Customer Reviews


639 Reviews
5 star:
 (435)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


150 of 157 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so common sense
In order to enjoy this book, you'd best put your "capitalist pig" head on. The first sixty pages assume that the best thing you can do from the age of nine is apply yourself to making money. Play baseball? Baseball is for wimps. It's wasting precious time that you could be using applying your brain to thinking up money making schemes. It all started to irritate me,...
Published on 2 Jan. 2002 by Jim 8888

versus
52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK up to a point
The best thing about this book is that the central message is very clear. Rich people put their money into ASSETS (items which grow in value/ generate income - e.g. stocks, shares, real-estate), whereas worse-off people tend to spend money on LIABILITIES (things that either depreciate or cost money to maintain - e.g. cars, clothes.... and your own house). So far, so...
Published on 22 Jan. 2007 by M. Hayes


‹ Previous | 1 2 364 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars., 28 July 2003
By A Customer
In this short book Robert Kiyosaki distinguishes between the typical cash flows of the 'rich' and those of the poor and middle classes. He goes into some detail as to how they achieve this and how you can achieve it yourself; simply by ensuring that you live well within your means and consistently build on your assets.
For such an easy read it touches on some deep concepts that one doesn't generally think about too deeply. Some great one liners inside to remember, along the lines of "Time is your most precious asset" with regard to compound interest, and "listening is more important than talking, which the majority of people don't understand. If God intended you to talk all the time then he wouldn't have given you 1 mouth and 2 ears" with regard to ones need to learn from those who are greater than oneself.
Unfortunately he does come across rather badly due to his high self-confidence from making his millions... he seems to have had a poor relationship with his real father (referred to as 'poor dad')- painting him in a negative shade throughout, and he occasionally comes across as fairly arrogant when talking about the middle classes and 'poor'... he somehow manages to bestow an image of utter stupidity upon anyone who doesn't own acres of land and real estate, and anyone who works for a living (if everyone was 'rich' and let out real estate instead of working, then who would rent the real estate or produce any goods to consume?).
This attitude of his all helps to hammer in the flowing theme of why one should not be financially dependant though, which is probably why it is a best-seller.
The other downer, in my opinion, is the way he talks about investment gains. The most consistently prolific investment returns, of 13% per annum before inflation consistently since 1919 has been in the stock market... Kiyosaki projects the image that making 100% investment wins is extremely easy... just buy a tech stock and sell it in a few months down the line for a big mark up, or buy property in an area with a depressed housing market and sell for twice the price in a few years, or even buy government bonds with 16% yields. He talks about the rich losing in order to win, but not once does he mention a losing venture of his, which would have made a nice balance. He encourages readers to have an unbalanced portfolio and not to worry about risk if you want to make any real money. This prolifically successful image he projects of himself will not be a reality for most and I would urge readers to take heed... just look at what happened to tech stocks soon after the book was written.
In conclusion I would say that this is an excellent book for anyone who is struggling with the concepts of cash flow... a wonderful read for the youngsters of today... Listed above are some flaws, but the positives hugely outweigh the negatives and I would recommend this book to anyone with a wallet or a dream of early retirement. A good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An awful tele-commercial for his expensive seminars, 7 May 1999
By A Customer
Don't buy this book. It says nothing, except you need the authors help. He wants you to spend money on education (that he sells). He made his money in Arizona real estate in the mid 80's (that boom is over). Now he's on to the 90's boom, of selling ideas (of prosperity). He also has a $200 board game for sale. The order form is at the back of the book. He says he's 'retired'. So, writing books and board games, having training seminars is 'retired'?. Give me a break!! He's not retired. He acts like he's doing us a favor, selling us his ideas. Be afraid, be very afraid.
If you want to understand the ways of the wealthy, read 'The Millionaire Next Door'. That's a 10 year study of American businesses and workers. 'Rich Dad, Poor Dad' is the same stuff as Wade Cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book - it's a con., 10 Dec. 2007
By 
Have any of the reviewers who have given this more than one star actually followed the author's advice and become a millionaire as he claims to have done? I'm sure we'd all like to hear from you.

I'm jolly pleased I only paid 30p for this book. It's certainly not worth any more, unless you enjoy reading poorly written repetitive fantasy fiction.

If the claims this author makes are true, he has made his money taking advantage of the misfortunes of others and then talks about giving money to local church!! Hanging around attorney's offices waiting for repossessed houses to become available at hugely knocked down prices and then selling them on immediately at near market values for an enormous profit sounds like pretty parasitical behaviour.

This guy claims to value education, but despises educated professionals all the way through his book, while at the same time making use of their services. What would he do if he had a heart attack and needed a surgeon and team of medical personel all operating in an environment built by highly skilled people, but they had all given up their jobs to follow his way of life?

He makes a great deal of the idea that the rich pay less taxes than the poor. The idea too that you cannot live a fulfilled and financially stable life without his approach to life, is patent rubbish.

If you want to know what's in the book, read all the reviews and save yourself the time of reading the book.

Only one star because I couldn't find a way of giving none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting BUT be cautious�, 10 Dec. 2003
By 
Mr. N. Platten "Nick" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I found this book and read some of the reviews I thought WOW!!! But after reading it and doing some research on the internet I found that this writer (Kiyosaki) has been a bit of a shady character...do your own research via google or any other good search site.
The book has some fundamental truths about finance and the idea of becoming financially literate should be on every ones list. But there is no easy or quick way to become rich. When reading the book take a big pinch of salt as to the historical/factual truths he presents. It has some common sense ideas mixed in with conflicting fanciful tails of money making methods. In fact, the book is a bit mixed up around!
The book contains an Interesting bunch of ideas and thoughts, it may get your brain thinking about money, investment and assets but beyond that you gain nothing solid.
Anyway, read it if you wish but do your research and remember nothing is easy about making money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 83 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you want to know the mechanics, look elsewhere, 29 Dec. 2003
By 
Caroline Anne Perks (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A very readable book. However, for those of you looking for advice on the mechanics of putting together an alternative income source, look elsewhere. This book is geared to encouraging you to do so, and telling you why you should, rather than actually how to do it. More of a motivational tool. Some of the financial aspects don't travel across the Atlantic too well either.
The book's main points are
You won't get rich in the rat race (but you knew that already)
You won't get rich by building debt
You should acquire assets (income generators) rather than liabilities (things you have to pay for like houses with mortgages, cars and so on) and do this before you buy luxuries (i.e. invest then spend, not spend and have nothing left to invest)
You should keep your eyes open for investment opportunities (obviously)
Higher risk can give higher return - you won't get rich based on a savings account
All pretty obvious stuff, if you really think about it.
All in all, somewhat disappointing, as it lacked meat on the bones IMHO. I wouldn't mind betting that the Rich Dad Poor Dad brand is doing considerably better for him than dealing in condos in Phoenix.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The simplest ideas are often best, 9 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
The first in the Rich Dad series, this book opened not only my eyes, but my mind as well. If you're looking for a way out of debt and the rat race, this one's for you.
Mr. Kiyosaki writes in a deceptively simple style. He teaches through repetition and, while this may seem tedious at times, by the end of book the reader has no problem remembering the concepts it puts forward.
This book will explain the difference between a liability and an asset once and for all and will teach you how to 'mind your own business'.
If you're sick of working flat-out to pay off the bank and credit card companies, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very American and capitalistic view of living, 30 Nov. 2010
This is an interesting read although it is very much out of date today (2010).
It basically tries to show how clever and unscrupulous people can get rich while 'ordinary' people never realize the opportunities they have. However, it is a little simplistic and the concepts explained in the book can only be viable as long as there are 'sharks' and 'dead-heads' willing to play the 'game'. The book shows a very American and capitalistic view of making one's way in life (entirely based on the personal experience of the author) and is not necessarily a useful or appropriate example for others (especially young people) to follow today. Presumably, the author would not write the same kind of stuff today, since much of what he preaches is the very downfall of many Americans today, i.e 'trying to make a fast buck'. Nonetheless, the book is still a worthwhile read (but hardly worth buying) and some of the points (about 10%) which the author makes are worth retaining for the future. The book is not particularly well written and the author often repeats himself. The contribution of the so-called 'co-author' seems to be totally superfluous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can't be as positive as everyone else, 24 July 2003
This was the first finance book I read just under a year ago. I was a few months into my first job and was wondering what to do with my money. At the time I liked it however I have since read a lot more books about different fincancial areas etc. I would say this.
-/+ Many of the books this recommends in the course of the text are better than this. Often having read them I felt the author wasn't really a finacial genius he just knew how to outline the main points of some other good books
+ He is right in that we aren't taught about finances properly in school and I found his assets and liabilities info quite good. If I ever have kids I will make sure they are more financially literate than I was, but, money really isn't everything despite what he says.
- Often the book is used as a sales pitch for his other products and its difficult to see past this as he is very good at appealing to the reader by telling you, you are a superstar the whole time followed by 'so try my other product'. Its a good pep talk at times
- When you read his 2nd book you find out he was bankrupt. It strikes me as odd given that Rich Dad educated him from such a young age he should have been bankrupt I know we all make mistakes but...
- If you look at the series which has now grown to loads of books and games the book ratings on Amazon are progressively deteriorating. I know that doesn't mean much for this book in particular but I think it says something.
- The author seems to contradict himself at times. I've read many articles about him on the net. He claims the investment strategy he favours is taking startups to market and then getting out. Yet in other things I've read he says he doesn't know enough about the stock market to give advice. In one article he says to put your money in mutual funds in another he's said to avoid mutual funds. Look on the net for stuff about him.
- His property claims are a bit too american orientated and given the state of the British property market price wise and structurally (not pun intended ; ) ) its unlikely your average person can expect to perform such wheeling and dealing and pick up bargains like he does.
- I think he makes you think you can make mega bucks year on year and appeals to our more unsavoury sides such as greed and over self confidence. Even Warren Buffet the worlds greatest investor only aims for 15% a year growth.
I'm sorry for being negative so why 3 stars. Well I guess it got me thinking about my finances, which, has lead me on a better financial path, although I think its my other readings that were more beneficial. I bought the 2nd book but then things seemed too good to be true and I found him repeating himself the whole time. There is some good advice in there and its a good read but there's also a lot of psychology in order to make the whole thing appealing and I'd be careful not to get carried away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to get out of the RAT RACE? This book's for you, 19 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
Want to get out of the Rat Race and into the Fast Track? Then this book is a must for you, if you want to accomplish your goal. Robert Kiyosaki shows how we must change our thinking if we ever intend to be financially free. He teaches that we must first understand what are the real assets and liabilities in our lives. More importantly, he also teaches what you must do to get onto the Fast Track (you will learn that cash is not really king but actually CASHFLOW IS KING). Once I read this book and had an opportunity to meet Mr. Kiyosaki, I realized that I needed to adjust my paradigm. He is not just someone who wrote a book about a subject he knew something about, he is a teacher giving over his knowledge and experience so you can actually apply them in your own life.
Also, after reading this book I purchased Mr. Kiyosaki's game CASHFLOW, this game takes what you learned in the book and teaches you how to put it into practice, so you can actually go out into the real world and become financially free. Play the game often and watch how your thought process will completely change for the better.
Do yourself a favor, no do your children a favor, buy this book, buy this game use them over and over again and get out of the Rat Race and into Financial Freedom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 76 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total fluff - Also total fiction, 1 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. Simon P. Roth (Bournemouth Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book has very little real substance. Often what he says is very misleading or utterly contradictory to his own ideas. From an investors perspective, it has some very bad advice regarding high risk investment.

The most insulting thing is, is that the books many anecdotes are passed off as the truth. In fact Rich Dad and his lessons are entirely fictional. A quick web search will prove this. Kiyosaki repeatedly lied about this to the media and only recently conceded that rich dad is as real as Harry Potter is.

If you want to read a rant against educated people you may enjoy this book. Or enjoy the author bragging about his fictional business deals. Other than that he makes about 6 valid points in the whole book. Points that could be picked up off the net in a matter of minutes.

Its important to note the author didn't get rich investing, he got rich selling books and seminars. the only thing I learnt from him is how to mislead people to trick them out of their money.

Also ... for the record, buying a house (with a mortgage) will *not* tie you into the rat race. Being well educated *will* make you more money and allow you to retire early. Diversifying your investments *IS* a good idea... buying this book is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 364 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rich Dad Poor Dad
Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert T Kiyosaki (Paperback - 23 Jun. 2011)
£8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews