Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairy Tail the beginning!
Having watched a few episode of the anime series decided to pick this up and boy did I love it!

It expands on the anime by including explanations for bits they left out of the episode and expands on some bits that explained what was going on alot better!

If you fancy having access to effectively a couple of episode of the anime series in graphic book...
Published on 20 Aug 2011 by Hopeless

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is the might of a Fairy Tail wizard
Volatile wizards, small quaint towns, bobbleheaded flying cats and as much mayhem as the sorcerers can cram into a day's work.

That's pretty much the description of the setting and characters of "Fairy Tail," which opens with a bang (and a mass of flame, and a brawl) in its first volume. This particular part is mostly about introducing the characters in the...
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairy Tail the beginning!, 20 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having watched a few episode of the anime series decided to pick this up and boy did I love it!

It expands on the anime by including explanations for bits they left out of the episode and expands on some bits that explained what was going on alot better!

If you fancy having access to effectively a couple of episode of the anime series in graphic book format I heartily recommend picking this up, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic and mayhem, 17 Jan 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
`Fairy Tail' is a fun series that follows Lucy, a young celestial spirit wizard, who wants to join Fairy Tail, an guild of powerful wizards who are infamous for the collateral damage they tend to cause. This first volume sees Lucy meet a strange boy called Natsu and also discovers that not all wizards are nice people.

'Fairy Tail' is a fun and entertaining series with some nice action and interesting characters. This first volume is still just introducing the world and the characters of the series but it is still very good. The translation is reasonable and the volume includes translation notes at the end as well. The art style and general feel of the series is quite similar to the series `One Piece' and I feel that anyone who liked that series should also enjoy `Fairy Tail'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely love Fairy Tail, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairy Tail 1 (Paperback)
I absolutely love Fairy Tail! I started watching the Anime a year ago and became hooked. I also started to read the manga online and loved it so much that I decided to collect them. The story is amazing, it's about a guild of wizards who often get into a lot of trouble! Great and likable characters and at times very emotional if you carry on reading the series. I have often found myself crying at least ten times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is the might of a Fairy Tail wizard, 7 Jun 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Volatile wizards, small quaint towns, bobbleheaded flying cats and as much mayhem as the sorcerers can cram into a day's work.

That's pretty much the description of the setting and characters of "Fairy Tail," which opens with a bang (and a mass of flame, and a brawl) in its first volume. This particular part is mostly about introducing the characters in the Fairy Tail guild and seeing our heroes off on their first missions, but it still produces some chuckleworthy humor and some hints of future storylines.

Celestial wizard Lucy has always wanted to be in the wizard guild Fairy Tail, and she thinks she's got an in when she's invited to a yacht party with the charming if sleazy Salamander, who claims to be a member.

Along the way, she also encounters a quirky young wizard named Natsu, and his bobble-headed cat Happy. But when the yacht turns out to be a slave-ship, Natsu appears to stop the evil wizard and save the day... except he immediately gets violently seasick. As Lucy struggles to use her own magic to help him, she discovers who the REAL Salamander is, and sees the true power that Natsu wields as a wizard of Fairy Tail!

It turns out that the other wizards of Fairy Tail are as violent and nuts as Natsu -- nudists, drunks, lechers and so on. And Lucy accompanies Natsu and Happy on her first missions as a guild wizard: when a little boy pleads with them to find his father (a wizard who disappeared on a mission), Natsu takes it personally and sets out to find the guy. And when a new mission comes up to infiltrate a lecherous duke's castle, guess who's perfect for the job.

The whole point of "Fairy Tail Volume 1" is to introduce the universe, the Fairy Tail guild, and the highly eccentric cast of characters. It feels pretty relaxed at this point, and there's not much actual plot yet. But Mashima does litter it with hints of potential storylines (such a Natsu's search for his adoptive father) and a few in-jokes for fans of "Rave Master" (guess who Canis Minor is -- none other than Plue).

And the straightforward stories of the first volume are liberally swathed in comic relief, mostly of the belly-laugh variety. Lots of strange antics (at one point Lucy hides from a monster inside a talking clock) and fun dialogue ("AAAAA! Where's my underwear?!"), and lots of mass mayhem when the wizards start brawling. Most of them aren't fleshed out yet, but they are pretty cool.

Oh yeah, and he comes up with some unique and intriguing magic -- such as Celestial Magic, in which a wizard can summon incarnations of the constellations.

And Natsu and Lucy are a pretty fun pair of protagonists. He's a not-too-bright, rather destructive guy who still has a good heart, eats fire, suffers from acute motion sickness and has great abs. And she's a smarter if less powerful wizard, who serves as the common sense of the team and seems to be a bit lower-key than the other Fairy Tail wizards. And Happy... I dunno about him. He's a flying cat with a giant head. I guess we'll find out more.

The first volume of "Fairy Tail" is a good introduction to Hiro Mashima's fantasy/comedy series. Although it doesn't have much of a plot on its own, it's a fun little diversion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairy Tail 1 (Paperback)
Came in excellent condition, the books itself was really good, good plot and art, the characters also felt very much alive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A++, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairy Tail 1 (Paperback)
Huge fan of the series loved the anime and loved the manga too. Will buy more as soon as they bring them out. Epic story and epic characters a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairy Tail 1 (Paperback)
Bought this for my ten year old daughter and I am sure she will love it. All in cartoon and back to front. What more could she want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairy Tail 1 (Kindle Edition)
Wanted to read this manga for ages but having to downsize had to be picky as to what manga to buy due to less space. But finding that I can now download and read on my kindle I can read the whole series JOY . It has not disappointed me either a great character driven manga that is well drawn and very funny - will be reading the whole series - thank god for ebooks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairy Tail 1 (Kindle Edition)
Awesome book I loved it, it must-have!! I absolutely love it!! If you like naruto or bleach you will love this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manga, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairy Tail 1 (Paperback)
I got these for my son for he's birthday as he loves reading them and watching the animes as well. he's making a collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fairy Tail 1
Fairy Tail 1 by Hiro Mashima (Paperback - 28 Aug 2012)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews