Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read
It's another Stephanie Laurens book, and if you've read her books before you know what to expect. Her heroes and heroines are generally appealing characters and their romances aren't beset with misunderstandings, hatreds and problems but are generally smoothly done with any problems being from external events. Such is the case here in this book which is the first in a new...
Published on 30 Jan 2010 by Helen Hancox

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gosh Steph
Big prose and no emotion at all. How have you got away with it for so long?
Published on 18 Jun 2010 by Mira


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gosh Steph, 18 Jun 2010
Big prose and no emotion at all. How have you got away with it for so long?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 30 Jan 2010
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It's another Stephanie Laurens book, and if you've read her books before you know what to expect. Her heroes and heroines are generally appealing characters and their romances aren't beset with misunderstandings, hatreds and problems but are generally smoothly done with any problems being from external events. Such is the case here in this book which is the first in a new series, the Black Cobra quartet, about four army officers who are travelling back to England from India with evidence against a well-connected Englishman in India.

The hero of this first book in the series is Colonel Derek Delborough, a man who has lived the army life for years - he fought at Waterloo before joining the East India Company - and who hasn't really thought much about his future. But as he reaches port in England whilst carrying his copy of the evidence - a letter in a scroll-holder - he finds that he has unexpectedly been tasked to accompany a woman, a friend of his aunts, to the North.

Miss Duncannon won't take no for an answer, and when she saves Del's life she is drawn into the deadly game of hide-and-seek as he tries to keep himself and her safe whilst delivering the evidence to Dalziel the spymaster. But the two can't travel in each other's company for long without finding an attraction building between them. But will it come to anything?

The thing that I noticed most about this book, putting aside the central romance, was the rather large cast of characters. Stephanie Laurens appears to have included almost everyone in her previous novels in this one - the Cynsters and others - and for this reader it was just too busy. There are an awful lot of previous books and an awful lot of previous husbands and wives and they served to detract, to me, from the story. I can't work out who's who anyway and when there are over a dozen men, all manly and heroic, jostling for space on the pages, it becomes a bit much.

I also find the writing style in the sex scenes a bit disjointed.
We start a new paragraph for each sentence.
Every time.
It's irritating.

As usual the story is more to the fore than the historical setting although generally the setting is reasonably portrayed. The language occasionally slips into more American phrasing, and despite what the author says I'm not entirely sure that the behaviour of hero and heroine is entirely accurate, but these books leave the reader with a positive feeling about the couple and they are a great deal better than many others of this genre, if rather samey after a while.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book Helen Hancox 2010
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Struggled to finish it..., 5 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
TBH, I'm starting to find this author repetitive and faintly boring. IMHO, she takes 'stock' phrases and uses them everywhere, and now each book sounds just like the last one. This started off with a VERY long prologue that really didn't contribute much to the plot or characterization - a quick summary would have been just as relevant (and less boring). There was no chemistry between the two main characters - principally because all the phrases and description she used for them have been used in at least 4 other books of her I've read before!
And how was she an 'untamed bride'? She's just feisty - rather like every other Laurens heroine.
I won't be buying the others. I think her writing style has really fallen off (badly) - I doubt I will buy any more of her books at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and well written, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Susan Kennedy "SiusaidhC" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really enjoyed this book, the story is strong, full of intrigue with touches of British India. As normal with all these books the more basic sex scenes are present but this time we don't have a complete repeat of each occasion and more of feelings than the word for word account. There is a limit to how much we need in each book and with a very strong story, full of detail with good fight scenes and one or two deaths thrown in, its very much the book you can't put down until you know what happens at the end.
But it doesn't end here, there are three more in this series and I would imagine each will have very interesting input. I'm looking forward to the film;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Untamed Bride, 5 Mar 2013
The third Black Cobra novel featuring Colonel Derek Delborough and Miss Deliah Duncannon. Upon his arrival carrying the decoy letter she saves him from being shot, and he has to take her on the journey to delivery the missive into the hands of the Cynsters'/Wolverstone - accounting for 14 or so cultists or so on the way.

As usual, steamy and so very well written .... wouldn't by now expect anything else from this particular author and another 4 stars - Stephanie Laurens generally writes such delicious heroes'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Count Me Dissatisfied, 9 Dec 2011
When I first spied The Untamed Bride and found it was the first of four books in The Black Cobra Quartet I was excited. Its been a while since I've read a Stephanie Laurens novel and I must admit I simply adored the Cynsters - although by the time the last novel in that series came along I was ready for a pirate or a vampire. Then came The Bastion Club and for some reason I couldn't wrap my head around the sameness of those books. They were plotted exactly like the Cynster series although mercifully there were less of the Bastion Club novels.

So I picked up The Untamed Bride hoping to find a change. Well the locale has been changed and the premise is good - four officers of the Crown fight against a deadly enemy called the Black Cobra. They are charged with learning his identity (in India), procuring evidence against him, and bringing said evidence back to London. Since the Black Cobra knows the identities of these officers it is most unwise for them to travel together so each carries identical boxes containing the so-called evidence. However, only one of them carries the real thing; the others carry copies. Not even the officers knows which of them carries the real thing. They are each given a different route by which to return to England. At least this device gives us a glimpse of different locales.

Of course we have a lovely British lass, the handsome and dashing British officer, some contrived reason for them to be together, at least two good reasons why each of them hasn't thought about or sought marriage, and the eventual falling into each other's arms.

The trick with this book, and one that Ms. Laurens is a master of, is weaving four tangled threads (the books in the quartet) and making the reader wait until the last book to bring everything together. That is about the only reason that I can find to read all four books.

If you are a die-hard Stephanie Laurens fan then you will of course adore The Untamed Bride. Likewise, if you are reading this historical romance for pure escapism, then you are bound to enjoy this book. I found it good enough for those reasons although if I don't get to read the successive books for a year or two it won't bother me in the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No research or period feel, 30 May 2011
Only wasted one and a half hours of my life on this badly researched book with no period feel at all. How can characters in an officers club in India be ordering rounds of beer in the Regency? This is not an Australian beach bar. They should be knocking back burgundy, canary or port. The language is truly appalling with anachronistic references like 'taking out' the baddie and travelling to Humberside, a local government creation of the 1970s. Never felt so angry with such a lazy author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version of The Untamed Bride by Stephanie Laurens, 29 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is Stephanie Laurens at her best, the Black Cobra quartet has been consistantly exciting and a real page (forgive the pun) turner, the four stories can be read separately but are best read in sequence, each story has the same base structure but each is very different, the heoines are feisty, the hero's handsome and both sexes resourceful when danger threatens. I love Laurens' books she captures the period brilliantly and I look forward to many more from her "quill".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Untamed Bride, 28 Dec 2009
The last Stephanie Laurens i read wasWhere the Heart Leads (Bar Cynster Series): Bar Cynster Series 16 which i couldn't finish as i found the heroine one of the most infuriating characters ever. Thankfully the Untamed Bride is an improvement.
Del and Deliah are thrown together as she saves him from being assassinated by a member of the Black Cobra cult. Del is returning from India after his friend had been killed to finally bring their leader to justice. Along with 3 other compatriots their aim is to get themselves and the evidence to the residence of Devil Cynster and into the hands of the spymaster Dalziel. Of course danger follows them on their way and an affair starts.
Overall this book is fast paced and enjoyable. At times i felt there were to many Cynsters and Bastion Club members thrown into the mix. I liked Del, he is a typical Laurens Alpha Male but he is not completely overpowering. Deliah is the usual heroine, feisty, at times a bit superior. However she admits to her vulnerabilities which makes her more human than previous heroines who seem to like nodding their heads imperiously a bit to much.
I recommend this book and look forward to the future books in this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I feel that, having read all four books of this quartet, I must stress that embarking on only one is like only reading a quarter of a book. The story is of the four officers who have to get an exceedingly important document to England from India which will prove without doubt the identity of The Black Cobra. In order to confuse the enemy and give greater chance of the document arriving safely, each officer carries a special scroll holder, three contain copies, and the fourth the original which carries the seal identifying The Black Cobra. Each book covers the story of one officer and the lady who becomes his companion and faces the dangers with him. The whole tale is absorbing and exciting, and I found myself wondering what danger they would face next. This first book sets the scene in India so that we meet all of the officers, and with the discovery of the document and the lives that were lost in getting it to the hand of the man who organises the attempt to get it to England, the journey of the first officer, Delborough, who is travelling ostensibly to accompany Emily back to England, and the dangers they face. The development of their relationship is, of course, a key part of the story, but one would never expect any less from such a brilliant author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE UNTAMED BRIDE BY (LAURENS, STEPHANIE)[AVON BOOKS]JAN-1900
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews