Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book - must read for all mothers
I am currently reading this book and felt the need to write a review as it's wonderful. We are often told that "they are no manuals for parents" but I feel this is the closest to a "manual" that a mother will get. It should be essential reading for all new mothers.

I ordered the book to help me deal with the impact of an emotionally absent mother. However as...
Published on 15 Aug 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Need to be committed.
Do not be mislead by the photo on the cover. Firstly this is printed in the USA and you need to be familiar with that sort of terminology or you will be confused immediately. The introduction itself takes some reading and the rest of the contents need a great deal more. If as a result of an emotionally absent mother you find it difficult to concentrate then this will do...
Published 6 months ago by penedawn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really practical eye opener if mum was not too present in your life, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Jane Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotionally Absent Mother: A Guide to Self-Healing and Getting the Love You Missed (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. Balanced. Practical. Easy to understand. Not full of b**ll****! Easy to skip about in without losing the plot so to speak, Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotionally Absent Mother: A Guide to Self-Healing and Getting the Love You Missed (Paperback)
This book has helped me so much. It has set me on a beautiful healing journey. It is a journey not overnight healing but it feels lasting and solid.
This book is not about blame nor does it pretend to make everything right, it is very down to earth and realistic.
The author has a deep understanding of motherhood and of the problems that may occur. It has not only helped me to heal the relationship with my mother but it has helped me to become a better mother too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpfull, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoed it, recomend to anyone who feels there was something wrong about the way he was raised. Showed me how important having nurturing mother is and the consequences of her absence. Very good book, I put her amongst Toxic Parents S. Forward or author like Bradshaw. Looking forward to read other her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough book, easy to read, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is well-written, straightforward and comprehensive. It also had some helpful exercises to work through. Does what it says on the tin really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for personal need, but to better understand another, 17 April 2013
By 
S. M. Howard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotionally Absent Mother: A Guide to Self-Healing and Getting the Love You Missed (Paperback)
Being fortunate to have been brought up by loving parents, I looked for something to better understand what made my partner tick and if there was anything that could provide thoughts and ideas to help him dealing with his childhood. This book is not totally the solution but is very useful and practical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Answers a lot of questions., 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotionally Absent Mother: A Guide to Self-Healing and Getting the Love You Missed (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book and found it's format clear and helpful.

he author managed to make me me think about issues I had long forgotten, which other books had not done. It really helped to explain a lot to me and answer many questions which have been left unanswered in my head for years.

I could see this book being helpful to a number of other people I know and would definately reccommend it to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book very helpful, 16 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was really good. Help explain things in very understandable terms. Very gentle and caring. Has really helped me understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Need to be committed., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotionally Absent Mother: A Guide to Self-Healing and Getting the Love You Missed (Paperback)
Do not be mislead by the photo on the cover. Firstly this is printed in the USA and you need to be familiar with that sort of terminology or you will be confused immediately. The introduction itself takes some reading and the rest of the contents need a great deal more. If as a result of an emotionally absent mother you find it difficult to concentrate then this will do nothing for you. It isn't straightforward and will be of more use to those wanting to understand those who had an 'absent' mother rather than the child of one. The picture says it all, but look elsewhere perhaps for the answer. If you are the adult child of an alcoholic then this will not address the problem unless you already have a great deal of healing under you belt. I was disappointed but then the cost was small and you can't always be sure what you will get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotionally Absent Mother: A Guide to Self-Healing and Getting the Love You Missed (Paperback)
A very useful book for people who have troubled relationship with their mother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shopping experience top rate...but haven't read it yet, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. Simone Plaut (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Emotionally Absent Mother: A Guide to Self-Healing and Getting the Love You Missed (Paperback)
This is an important ant book I have no doubt but hard to say how important until I have finished reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Emotionally Absent Mother: A Guide to Self-Healing and Getting the Love You Missed
9.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews