Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The latest information in an easily digestible form
Having read other reviews of this book, I was unsure whether or not to buy it.

In this book, Professor Parker-Pearson uses an easy going style to describe the sequence of events which led to recent discoveries in the last few years. Focusing not just on the monument but its surrounds and other relevant locations, the book takes care to explain how and why...
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by J. M. Morris

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A con
Superb book BUT I ordered it thinking that it was a new and updated version of his previously published book on Stonehenge only to find that it was only a different title and presentation of the cover to go to the USA market. Was a bit of a con!! Should have had this made clear in the adverts
Published 16 months ago by Paul E.Pickering


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The latest information in an easily digestible form, 26 Jun 2012
By 
J. M. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read other reviews of this book, I was unsure whether or not to buy it.

In this book, Professor Parker-Pearson uses an easy going style to describe the sequence of events which led to recent discoveries in the last few years. Focusing not just on the monument but its surrounds and other relevant locations, the book takes care to explain how and why recent investigations took place. New discoveries are recorded in some detail together with short descriptions of existing knowledge and a useful revision of the established time-scale for the monument's construction: The attention to describing new information leads to a slightly dis-jointed approach, which was probably unavoidable given the breadth of sources; but compensated for by the enthusiasm which runs through the book.

Overall, the book is different from other works on Stonehenge because of the concentration on providing the latest information, from a variety of investigation projects, in an easily digestible form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Mr Richard W Moseley (Stafford, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I should state that I am no archaeologist, but I do hold a keen interest in Stonehenge and its people.
For me, this book is excellently written in a style that is authoritative, extremely informative, yet entertaining to read.
In fact, I polished it off in less than a week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book - I wouldn't recommend the kindle version, 13 Jun 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an interesting and very readable account of recent archaelogical discoveries at or near Stonehenge and the quarries in Wales and elsewhere connected with the stones. As such it doesn't pay much heed to any mystical connotations to the henge and instead concentrates on evidence gleaned from the new digs. The reason I would say get the book rather than the kindle edition is the large number of drawings, maps and plans don't reproduce well on the kindle and they are often integral to one's understanding of the material. I would also say that the author's unfussy style can't really extend the potential readership of this book beyond those interested in solid history and/or archaelogy so the lay reader may find some of this quite dull. The words solid and dependable apply to this book rather than exciting and exhilarating hence only 4 rather than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A con, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb book BUT I ordered it thinking that it was a new and updated version of his previously published book on Stonehenge only to find that it was only a different title and presentation of the cover to go to the USA market. Was a bit of a con!! Should have had this made clear in the adverts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scholarship for the layman, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb review of the latest findings from the Stonehenge region (with the emphasis on "region"), together with an interpretation of these findings, all expressed as a technical report but with every term explained for those unfamiliar with the language. Extremely readable, with interspersed anecdotes and personal experiences and, where appropriate, conflicting views of the evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrible title, but great stuff inside, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stonehenge, a New Understanding: Solving the Mysteries of the Greatest Stone Age Monument (Paperback)
An American edition, with naff cover and US spelling, but don't let that put you off. MPP, doyen of Stonehenge studies, unfolds in a very readable way the state of knowledge at the time of writing, and ruthlessly yet compassionately demolishes the bad science of earlier workers, always acknowledging the imperfections of the process of excavation and subsequent analysis, and how the wrong excavator can inadvertently get the wrong results. Archaeology synthesises many basic disciplines into a holist approach, and this book underlines that firmly. There are many flashes of humour too, such as the pub-barring of one of the hard-digging, hard-drinking 1967 Durrington Walls team. A very satisfying and authoritative addition to my archaeology shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb read - worth every penny, 13 Sep 2012
By 
H. R. O'Neill "trowel" (Somerset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every age gets the Stonehenge it wants/deserves/needs.

There are many varying theories that have and are proposed for "why Stonehenge was built" and we are all entitled to our views. No one wil have the complete answer but this comes very close to an integrated logical interpretation.

Parker-Pearson based upon an a ethnographic analogy suggesteed by Ramilisonina (with the Stonehenge Riverside Project (SRP) team) combine many lines of scientific investigation and interpretation to present a complex yet well argued explanation of when, why and how this iconic monument was built. Most importantly it explains what the monument was used for. Stonehenge is placed within its landscape - a palimpsest of ritual activity since the early Mesolithic. M P-P also follows scientific practice by predicting features prior to excavation - eg. the links to the R.Avon.

Archaeological texts can be very dry but this is NOT. It is as if you are sitting across a pub table listening to M P-P tell the story of his investigations with SRP over the last years. Time flies by as you read and I fell asleep several times in the early hours desparate to read the next chapter. He has managed to organise this book in a very readable manner combining accurate hard science with interpretaion and a great narrative style. If you ever get the chance to hear him lecture take it. M P-P acknowledges and welcomes that this interpretation is open to review but at present it provides the best approximation for understanding this location.

Other reviewers have provided details. (There is only one negative reviewer - but I would respectfully suggest that this is a 'rather biased' view of a competing concept). Not that I would deride this concept - I just cannot afford c. £200 for a 150 page independently published book.

So pour yourselves a pint or three and let M P-P transport to you the world of the late Neolithic and explain upon a logically argued information of what the human experience MAY have been like then and there.

Update

If you are a Stonehenge/Neolithic follower then the Antiquity December 2012 issue requires reading to update the chronology. (ref: "Prof Thom" - this is the methodology of science - no ultimate solutions just researchers current "best model as of now" - and will be further modified as time goes by.) Good diagrams and tables.

M. P-P and the SRP team have shown that Craig Rhosfelin (point 8) is an exact geological match for the bluestone rhyolites. Moreover this location at this site large and small hammerstones have been found along with quartz, flint and rhyolite tools and three large pits one of which held packing stones for a standing stone. So the evidence for a 'bluestone' quarry site north of the famous Prescelli ridge is very strong. (The glacial transport theory needs more evidence of glaciation into west
Wiltshire - although there are some fascinating features such as the Rickford gorge on Mendip).

Future research in Wales is at a possible henge site where the bluestones may have stood originally and in Wiltshire to locate the quarry sites of the sarsens.

This fascinating story continues to develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stonehenge, 24 Aug 2013
By 
William B. Hart "hellkat" (lake charles, LA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am interested in neolithic society, and especially stonehenge. it has been difficult to this time to find
a solid source of information on the subject. this book is that source. deeply satisfying, and inductive
of questions to provoke more research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good job Mr. Pearson!, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great and quick service! And I couldn't be more satisfied with the book itself!

Not only does this book present the necessary facts, background knowledge and theories to understand Stonehenge and the area around it - it does so in a professional yet tangible language that made it hard to put the book down. It's filled with knowledge and inspires the reader to think for him/herself. Plus the anecdotes that sometimes appear in the midst of cold hard facts are hilarious but not at all disruptive. Also a great introduction to the history of Stonehenge itself as well as a great overview of the British neolithic. Mr. Pearson is not only an admirable achademic, but also a wonderful writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A clear account for a general readership, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Euan C. Fyfe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This an excellent account of recent findings about Stonehenge and its environs. It is clearly written and covers all aspects of the developing culture in the area. I wish I had access to some of the reports about excavations to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stonehenge, a New Understanding: Solving the Mysteries of the Greatest Stone Age Monument
£11.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews