Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The next stage?
At first I wasn't sure if this was a knock off or a scam but as I read I laughed, got excited and thought "wow" from start to finish then I knew it's a proper Ken Akamatsu book.
I noticed some characters from previous titles (I won't say which) and I can't wait to see the next UQ Holder.
Published 11 months ago by Csonic

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ITS OKAY
ITS OKAY
Published 2 months ago by MERC


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The next stage?, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: UQ Holder 1 (Kindle Edition)
At first I wasn't sure if this was a knock off or a scam but as I read I laughed, got excited and thought "wow" from start to finish then I knew it's a proper Ken Akamatsu book.
I noticed some characters from previous titles (I won't say which) and I can't wait to see the next UQ Holder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holders of Eternity, 6 Aug. 2014
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: UQ Holder 1 (Paperback)
Tôta Konoe has been living in an isolated country village for the last two years after a car accident killed his parents and gave him amnesia. Raised by the mysterious and strict teacher Yukihime, Tôta dreams of nothing more than to travel to the capital and clime the space elevator to seek his fortune with his friend. When a bounty hunter comes to town however, Tôta's life is turned upside down and he is forced to make a choice that will change his life forever.

'UQ Holder!' is the latest (and possibly last) series by Ken Akamatsu and is set in the same world as his previous series 'Negima!', around seventy to eighty years later. Although you don't need to have read 'Negima!' to understand this series, it probably does help somewhat and there are a number of references to the previous series here and there. The main theme of this series is immortality and it is quite interesting how it explores the natures of its different forms.

This fist volume is mostly just setting things up for the series, introducing three of the main characters (Tôta, Yukihime and Kurômaru) and giving some information on the current state of the world. Of the main characters Tôta is probably the weakest being the closest Akamatsu has ever got to a standard shônen main character (something that has annoyed some fans) but I still think he has some good points, even if he is an idiot most of the time. My favourite character from this volume though is probably Kurômaru who has a humorously serious personality and interesting character design.

The artwork for the series is of typical Akamatsu style, although there is less in the way of fanservice than in some of his previous series. As with many of Akamatsu's previous works, he does reuse some character designs (Kurômaru is very similar to Setsuna Sakurazaki) but anyone who has read his work should be used to that by now. The fighting is nicely drawn, and is probably a little bloodier than in the majority of 'Negima!', with the battle at the end of the first chapter being particularly good.

The translation of the chapter is relatively good (although I do have a few minor issues with some things) with the Japanese honorifics intact. There are some translation notes but rather than put them in the back of the book as some series do, they are done as bullet points on the relevant page.

Many 'Negima!' fans were disappointed about how that series ended and this has led some to look unfavourably on this series as well and while I still greatly enjoy this series, even I would say it isn't quite as good as its predecessor. Despite this though, I do think this first volume shows a lot of promise and I feel it has a better pacing when read as collected volume than it does when read weekly. Overall I feel this first volume is worth a low five stars but five nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unique Vampire Manga, 26 April 2014
By 
This review is from: UQ Holder 1 (Paperback)
This interested me because it was shounen featuring vampires; most of the vampire manga I've come across has been shoujo focusing way too much on romance. The plot sounded intriguing and I found this first volume lived up to my interest and I ended up reading something a bit different from anything I'd read before. There is a bit of fighting (battles) but they are brief and the emphasis is more on character and plot. Yeah! I'm totally fond of the main character, highschooler Tota Konoe; he has a full range of emotions and in this volume is naive and unworldly, though I think that will change rather quickly. The story is dystopian set in a future Tokyo and (rest of the world) where population has decreased dramatically and we've entered into space living/travel but magic has recently been discovered as well. So far for age appropriateness there is male adolescent talk of females, a busty female vampire and nudity that is complete but has towels etc. conveniently placed. I've seen more risque bits in 13+ rated so will hold my judgement until I've read another volume or two as to whether I agree or not. I'm quite excited about this series, the mix of sci-fi, paranormal and magic promises to be exciting and the maturity of the plot is appealing. The art I found to be quite typical, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, but still awesome, 4 Jan. 2015
This review is from: UQ Holder 1 (Paperback)
A great tie in with the previous work Negima. I would recommend you to read Negima first, since the world in UQ Holder is the result of the ending of Negima.

It keeps the same charms as previous title as well, nudity, friendship, and a lot of battles. A must read if you liked Evangeline (sp?) from Negima, or if you just like the idea of immortality. Another obvious reason to read this, is to see what the future of Negima's world contains.

I've liked all works by Ken except his oldest kind like A.I. Love You, and it is good to know he keeps delivering the same greatness but in a different way for each new title he makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: UQ Holder 1 (Kindle Edition)
negima and love hina are two of Ken akamatsu series but UQ holder is just as great none stop comedy an action well worth a read you will thoroughly enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: UQ Holder 1 (Paperback)
it is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ITS OKAY, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: UQ Holder 1 (Paperback)
ITS OKAY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

UQ Holder 1
UQ Holder 1 by Ken Akamatsu (Paperback - 20 Mar. 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews