Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading
An excellent biography of the new pope and his journey to the papacy. A truly remarkable story a must read for those who are interested in this subject.
Published 10 months ago by Stuart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Before its time
This is a good book about a good man. Yet, like all men who rise to high office, Cardinal Bergoglio comes with political baggage. `Pope Francis' ignores these snags as if they didn't exist, leaving one with the lingering questions,

Why were so many left wing Argentinian socialists enraged when he was elected?

Why do so many surviving left-wing...
Published 7 months ago by Roman Chamberlain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reading, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pope Francis (Paperback)
An excellent biography of the new pope and his journey to the papacy. A truly remarkable story a must read for those who are interested in this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know about the new Pope, 11 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pope Francis (Paperback)
This book is a good introduction not only to the new Pope but also to the events immediately preceding his election, i.e. the resignation of Pope Benedict and the conclave. It dispels some misconceptions and myths about Pope Benedict, and goes on to set the new papacy in the context of Pope Francis's previous pastoral experience.
I recommend it for anyone looking for an in-depth but not too technical analysis of the transition from Pope Benedict to Pope Francis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Before its time, 7 Dec 2013
This review is from: Pope Francis (Paperback)
This is a good book about a good man. Yet, like all men who rise to high office, Cardinal Bergoglio comes with political baggage. `Pope Francis' ignores these snags as if they didn't exist, leaving one with the lingering questions,

Why were so many left wing Argentinian socialists enraged when he was elected?

Why do so many surviving left-wing dissenters of the brutal military reign of terror in Argentina claim that Bergoglio sided with the juntas while tens of thousands of their friends were tortured and murder by death squads?

And most of all,

I wonder why there is nothing wrong with this man?

`Pope Francis' capitalizes on his compassion for the poor; so much so, it makes him out to be some kind of a Marxist.

This misconception - wrongly sensationalized by the press - has caused many to confuse him with the monumental Marxist John Paul I. The most credible theory concerning the murder of the youngest pope to die in four hundred years involves his threat to spread Marxism in Latin America: The Vatican Murders:: The Life and Death of John Paul I

Whereas both men are for the poor; like Christ before him, Francis--a compassionate capitalist--would ask (not force) the rich to help the poor. Like Marx before him, John Paul--a militant socialist--would tax (force) the rich to help the poor. Two very different men with two very different agendas to rid the world of poverty.

Too,`Pope Francis' was written before its time.

On March 13, 2013, the record of Cardinal Jorge Bergoglio came to an end and the record of Pope Francis began. The true cloth of this Pope is yet to be determined. So far we have seen political gestures and words. Perhaps, in time, we will see some results.

Let's give him a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book but stitched up by ?seller ?Amazon, 10 May 2013
By 
A. Hughes (Engalnd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pope Francis (Paperback)
I ordered this book for a friend as a birthday present. It duly arrived in good condition and she has told me it has been a most interesting book. I paid 19.43 plus 2.80 packaging and handling. However, when the book arrived I noticed on the outside of the packaging it said $9.72 as the value of the contents! I'm no expert on the current exchange rate but I have clearly been ripped off here! And to cap it all the same book is now available on Amazon for 11.69 and super saver delivery! The word "stitch-up" comes to mind!!! Not a Happy Bunny and I doubt Pope Francis would be either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pope Francis
Pope Francis by Matthew E. Bunson (Paperback - 1 April 2013)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews