Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't let this get away...., 12 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure what to expect - gay man falling for his straight best friend has been handled in quite a few books. But this was masterful. It was a slow seduction - from being a good friend to one who needs it, to slow attraction, to seduction to full on love - each step is realistically handled. There was no jump from 'hey we're buds' to shagging like minks - it was slow and steady and just beautiful. I loved it - I liked David and Trace as people, cared how they handled everything and when I finished reading it gave a happy sigh with a grin on my face.

The love-making scenes were hot without being overly explicit. Think slow burn rather than sudden conflagation. Definitely definitely be re-reading those *ahem blush* because they were really really hot. And well written. And evocative. And yeah, I guess you get the picture.

All in all, a well known theme handled extremely well, a lovely story and a satisfying read. Don't let this book get away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensual Seduction, 17 Sep 2011
By 
Simon "Simon" (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great novel on the art of seduction. Unlike the majority of stories in this genre, it is not pornographic, although there is a little descriptive sex, rather it is a slow, sensual seduction. Storywise...not a lot happening, but this is such a good read. The two protagonists are very likeable, the writing is decriptive without being flowery and very, very sensual.
I admit to wondering how a novel opening in the throws of David's migrane would progress, but then David's straight, best friend turns up to help and the seduction starts. Well worth a read. Enjoyed every minute. No bad moments, all ends happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A long, sexy, romantic seduction., 21 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
When Dave breaks his shoulder his fellow journalist and best friend, Trace, moves in to help him. Dave is gay and Trace is straight - well as straight as any man is who has got to 40-ish without having sex with another man but who wears black silk boxers, sleeps in the same bed as Dave, strokes his hair and gives him the occasional kiss. You know from page one where this is going to end up but the long, slow seduction is charming, romantic and sexy.
And the two guys end in bed together happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, sensual, enjoyable., 3 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although it's a bit of an likely scenario since the two guys have been best friends for years, I found I just couldn't put it down. Yes it was fairly obvious from the start where this was going, but the story was handled well and gently built up to a great ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Friendship turns to love, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this story and have re-read it. I like the gentle way that romance developed from friendship, with some pretty passionate encounters along the way. The characters took some time to get to know each other on this new level, as neither of them wanted to lose the friendship, if things didn't work out romantically.

Although, from the way he was described I was never convinced that Trace was straight. Also from David's side how could you know someone well enough to give them a key to your place and not tell them you're gay. They work in the same town, in the same industry, with mutual aquaintances, does nobody gossip???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable!, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another M/M romance that has a fabulous story line, and I say this as a hetero female. This book resonated with me for weeks after I had finished reading it. It is one of those books that any romantic at heard would just love (unless you are homophobic). I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great chemistry between these two guys., 22 Sep 2012
By 
mack55 (Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's definitely something about this book and I think more than anything its the interaction between David and Trace. Even before the romance starts and its just the two of them as friends you can feel the chemistry and then that turns to attraction and finally a quite passionate love. It's sort of a slow burner but that's what makes it engaging. The love scenes are hot and sensual but it was watching these guys discovering their attraction to each other that was the best part. As a straight to gay story it works a lot better than most and I think that's because Trace doesn't act the way most protags do in the situation , he accepts that he's starting to feel differently to his friend over the period they are staying at Davids house and deals with it without any major angst or upset. A lovely feel good romance with lots of charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS STORY!!, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The One That Got Away (Paperback)
It's passionate, hot, sexy and down right naughty. I love this story is is utterly amazing. If you love gay romance with sex scenes this is the book for you. It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside reading it (if not a little lonely) very good book I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The One That Got Away
The One That Got Away by Madeleine Urban (Paperback - 27 Nov 2009)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews