Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla – my part in his downfall
The story from issues #1-5 of IDW’s mini-series ‘Godzilla: The Half-Century War’ is collected as Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)). Each of the five issues is set in a different decade, following the adventures of Japanese Army Lieutenant Ota Murakami in a series of escalating encounters with Godzilla, from Godzilla’s first appearance in...
Published 11 months ago by Squirr-El

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So close to a classic but missing critical storytelling
I think it's a bit important to say where I was coming at this from before I dive on in. I'm a huuuge fan of James Stokoe's work on Orc Stain Volume 1 so picked this up without only knowing any research only knowing it was by the same author. In the meantime I'm barely a passing Godzilla fan; I like the concept but have only seen the '97 Hollywood version and other...
Published 10 months ago by Graham D. Wedderburn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Godzilla – my part in his downfall, 9 May 2014
By 
Squirr-El (The Metropolis, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) (Paperback)
The story from issues #1-5 of IDW’s mini-series ‘Godzilla: The Half-Century War’ is collected as Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)). Each of the five issues is set in a different decade, following the adventures of Japanese Army Lieutenant Ota Murakami in a series of escalating encounters with Godzilla, from Godzilla’s first appearance in 1954 until their final battle in 2002. This was my first exposure to a Godzilla comic book since Marvel Comics had the franchise back in the 1980s (or whenever it was). I have to say that I was much more impressed by this version now than I was back then.

The scripting is reasonably good – there is a limited cast and a narrow focus of action, so there is not much room for a great deal of dialogue, and what there is is of a superior quality to most action-hero film dialogue. The book is produced by a writer-artist, so he is able to use the graphics to tell his story more easily than if he were working with a scripter. The artwork is excellent – proper high-definition widescreen images – which is able to show us both the big giant monster action and the human-level involvement in it. The style of art looks Japanese, or else s heavily influenced by Japanese comics, but is also firmly in the western way of comic art; whether nowadays artists are moving closer together in a sort of synthesis, I don’t know, but this is the best I can describe it – European detail with Japanese dynamism.

The stories themselves are stand alone, though with a developing sub-plot, as the Lieutenant joins the Anti-Megalosaurus Force at the end of Godzilla’s first rampage through Tokyo, rising to become a Captain by the final story, and during the course of the series discovers a mad scientist has developed a monster-beacon that will draw the monsters to it, which the team eventually use to lure Godzilla and his growing herd of fellow creatures into their more and more elaborate traps. There are Mecha-Godzillas and a number of the usual suspects on show, drawn from the film back-catalogue.

I have immediately started hunting for more Godzilla comics after reading this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So close to a classic but missing critical storytelling, 3 July 2014
By 
Graham D. Wedderburn "weddaz" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) (Paperback)
I think it's a bit important to say where I was coming at this from before I dive on in. I'm a huuuge fan of James Stokoe's work on Orc Stain Volume 1 so picked this up without only knowing any research only knowing it was by the same author. In the meantime I'm barely a passing Godzilla fan; I like the concept but have only seen the '97 Hollywood version and other non-Godzilla creature flicks.

Now this book starts with the emergence of Godzilla and the terrible destruction he brings, escalates from there and gives readings on why Godzilla is doing this. The problem in my mind is it seems almost like a series of barely connected events without any true arc - the main problem of the book. The main character barely changes after the first chapter (although does age in the 50 years the book spans) and the volume is just a series of things getting destroyed with a touch of the why which doesn't end satisfactorily.

The comic does have some redeeming qualities for sure; he's friendship lasting the book feels genuine and helps the bittersweet ending. Set-pieces are very well constructed so you can be gazing at the artwork for ages before finding hidden gems and touches of humour.

In all; if you're a Godzilla and comic fan pick this up and add it to the pantheon. If this is more of a passing interest based on the art-style pick up Orc Stain - that one is off the chain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GODZILLA!, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) (Paperback)
James Stokoe has an arresting art style that immediately reaches out from the pages and wakes even the surliest reader from apathy. The combination of detailed lines and nigh-emotional coloring choices makes this book feel personal. Stokoe's style becomes doubly impressive when considering the scope of destruction he brings to cartoony life in this book. There is obviously a lot of love and time spent making the series so kinetic and engaging.

You have GOT to get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than B-Movie monsters, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) (Paperback)
James Stokoe has produced something really substantial here. A story of one man's fight against Godzilla and other monsters over half a century delivers not only gorgeous art and an exciting story it also looks at the inevitable process of aging and replacement by a younger generation.

It's up there with Kirby's Forever People #4 and Morrison & Case's Doom Patrol #63 in demonstrating what is possible in the comic form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The films could really learn something from this., 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) (Paperback)
When it comes to character development in Godzilla, it is never really done right, look at Matthew Broderick for example, that was quite naff, but the main character in this comic is very well written. Gareth Edwards mentioned about doing the new film right, but it could certainly get some great pointers from this.

4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always bet on Stokoe, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) (Paperback)
After reading Orc Stain I was eager to get my hands on more work from Stokoe and this book does not disappoint. A great story chronicling one man's lifelong obsession with the king of monsters that I flew through quickly. Once again Stokoe provides amazingly detailed artwork to go alongside his writing chops. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two stars for the kindle version, the art and writing are great., 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm making the transition to digital comics and stuff like this makes me second guess that decision. The kindle edition of this book is the same standard as a low res torrent and the white gutters are visible top and bottom.

This is a case of must try harder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy buy, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) (Paperback)
The artwork by James Stokoe is beautiful, the pacing is tight, human characters are solid.

Must buy even if your the most causal of Godzilla fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Stokoe Just Made A Godzilla Masterpiece., 15 July 2014
By 
Aaron (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) (Paperback)
This Paperback is one of the best comics I ever read,the art is amazing it just pops out of the page and the story is great you just want to keep reading the next issue to find out what happens.
I highly recommend it if your interested in comics or a big Godzilla fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) (Paperback)
My son love it. Thanks.
delivery on time. Will use you again :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW))
Godzilla: Half Century War (Godzilla (IDW)) by James Stokoe (Paperback - 4 Jun. 2013)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews