Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best manual I've found so far!
Have been using computers almost since they first came out and considered myself computer-savvy and the bee's-knees wrt Windows. But ... bought my new laptop with W8 on it a couple of months ago, together with a couple of self-help books (useless - dwelt mainly on cosmetics) and it had me stumped! After much cursing, tears and tantrums reailsed I needed the Idiots...
Published 12 months ago by krysten

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A very comprehensive guide
I have given this only three stars as I think it goes too far for the "complete idiot". It was bought for my wife but she has found it difficult to "dip into". We have since bought a copy of "Migrating to Windows 8" which is far easier to undefstand.
Published 8 days ago by instow


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best manual I've found so far!, 19 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback)) (Paperback)
Have been using computers almost since they first came out and considered myself computer-savvy and the bee's-knees wrt Windows. But ... bought my new laptop with W8 on it a couple of months ago, together with a couple of self-help books (useless - dwelt mainly on cosmetics) and it had me stumped! After much cursing, tears and tantrums reailsed I needed the Idiots Guide. This has helped enormously and has given me most of the info I needed, 'specially about maintenance - creating a recovery drive, loading programs designed for older versions of Windows, etc etc. There's also a very useful keyboard command shorrtcuts at the back of the book.
The only reason I've given this book four stars instead of five is that I could have done with a roadmap-type facility - eg Task Manager is accessed thru Settings but isn't listed in the index - but this is only a niggle and you find everything eventually.
All in all - a really good buy and worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great help for uninformed !, 17 April 2013
By 
Shirley D. Walker (galashiels, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback)) (Paperback)
Fantastic for this idiot. Very clear and entertaining as well. Still just half way through, but i expect i'll use this for reference for a long time. Good value and came quick as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY GOOD BUY, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback)) (Paperback)
It explains brilliantly in a language everyone should be able to understand, It is also a very good reference book and is really quite simplistic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is what it says, 19 May 2013
By 
dog-gran (South Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback)) (Paperback)
Having wasted money on other Windows 8 guides I decided to listen to the reviews on this book. For the first time ever I have been able to follow the guides and actually work a laptop without asking someone else(usually son) for help. Just don't be afraid to keep referring again and again, and eventually the brain will get it. I am so pleased with this guide, especially as Windows 8 is so very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and straightforward, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback)) (Paperback)
I prefer this to the Windows 8 for Dummies, as it's very comprehensive and in plain simple language without being patronising! The format and layout allow one to take everything a step at a time.
Joy Wodhams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfied with the content of this book, 1 April 2013
By 
Michael Robinson "michaelrob" (Chester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would have struggled to work out what to do in windows 8 without the help of this book. I now am very comfortable with windows 8 and I am enjoying the experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for beginner's, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback)) (Paperback)
the content is mainly for the new starter to windows 8 and gives a very good foundation to the program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help at Last, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback)) (Paperback)
After just getting my head around Windows 7 this book will hopefully put me on a good chance of learning this system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A very comprehensive guide, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback)) (Paperback)
I have given this only three stars as I think it goes too far for the "complete idiot". It was bought for my wife but she has found it difficult to "dip into". We have since bought a copy of "Migrating to Windows 8" which is far easier to undefstand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Complete Idiots guide for Windows8, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback)) (Paperback)
No use to me whatsoever firstly I am Windows 7 so this was no help to me whatsoever gave it to a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa69b7060)

This product

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Microsoft Windows 8 (Complete Idiot's Guides (Lifestyle Paperback))
14.29
Usually dispatched within 11 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews