psychiatrist knew and might tell. This I find slightly more credible as Thomas was a good friend to McClellan and might well have passed this on.

I stand to be corrected on these points; I found the book very interesting but not entirely convincing. However, although I regard myself as a cynic, I am genuinely shocked at the thesis in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the full story - google "Karen Hudes", 8 Aug. 2014
By 
D. Black (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting. But does not tell the full story. Google "Karen Hudes" - she is an ex executive in the World Bank who has whistleblowed on that institution. One of the things she reveals is that Kennedy was assassinated because he was trying to close down "The Fed" and have the Treasury issue silver and gold-backed dollars - INTEREST-FREE. Clearly anathema to the money-grubbing PRIVATE central bankers. Do your own research - you won't believe me if I write it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Truth or Faction?, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. Jt Meehan "LazyJim" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood, Money, & Power: How LBJ Killed JFK (Paperback)
Barra McClellan uses much dramatic licence to conjure up scenes and intentions and words used by alleged players, which leaves much to be desired in the way of "evidence". If such skulllduggery and evil as was alleged indeed took place, it beggars belief that the US authorities today have not acted retrospectively to bring perpetrators to justice or to seek to write history in a way that suis the known or probable facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't read it yet but can't wait. Looks like a fascinating view on this everlasting mystery. Obviously we were not told the whole truth but eventually it will come out. Perhaps this is it!!

Am now halfway through it. Incredible detail of utter corruption at its worst but not entirely surprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Johnson is shown in his true colours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood, Money, & Power: How LBJ Killed JFK (Paperback)
interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood, Money, & Power: How LBJ Killed JFK (Paperback)
Extraordinary stuff in more ways than one. It's a page turner unlike any other...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The usual hogwash, 8 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
If you are remotely interested in buying this book, you will probably find it fascinating. Yet more pointless speculation, 'backed up' with spurious, irrelevant or non-existent facts, in the desperate attempt to either: (a) invest the murder of a fallen hero (!!, yes, hero, he wasn't a reactionary, mafia-tied, corrupt, morally deficient playboy, he was a defender of liberty and champion of democracy everywhere, donch'a know??) with some meaning, or: (b), more likely, make a pot of money for the author from credulous idiots who lap all or any conspiracies up without a hint of cynicism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood, Money, & Power: How LBJ Killed JFK
Blood, Money, & Power: How LBJ Killed JFK by Barr McClellan (Paperback - 1 Feb. 2011)
£9.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews