Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'You will be upgraded!/assimilated!' - The TARDIS and the Enterprise vs. the Cybermen and the Borg!
I was really keen to get this. I wanted all the eight issues to be in one graphic novel so I can read it in one go. And I'm glad I waited patiently for it all to come out.

This has got to be one of the most amazing things IDW publishing have ever done. They have united two famous sci-fi shows in their biggest crossover ever in comic book form. The crew of the...
Published 8 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It could have been so much better
It's a childs cartoon book and is written for that level of intelligence.
I now have had to write more irrelevant words to fulfill Amazons review requirements ... what nonsense!
Published 8 months ago by greatbossman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'You will be upgraded!/assimilated!' - The TARDIS and the Enterprise vs. the Cybermen and the Borg!, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation 2: The Complete Series (Star Trek / Doctor Who) (Hardcover)
I was really keen to get this. I wanted all the eight issues to be in one graphic novel so I can read it in one go. And I'm glad I waited patiently for it all to come out.

This has got to be one of the most amazing things IDW publishing have ever done. They have united two famous sci-fi shows in their biggest crossover ever in comic book form. The crew of the U.S.S. Enterprise-D from `Star Trek: The Next Generation' and the Eleventh Doctor TARDIS team featuring the Doctor, Amy and Rory from `Doctor Who' meet up to fight against two terrifying monsters - the Cybermen and the Borg who have come together to upgrade and assimilate everyone.

I'm a huge fan of `Doctor Who', but before that I was a huge fan of `Star Trek'. I enjoy both shows so much that I wanted there to be a sort of cross-over meeting between the two shows. I don't know what form that would have been, but I was keen that there should be some meeting between two universes since I wondered whether the `Doctor Who' universe interconnected with the `Star Trek' one. I've always liked the idea for example of the Fifth Doctor and Nyssa meeting up the `Deep Space Nine' team where they're fighting the Daleks and the Dominion (Jem'Hadar, Vorta and the Founders) in some sort of alliance like that.

In 2012, just for this once, IDW came up with a comic story spreading over eight issues where the Doctor, Amy and Rory crossover into the Star Trek universe and meet up with the crew of the Enterprise led by Captain Jean-Luc Picard. Reading through it and seeing all the artwork done for the strips was truly spectacular and amazing to look at.

The artwork's amazing! I really am impressed with how the artists have come up with spectacular battle sequences with Borg and Cybermen ships in space against the TARDIS and the Enterprise. I really like the likenesses of the characters including the Doctor, Picard, Amy, Rory, Riker, Data, Worf, etc as they've really captured what Matt Smith looks like and what Patrick Stewart looks like incredibly well. When reading through the comic strips, I can really imagine them talking and moving as they would do on their own shows. Even when reading the dialogue in the bubbles from the characters talking, I could hear what either the Doctor, Picard, Amy or Riker were saying. It's a shame this can't be a TV special or a movie-like spectacular as that would be heaven.

There's also a mini-adventure in this comic-book adventure featuring the original Star Trek team with Captain Kirk, Mr Spock, Dr McCoy and Scotty having an adventure meeting the Fourth Doctor and facing classic Cybermen. The artwork's really 60s/70s style compared to the difference of the main story, and it's a really nice diversion to have a little story with Tom Baker's Doctor and Captain Kirk doing battle with the Cybermen. It helps to add more to the story and was really exciting to read and look through.

The story is about the Doctor, Amy and Rory taking a trip to San Francisco in the 1940s after dealing with an adventure in Ancient Egypt. They soon discover that they're not in San Francisco at all as the TARDIS has landed in the holodeck of the Enterprise-D. They spot the clues when they notice Riker and Data, and the Doctor knows that Data is an android. Soon discovered, they're taken to meet Captain Picard who questions their arrival and why they are on the Enterprise. Very soon, the Enterprise is under attack as it comes face to face with the Borg and the Cybermen in space fleets galore. The Doctor and Picard are horrified as they see the space fleets in alliance with each other.

Now you may think how can they combine two universes together when they're so distinctively different to each other in story terms. The answer is that the TARDIS entered the Star Trek universe when the Cybermen crossed through to make an alliance with the Borg, as it turns out that Star Trek is a parallel universe compared to the Doctor Who one. It's a clever idea and helps to avoid explaining into too much detail with continuity problems. The only people that are aware of what's going on and that two universes have combined with each other is the Doctor and Guinan (the bartender in Ten Forward played by Whoopi Goldberg). There is a telepathic connection between the Doctor and Guinan as they know what's going on and know that the Cybermen and Borg have to be stopped.

I really like the Doctor's relationship with Picard in this story as there's friction between them and Picard doesn't seem to be able to trust the Doctor entirely on who he is and his willingness to help. There's an element of the Doctor/Brigadier relationship between these two I think, especially when the Doctor persuades Picard to hear the Borg out on what they have to say about the Cybermen and Picard refuses to negotiate with them. I really like how the connection is made to Picard's traumatic experiences with the Borg in 'The Best of Both Worlds, Part 1' and 'Part 2' and he's still having a grudge against the Borg for what they did to him. The Doctor's frustrated with Picard not listening to him, and eventually it's Amy who wins Picard round in persuading to listen to the Doctor by sharing her experiences with him and memories of her first meeting when he came to him as a little girl in Matt Smith's first story 'The Eleventh Hour'.

Eventually Picard hears him out and the Doctor gets to show him the TARDIS, to which Picard is amazed. I really like it when the Doctor shows Picard the future of the Federation and showing him images of Cybermen upgrading various species such as the Klingons, Vulcans and Starfleet as well as the Slitheen and Judoon. It prompts Picard to take the Doctor's advice and hear the Borg on helping them fight against the Cybermen when they break up their alliance with each other.

I equally love the artwork they've done on both Cybermen and Borg monsters. The Cybermen look splendid as ever in their retro 2006 design from 'Rise of the Cybermen'/'The Age of Steel' and the Borg look scary as ever with their creepy zombie mechanical look. For me this is the best alliance between two cybernetic races as they both have similar ideas in wanting to turn everyone into one of them with Cybermen upgrading and Borg assimilating. I thought it was really cool when Cybermen had Borg implants on them to keep in their alliance with the Borg. It all gets interesting as we also get to uncover the differences between the Borg and Cybermen races as they break alliances with each other.

In terms of continuity, in 'Doctor Who' I would place this after 'The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe' and in 'Star Trek: The Next Generation' during Season 5.

Also added to this comic book graphic novel is an art gallery containing a series of images, covers and posters (possibly front covers of each of the eight issues) depicting the Doctor, Amy, Rory and Enterprise team fighting against the Borg and Cybermen. I really liked seeing these images, displaying what could be and what it would look like to have these two shows in unity with one another. I especially like the 'First Contact' poster with the Doctor, Amy and Rory's face blazed in the centre and the Cybermen and Borg marching underneath them.

So for me, this is comic book adventure that works and a good story that works uniting two well-known shows that I know and love. I really have enjoyed this. This is probably the most enjoyable Matt Smith story I've had the pleasure of experiencing compared to the TV series and it's great to see the Next Generation team working alongside the Matt Smith Doctor, Amy and Rory. If you're a fan of both `Who' and `Trek', I highly recommend this. The plot may seem at times absurd and rather rushed, but the artwork's worth enjoying with great character likenesses and images of both shows.

Go on! Go for it! Make it so...and GERONIMO!!!

The next story with the Doctor, Amy and Rory is 'Asylum of the Daleks'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable adventure, 24 Dec 2013
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation 2: The Complete Series (Star Trek / Doctor Who) (Hardcover)
Issues #1-8 of IDW's mini-series featuring a Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who crossover comic is collected as Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation 2: The Complete Series (Star Trek / Doctor Who). The premise is fairly simple, the Borg, aided by the Cybermen, launch an unstoppable attack on a Federation planet. Meanwhile, in Ancient Egypt, the Doctor, Amy and Rory are tracking down an escaped alien prisoner. After successfully completing their mission and saving Earth from destruction, they set off for San Francisco in the 1940s for a rest. Arriving there, they step into a bar where they see an android in a pin-stripe suit... Back in the Federation, the Enterprise is visiting a water world where the federation is mining for rare minerals - and somebody needs to explain to TV SF scriptwriters the difference between minerals, elements, and just exactly what the Periodic Table means - where they have a little adventure. They recuperate by visiting the Holodeck, where a new Dixon Hill adventure awaits them; you know, the one set in San Francisco in the 1940s...

Imagine our surprise when the two teams meet up on the Holodeck, just as the distress call from the world under attack by the CyBorg comes in. As they dash off to investigate, the Doctor starts to get flashes of apparent `false memories' that allow him to recognise races and history from the Star Trek universe. Imagine the Enterprise crew's surprise when they find the Cybermen in the ship's log, from the day's of Captain Kirk - when he and his crew encountered the Cybermen and Tom Baker back in the Federation's past - which we get to see in flashback. Obviously, something is merging/crossing timelines. Guinan has also received false memories, just like the Doctor, but vouches for his good intentions. The two crews then team up to investigate the situation, discovering that the Cybermen have mysteriously turned on the Borg...

This was an enjoyable story, the scriptwriters having paid close, if not obsessional, attention to speech patterns and characterisation, and the artists using detailed photo models - if not actual photographs - to get the appearances of the characters perfect, which does actually detract from the feeling of movement, as many panels look like still-life poses rather than flowing naturally. For the Captain Kirk episode, the artists have gone for the look of the animated Star Trek - at least, that is the impression they give, for I have never seen that version - which works very well as a counterpoint to the future story, and works well for Tom Baker's Doctor.

The second half of the story sees the two crews discover that the Cybermen have crossed from another parallel dimension to assimilate the Borg and their technology, which will allow then to become unstoppable. The Doctor has to convince an unwilling Captain Picard to help the Borg against the Cybermen, as they will be the lesser of two evils. He takes him on a time-trip to his future to see the conquest of the Federation by the Borg. The TARDIS crew then have to go back in time to the Borg cube at the battle where the assimilated Picard defeated the Federation fleet in order to retrieve a copy of the Borg's central control database, which has been corrupted by the Cybermen. Both crews than have to board the CyberBorg flagship and reload the Borg database to free them from Cyber control...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic artwork, 30 Nov 2013
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation 2: The Complete Series (Star Trek / Doctor Who) (Hardcover)
As a fan of both Star Trek TNG and Doctor Who, I thoroughly enjoyed this graphic novel. It is a quick read, but it really comes into it's own with the brilliant artwork that does indeed look very realistic. At the end there are a few pages of extra artwork in a special 'Art Gallery' section. For fans of both fandoms this is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssss, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation 2: The Complete Series (Star Trek / Doctor Who) (Hardcover)
I have long been a fan of Dr Who and of Star Trek and I'm glad to see the two together. Although, in my opinion, Capt Kirk should have been helped by Patrick Troughton rather than Tom Baker, he likes jelly babies too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very niche!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation 2: The Complete Series (Star Trek / Doctor Who) (Hardcover)
Bought for husband for Christmas. As long as you like Dr Who & Next Gen, then you might like this. Husband enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It could have been so much better, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation 2: The Complete Series (Star Trek / Doctor Who) (Hardcover)
It's a childs cartoon book and is written for that level of intelligence.
I now have had to write more irrelevant words to fulfill Amazons review requirements ... what nonsense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews