Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, worth every penny!, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I studied sound at uni and graduated knowing a lot of theory but with very little practical experience and no contacts :-(. I have spent the last 18 months fighting for work - saying yes to any opportunity that comes along and working out the detail later. As a result i have had to make up a lot of what i do as i went along. Reading this book was like rationalising my process with a good but deadly honest friend, who happens to be an expert in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive scope for a small book, 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: Location Sound Bible: How to Record Professional Dialogue for Film and TV (Paperback)
Well, the book is 350 pages and covers most of the main ground for location sound recording for film and TV. It includes some theory but the main strength is the practical information it has to offer. I have several books that claim to cover some of this ground, but this is the only book that really gets to grips with location sound practices and some of the real techniques. As a location sound recordist myself, I would agree with most of the book and confess to having learnt a few things. If you're a UK sound recordist then be aware that this book has a US perspective on standards and equipment (-18 dBFS alignment? SQN?). "Sound is half the experience" - a quote by George Lucas from the back cover of the book; take note Producers and Directors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for anyone wanting to work in Location Sound., 5 Mar 2013
This review is from: Location Sound Bible: How to Record Professional Dialogue for Film and TV (Paperback)
Great book. Very interesting and helpful.

A must have for anyone wanting to work in location sound.

Only flaw is that if you purchase the sound effects bible it shares a lot of the same content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book with some good basic information, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Location Sound Bible: How to Record Professional Dialogue for Film and TV (Paperback)
I had fun reading this, don't agree with everything in it, as I'm fairly experienced in the field. but a definitely a good book to get you started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Location Sound Bible: How to Record Professional Dialogue for Film and TV (Paperback)
A well laid out book covering all aspects of sound recording. Recommended to all levels and a great book to have in your sound bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Location Sound Bible: How to Record Professional Dialogue for Film and TV (Paperback)
This is an essential guide for anyone who wishes to produce excellent sound. It is an easy, engaging and very informative read and as it says on the tin the 'Location Sound Bible'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Location Sound Bible: How to Record Professional Dialogue for Film and TV (Paperback)
Essential and easy-going book. Very handy and informative to sound/field newcomer. I wouldn't reccomend it to you if you're advanced level though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The rockstar of location sound!!!, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Location Sound Bible: How to Record Professional Dialogue for Film and TV (Paperback)
That's right you heard me. Ric Viers explains everything regarding quality sound in your productions with the coolness and swag of a rockstar. Yet a serious book and complex subjects made plain jane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars extremely insightful location sound bible., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
4/5 very detailed, would recommend to anyone who needs a starting point. Wish I read this before I did my first shoot, extremely detailed as to most eventualities. Enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Location Sound Bible: How to Record Professional Dialogue for Film and TV (Paperback)
Really good book in every aspect. Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Location Sound Bible: How to Record Professional Dialogue for Film and TV
£12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews