Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INCORRECT INFORMATION
The information given under book description refers to a different book.Title: Message NOT The Message . Author Anonymous. Published before 1926 click on" paperback" version and it will take you there! Amazon says the review is correct...its not!
Published 4 months ago by mark twain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Print is far too small
I find it hard to see the print, it is so small one virtually needs a magnifying glass to be able to read it..
Published 4 months ago by Sean Clemo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INCORRECT INFORMATION, 5 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Message (Leather Bound)
The information given under book description refers to a different book.Title: Message NOT The Message . Author Anonymous. Published before 1926 click on" paperback" version and it will take you there! Amazon says the review is correct...its not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, but with some caveats, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message (Leather Bound)
The Message, a very controversial bible translation - yes it is a translation. Peterson takes some liberties, calling The Lord - God, but he does capitalize etc when it refers to The LORD. Peterson has worked hard to make a bible that speaks to the reader, and sometimes he takes theological liberties, translating passages and adding in wherever he feels he must to explain the passage for the reader. You'll notice it in the epistles more than anywhere else. Now I'm not saying this is a bad thing..I'm just mentioning that this happens. The Message IS a translation, but in translating he then paraphrases to make things easier. I'm going to be honest, I use this a lot! Its so easy to read. But I do find my eyes narrowing at times..he takes liberties (as I said), this is not the pure, unadulterated word of God, this is more a 'help' than a go-to. It's RELEVANT, it's purpose-driven. Again, not bad things, and it is definitely cool. Sometimes it seems like its written by a 50 year old guy in a mid life crisis. But its definitely worth reading, and it shouldn't be dismissed. It shouldn't be used to deliver the gospel, it should definitely NOT be used in church for preaching and teaching, except maybe as a reference. This is 100% a reading bible for you to use for yourself. Its amazing, and it will open your eyes to scriptures in a completely new way. I have felt God speak to me through the word, and a lot of his interpretations are correct and sometimes makes you have that 'God moment' feeling.

One thing I will criticize (and it's not really worth diminishing it by a star) is 1 Corinthians 13:1 "If I speak in tongues of men or of angels.." The Message says "If I speak with human eloquence or angelic ecstacy.." - now that is really quite interpretative, its basically pushing 'tongues' as being pentecostal babbling. I dislike that, now the rest of the famous 'love' passage is wonderful, and when read aloud sounds great. Its just that tongues means languages, not what is seen in a pentecostal church - and most certainly isn't ecstacy,

1Cor13:1 basically means "If I speak as a man or as a messenger of the gospel but don't love, I'm just making a noise that has no meaning".

But other than that, I recommend The Message to anyone, but more to someone who already has a good handle on what they believe, or someone who will check it against a good solid version like the KJV or ESV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars modern bible translation, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message (Leather Bound)
A very easy to read translation, bringing the bible to life. The psalms in particular are beautifully worded. Wish I had bought it years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message (Leather Bound)
Brilliant for reading large chunks and giving a different view from more scholarly translations. A great addition to a Christian's library and perhaps a good gift for an enquiring non Christian friend?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing version. smart cover, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message (Leather Bound)
small print. amazing version. smart cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Print is far too small, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message (Leather Bound)
I find it hard to see the print, it is so small one virtually needs a magnifying glass to be able to read it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern bible, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message (Leather Bound)
Had read some of this bible in a group situation, and wanted a copy for myself - so knew what I was buying. Modern translation makes you think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bible, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Message (Leather Bound)
Sent it back print too small but collectors not pick it up as Friday 19th dec so guess it will be after christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Message
The Message by Eugene H. Peterson (Leather Bound - 17 Feb 2012)
Used & New from: 62.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews