Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and uplifting
In 1901, Booker T. Washington (1856-1915) published this autobiography. Born into slavery, after emancipation, Mr. Washington developed a philosophy that African-Americans needed to sweep away the ignorance that their subservient position had left them with, and earn the respect of the whites through hard work and excellence. In 1881 he founded the Tuskegee Institute to...
Published on 6 April 2005 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts OK then gets boring
This is the story of Booker Washington and starts out very interesting when he talks about his life as a slave. It gives a great insight into how life for the slaves changes once they are freed. It shows his struggle to get himself an education and he does come across as an exceptional person who helped in educating the freed slaves and who helped inter racial...
Published on 12 Jun. 2013 by cherryred


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and uplifting, 6 April 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In 1901, Booker T. Washington (1856-1915) published this autobiography. Born into slavery, after emancipation, Mr. Washington developed a philosophy that African-Americans needed to sweep away the ignorance that their subservient position had left them with, and earn the respect of the whites through hard work and excellence. In 1881 he founded the Tuskegee Institute to teach African-Americans how to study, how to work hard and intelligently (producing better results than the white businesses of the day), and how to have respect for themselves and others. This is Mr. Washington's story of his youth and his success at Tukegee.
This is a fascinating and uplifting book. Though cognizant of the racism that often surrounded him, Mr. Washington never lost his faith in the basic goodness of the people of all colors that he met. The only problem I had with this excellent book was the knowledge I could not shake, that Mr. Washington's faith was not rewarded, and the white community of the day would not give the African-American community respect and fair treatment.
That said, though, this is a great and wonderful book, which should rightly be considered an American classic. If you want to read a book that is a window on the America of the late nineteenth century, or if you want an uplifting book about a man of faith and love, then I highly recommend that you get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic book, 13 Feb. 2000
By 
SueMar (Stockton-on-Tees, UK) - See all my reviews
A most brilliant book, an honest and inspiring account, Washington worked tirelessly for the cause of the coloured race and at the same time endeavoured to bring blacks and whites together to live and work in harmony. I only started to become interested in reading accounts of ex-slaves after reading Maya Angelou`s autobiographical books, it just seems to have led from there, but I am learning more than ever! I look forward to reading other people`s reviews in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration of a former slave who turned or left a negative situation to be educated and productive, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is amazing - While there are books talking from a slaves point of view what life was like. Booker's experience is more about once he was made free, an in depth biography of the extent he went to .., to learn to read and educate himself. Then he sets about assisting and helping many many other former slaves get a technical and academic education which helped them be productive people to society and to themselves for the rest of their lives. This man devoted his life in the persute of lifting others from lowly station to be educated and productive. Many of and most of those he educated only lacked education simply because of the color of their skin and race prejudice that still existed many many years despite slavery being abolished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 28 July 2014
This book is so so so brilliant - Only God knows why I hadn't read it earlier. Have even ordered copies for friends! An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Story., 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book inspirational.

Firstly, it gives a look at what it was like to be a child around the time of the Civil War, when slavery was about to be abolishes. It gives an incite I had never thought about which is how slaves really felt about their masters – it was quite surprising.

I found the book well-written and eloquent.

I found Washington to be a very likable, noble, and innovative character. I really enjoyed reading about all he had done and achieved around this time.

I love books which take you on a journey while teaching you something, so books based on reality of autobiographies or biographies.

This book didn’t disappoint in that regard; it taught me a lot about how things were back then whilst also inspiring me with Washington’s antics of making the world a better place.

I’ve come to admire this man greatly, and will read some of his other works now!

The book is short and I read it in about two days. It was a page Turner and something you can read through easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marie, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. Not only did the author describe the period before slavery was abolished, but he went on to describe how he clawed his way out of his situation and through sheer determination made a much better life for himself.
I particularly liked the fact that he described the help he received from others including the white population. He does not come across as feeling sorry for himself, although he may have been forgiven for doing so. He made up his mind to better himself and in doing so, he helped others to do the same. He made it clear to them that it would not be easy and if they were prepared to work hard and obey the rules, they could indeed better themselves as he had done. He went on to become a well respected member of society. To say more may spoil the book for those who have not read it but I think it truly deserves the five stars I have given it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Booker T Washington - what a life, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who knew very little about this man, after reading this book I can honestly say that it is a must read. To start as slave and have the drive to work his way up and pursue education to a level which would present him with the opportunity of running a school to help his people... With the aim of teaching them to earn respect through acquiring a craft, a good work ethic and an education. Although his life's work was to progress the black race and help them to be seen on equal terms as a white race in terms of ability, intelligence and the contribution they can make for the country as a whole if given the chance, he never looked to say a bad word against the people who were once his master's and in turn rather promoted unity between the races. There are lots of valuable lessons in this book no matter who you are.. I thoroughly enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This man was an inspiration to the world and couldn't ..., 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This man was an inspiration to the world and couldn't believe I hadn't read about him before. Someone who fought adversity in it's extremes and still gave his life's work in the nurturing not only the down trodden, but to the rich and powerful. He taught humility and common decency to all men!
Booker. T Washington should have a sainthood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts OK then gets boring, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the story of Booker Washington and starts out very interesting when he talks about his life as a slave. It gives a great insight into how life for the slaves changes once they are freed. It shows his struggle to get himself an education and he does come across as an exceptional person who helped in educating the freed slaves and who helped inter racial relationships in the USA. However once he starts up the Tuskagee Institute it switches to being a history of this establishment. His 3 wives and his children are only mentioned in passing but every detail about setting up the university is recorded. I did not buy the book to read about the setting up of a univeristy however noble and good this may have been.I have to say I had no idea who he was when I bought the book as I had never heard of him before. At least now I am a bit more educated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars up from Slavery, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the autobiography of Booker T Washington I feel the urgent need to send the book with its incredible concept being educated through work and self worth to all the leaders of our government. The book is inspirational for the authors insight into how to raise a generation of worthy citizens teaching by example. A truly wonderful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up from Slavery
Up from Slavery by Booker T. Washington (Paperback - 15 Oct. 2011)
£5.05
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews