Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all Catholics
Although relating to the situation of the Catholic Church in the US I am sure there is a similar situation in the UK. So much of what is reported in the surveys rings true to me. I especially like the identification of a fundamental problem for Catholic parishes, which is that many (most) Cartholics have not really internalised their faith and as a result do not have a...
Published 17 months ago by Deacon Brendan Vaughan-Spruce

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm
Suggested Reading by our Priest. Not the book for me though far too hippy dippy. Still not sure what in practical everyday life what being an intentional disciple means.
Published 4 months ago by Mrs Julia M Gerrard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all Catholics, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus (Paperback)
Although relating to the situation of the Catholic Church in the US I am sure there is a similar situation in the UK. So much of what is reported in the surveys rings true to me. I especially like the identification of a fundamental problem for Catholic parishes, which is that many (most) Cartholics have not really internalised their faith and as a result do not have a personal relationship with God in any meaningful sense. As a result parishes are shrinking and Catholics are leaving the Church.

This book not only identifies the problem but gives good advice for all who are 'actively' involved in parish life and shows ways to help 'ordinary' Catholics to really want to be followers of Jesus Christ, to be 'intentional disciples'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book, I've yet to apply anything lots of ..., 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus (Paperback)
Inspiring book, I've yet to apply anything lots of data I know nearby parishes that are now preparing to use Sherry Weddells called and gifted programme, I will perhaps come back and add to the review when I've put everything into practise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book!, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus (Paperback)
I could not put this book down! Wherever you may be on the path of faith, after reading this book you will want to progress into a deeper relationship with the Most Holy Trinity. The picture of the Church presented by the author is totally honest in the many failures of community and individual to be truly evangelised but is constantly tempered with hope and directions towards the turnaround necessary if we are to fulfil Christ's commands to go out and preach the Good News. It gives confidence that the most 'ordinary' Catholic can really be 'extraordinary' and accomplish the vocation of us all to share the Faith with others in whatever way our personal strengths lie. I wonder if the Holy Father has read this book! it mirrors so much of what he has been telling us we must do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really informative, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus (Paperback)
Decline in the Catholic church in the US is backed up here by clear statistics. It is also broken down into generations, which helps us to understand why is it happening.
This is dealt with by practical suggestions for helping parishes to reverse the trends.
An informative and positive book with ideas that could make a huge difference to the Church locally, nationally and internationally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging and inspiring, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus (Paperback)
Thoroughly recommend this excellent book to any Catholic looking for a sense of renewal in their parish - challenging and inspiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly significant - must read for the New Evangelisation!, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus (Paperback)
Really liked Sherry's clear and authoritative presentation. At last someone who names the elephant in the room, that without a personal relationship with Jesus there is no meaningful discipleship or meaningful and effective Evangelisation. If you love your parish you must read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus (Paperback)
Suggested Reading by our Priest. Not the book for me though far too hippy dippy. Still not sure what in practical everyday life what being an intentional disciple means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus
Forming Intentional Disciples: The Path to Knowing and Following Jesus by Sherry A. Weddell (Paperback - 17 Aug 2012)
9.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews