Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's Best Origami by Nick Robinson
There are many origami book titles that proclaim they are either complete, greatest or the best origami books ever. The titles are often chosen by the publisher not the author, and the books often don't live up to their titles. I'm happy to say that this book does live up to its title because enclosed within is a collection of the best origami done by a diverse range of...
Published on 9 Jan. 2011 by Wayne Brown

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good models in here but I found several of the ...
Some good models in here but I found several of the diagrams very unclear and confusing. I know that this is a personal opinion but I have found it easier to follow directions given using photos rather than just line drawings. A shame as I wanted to be able to give a better review. However this is personal preference and if you like/find it easy to follow diagrams you...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's Best Origami by Nick Robinson, 9 Jan. 2011
By 
Wayne Brown (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World's Best Origami (Paperback)
There are many origami book titles that proclaim they are either complete, greatest or the best origami books ever. The titles are often chosen by the publisher not the author, and the books often don't live up to their titles. I'm happy to say that this book does live up to its title because enclosed within is a collection of the best origami done by a diverse range of origami creators. It's a shame that the cover (again not a choice of the authors) doesn't live up to the contents of the book but this 320 page book contains 113 excellent well chosen origami models from around the world.
After an excellent introduction by Robert Neale the book is divided into 10 chapters starting with a detailed Origami Basics chapter and proceeding through chapters containing Birds, Animals, Flowers, People, Containers, Geometric, Modular, Practical and Fun. The Origami Basics chapter is superb and gives a thorough overview of origami and how to fold. Included is a section on what paper to use and a helpful range of alternative sources other that bought origami paper. The author details how to make various starting shapes such as pentagons and octagons even though no models starting from these shapes are included in the book, thus this chapter can serve as a reference for the novice folder to explore further ideas. Indeed throughout the book the author suggest different ideas to try and explore creating and developing origami to give this book a longer shelf life than just an introduction to this art.
As to be expected from this author the diagrams are excellent. It's a shame that no colour is included in the book and that there are no photos of finished models included (other than on the front and back cover) but this doesn't detract from the attractiveness of the book. Unusually for an origami book the diagrams have been checked by a professional designer and artist as well as by an experienced folder and this attention to detail shows in the overall appearance of the book. The diagrams are clear, detailed and easy to follow. The folding sequences are elegant and enhance the folding of the designs. As is customary with origami books the simpler models are at the front of the book and increasingly difficult ones come at the end. This practice is continued in the chapters which start out with easier models progressing with increasing difficulty through the chapter. Whilst it is true to say that no super complex models will be found in this book even the experienced folder can't fail to find something new or challenging in this book.
It is difficult to select highlights from such an excellent collection of models but these would include Roman Diaz's excellent Puma's Head, Javier Caboblanco's beautifully simple Hungry Chick and the Kettle by Adolfo Cerceda. Other models which stand out are Mick Guy's Whale's Tail, Great Horned Owl by Giovanni Maltagliati, Nick Robinson's Santa and Edwin Corrie's Koala. However it must be said that, unlike a lot of origami books, none of the included models are "fillers" and all are worth folding. The author has included a wide range of models both old and new but even the older designs included such as the traditional Spanish Box, Trees on a Hillside by Eric Kenneway and Shuzo Fujimoto's Apple are not well known and worth folding again.
Apart from the colour issue mentioned earlier there is little to find fault with in this book. The one mistake this reviewer could find (Fumio Inoue's excellent Curly Box is wrongly attributed as being a traditional design) was already known (belatedly) to the author and will be corrected in future editions of the book.
This book deserves to be a modern classic and should be owned by every folder experienced or new. It is unhesitatingly recommended to everyone and should be on every origami teachers list as a book to recommend as both an introduction to origami and as a book that even the experienced folder will dip into again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Robinson Produces His Best Origami Book, 7 April 2011
This review is from: World's Best Origami (Paperback)
I would just like to echo the other reviewers words here. This really is a fabulous book on the subject. Most of the models presented here I had not seen before and all were a joy to fold. This is down to Nick Robinson's excellent diagramming skill.

I love this book and it has become one of my top ten favourites.

If you love origami then buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World's Best Origami (Paperback)
Excellent book indeed. Really good range of origami, I was a beginner when I started with it and have now made most of them, the diagrams are very good, I know I'll never take this book to the charity shop, my friends and family often get cards with one of the designs stuck to the front now. My favorite is the elephant. The book is all in black and white with no photos of finished pieces which I really like as you only really get to see it once you have made it yourself. Super, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World's Best Origami (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone who is fairly competent, but it's not really for beginners. There are some simpler designs to make, and ones I had never seen before such as a simple booklet you can make, but there are some that can become very complicated and confusing for anyone who is just starting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some good models in here but I found several of the ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some good models in here but I found several of the diagrams very unclear and confusing. I know that this is a personal opinion but I have found it easier to follow directions given using photos rather than just line drawings. A shame as I wanted to be able to give a better review. However this is personal preference and if you like/find it easy to follow diagrams you will get on fine with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World's Best Origami (Paperback)
This book is very good for anyone interested in origami. My son was delighted and has made a lot of the figures. Some are still a bit beyond him at the moment but that gives him something to aim for as he gets older. Happy with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners view, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World's Best Origami (Paperback)
I love this book. I've just started folding and I find the instructions and diagrams very easy to follow. I even like the fact that there are no photos, it has helped me concentrate on the folding. But no Crane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introductory book, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, with loads of different models, across a broad range of abilities, and clearly diagramed. Adult Origami by the same author is also a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ok,, 27 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World's Best Origami (Paperback)
OK book with good instructions. Great range on type og models. Good description of the difficulty of the models. I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World's Best Origami (Paperback)
A good present for the granddaughter who has alraedy enjoyed it. Will keep her quiet for hours! Easy to follow instructions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World's Best Origami
World's Best Origami by Nick Robinson (Paperback - 16 Dec. 2010)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews