Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A second good romantic thriller from Leigh!
This is the second romantic thriller from Melinda Leigh, (author of She can Run reaching sales of over 100,000). This novel She can tell" is of our designate heroine Rachel Parker who leaves fame fortune and finance behind with her role as famous rider with inordinate skills and previously employed as trainer by her wealthy finance. She returns to rebuild the family farm...
Published 16 months ago by rhosymynydd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Superficial
Rachel runs a horse farm because a riding accident means that she can no longer compete. Her sister is fleeing an abusive relationship. They are targetted by a stalker who starts by trying to scare Rachel and then moves to trying to harm her. The local Police Chief, Mike O'Connell tries to protect Rachel but has few resources and is under pressure by the Town Council who...
Published 19 months ago by Anne


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A second good romantic thriller from Leigh!, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second romantic thriller from Melinda Leigh, (author of She can Run reaching sales of over 100,000). This novel She can tell" is of our designate heroine Rachel Parker who leaves fame fortune and finance behind with her role as famous rider with inordinate skills and previously employed as trainer by her wealthy finance. She returns to rebuild the family farm with what little finances she has left. Unfortunately, her return is not regarded by all as welcome and she is greeted with petty vandalism. However, she is also there to prevent her sister and her daughter from abuse from her husband and encourages her to leave him and seek advice on divorce. He obviously becomes the suspect of her troubling continued problems.

Fortunately for her our romantic hero, Police Chief Mile McConnell is attracted to our heroine and against her better wishes, camps outside her property to keep a wary eye on her. The vandalism escalates and the plot thickens. her finances dwindle and Rachel is forced to seek help from her old friends. The conclusion catches the reader unaware and draws to a great ending.

Well done Melinda for providing us with an enjoyable milder thriller for those seeking a good but fairly quick read. Waiting eagerly for the next She Can..... in the series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just good - exceptionally good!, 28 Jun. 2013
By 
Chris in Hampshire "Mrs C" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"She Can Tell" is a brilliant exciting and romantic thriller, which grabs your attention from the very first page.

Rachel Parker is the target of a stalker, of a vandal who damages her property and who, as times goes on is hell bent on killing her.

Rachel is very independent and very protective of her sister Sarah and her 2 children, Emma and Alex. Sarah is a battered wife, who after being hospitalised because of it, then takes her daughters to live with Rachel. Police Chief Mike O'Connel and uniformed officer,Ethan were the 911 respondants when Sarah was badly hurt by Troy, her husband. As the story unfolds, Mike is taking it on himself to protect Rachel and her sister and children, so much so that certain townspeople are unhappy about the situation. As each days passes, more and more serious and nasty events occur at Rachel's farm.

The book moves on at a fast pace and there are plenty of locals who could be put in the frame as wanting to hurt or get rid of Rachel. Just as you think you have an inkling into who the perpetrator is, things take a twist and you have to think again.

To tell you more of the story will certainly spoil your read. Suffice to say there is a lot of suspense coupled with a lot of passion in this page turner. Will Rachel give her heart? Will her stalker and tormentor succeed in breaking Rachel's spirit, will she live or die?

This excellent book is a must read and one that would maked a good movie or a small screen mini drama series. A book that is too good to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The story centres around Rachel Parker, who returns to her home town in Pennsylvania, after a terrible accident ends her riding career.

She starts to rebuild her family`s horse farm but it seems someone has other plans for her.

Rachel is being watched, her stalker is vandalising her property, trying to shut her up and frighten her for some connection to her past.

Rachel is feisty, independant and knows she has a battle on her hands, not made any easier because she also has her sister Sarah and her 2 children staying with her, after Sarah was beaten up by her husband Troy.

Along comes Police Chief Mike O`Connell, the attraction is instant, but Rachel is a closed book and not about to allow anyone in, for fear of the past repeating itself.

Rachel hadn`t banked on the persistance of Mike doing his job of protecting her , even though this puts him in the firing line of loosing his job because of personal involvement.

The townsfolk aren`t happy either as Mike`s time is taken up alot with Rachel and not on the important matter of protecting a new development waiting in the wings.

So who is watching Rachel?, and will she reveal the secret long hidden in her past, read on,.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Superficial, 18 Aug. 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rachel runs a horse farm because a riding accident means that she can no longer compete. Her sister is fleeing an abusive relationship. They are targetted by a stalker who starts by trying to scare Rachel and then moves to trying to harm her. The local Police Chief, Mike O'Connell tries to protect Rachel but has few resources and is under pressure by the Town Council who have the ability to sack him. Mike and Rachel become close but Rachel is frightened of intimacy and resists becoming closer.

The plot of this novel is nothing special for a romantic suspense title and it has a number of large holes in it (why the stalker chooses now to target the house for example). The romance is OK but I never completely got my head around why Rachel is unprepared to commit and what changes her mind (I also never got my head around what exactly she was doing to earn a living). The book seems curiously unfinished as there are lots of plot points which are started and not seen through to the end or which are resolved very quickly in a sentence or two (for example a major character is arrested for fraud near the end but we never get the details or properly understand what has precipitated the action when they have been getting away with stuff for so long). I am aware that this book appears to be one in a series and maybe a future title might address some if these issues but as a stand-alone novel it is quite unsatisfying.

Without more depth in the plot or the characterisations this is a superficial novel which doesn't engage the brain or the emotions. A very average read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 20 Jun. 2013
By 
Sian Louise (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First book from this author for me and absolutely not my last.

Loved the story in this, my only disappointment was that I didnt realise there was a book before this one until nearly half way through this book.

The story was really interesting and I found myself really liking the characters in this book.
Rachel and Mike were one of the sweetest couples I have read about in a while and there seemed like a genuine angst with their pasts, not the annoying "oh i cant but ok just this once" like you can with some love stories in other books. They weren't sure but put the effort in without all the annoying moaning about what they're capable and not capable of. Very sweet and felt the chemistry between them, but the love story felt played out properly, they didn't rush it and the author didn't rush for the characters to be intimate and i liked that.

The mystery with the bad guy also was good. I didn't guess for definate who it was. I had a list of suspects in my head but nothing concrete and I love a non obvious bad guy. I don't really understand why he thought he had to kill Rachel as it was obvious she had no memory of what happened, he would have been better off just leaving it.

The story was very well written and filled out just enough to keep it interesting and on the edge of your seat trying to think what the stalker might do next.
This was my first Melinda Leigh book but definately not my last. Great story with interesting appealing characters, will definately read more from her in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romance combined with whodunnit, 13 April 2013
By 
June Doll "June" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second Montlake Romance I have read and both were pretty similar in style and content. Basically we have a romance between the two central characters while in the background we have an unknown killer on the prowl. We have Mills and Boon combined with a Whodunnit. The characters are stereotypes; we have the big brawny (but oh so gentle) policeman falling for the petite, fragile (but feisty) female. We also have a few other stereotypes - the alcoholic wife-beater and the corrupt politician who is taking money from a rich businessman. The good characters are very, very good and the bad characters are irredeemably bad! All is black and white - there is no gray.

As with most romantic novels, the hero and heroine feel this instant, overwhelming attraction as soon as they meet but both fight it for most of the novel until eventually being overcome with passion!!!

There is no real suspense to the story and when we learn who the killer is there is no real surprise. However, I don't wish to be too harsh. If you are looking for a lightweight romance with a bit of a crime story thrown in, this is still quite an enjoyable read. I read it to the end and on the whole I enjoyed it (in spite of its flaws). Accept it for what it is and its a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She can tell, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She can tell
A well written absorbing story, all characters work well and you really want everything to work out for them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Who is the Watcher?, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
elsie purdon "reads too much" (dorset uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This novel is a sexy romance mix with crime thriller. The writing by author Melinda Leigh is crisp and pacy, and the story has strong female characters.
The plot is fairly predictable, but still I did enjoy reading it, though I wouldn't say it was exciting I have certainly read far far worse!
The main character Rachel has moved back to the family farm only to find herself being threatened and then attacked. The mystery is who is doing this? She thinks it's her younger sister's husband Troy, who has turned nasty and Rachel will do anything not to let him hurt her sister again.
She has already met the local police chief a big hunk called Mike and the two are smitten, but of course trying not to admit or show any such feelings.
This novel works best as if you want a light read, and is enjoyable if you are in the mood for a light thriller and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a mixture of romance and crime.., 29 Jan. 2014
By 
Petra "I love to read" "book addict!!!" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
She Can Tell written by Melinda Leigh for me was a good read which I would be happy to recommend to all fiction readers who like romance within an excellent who dun it? The couple consist of the hunky police officer Mike who knows he should not be attracted to Rachel who he is there to protect, and in fact Mike goes further than his job description really indicates but his heart overcomes his head while trying to seek out the killer.
I liked the actual book though there was nothing new or unique within the pages but it for me was a read which I could get lost in for a few hours on a cold day and I have to say it had me entertained within the lives of Rachel and the very hunky Mike and for me I know this is one author I will be keeping an eye out for as she certainly knows how to write a good entertaining read filled with characters which I could believe in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mistook the genre but writng still doesn't cut it, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: She Can Tell (She Can Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Essentially this is a romantic novel, which I didn't realise when I chose it. So I can't offer much on the plot. It's not my taste.

However the writing is excreable.

From the blurb:

"Police Chief Mike O'Connell can't keep his mind off of (sic) beautiful, high-spirited Rachel Parker"

From the book:

"An invisible frequency, like a Bluetooth link, hovered in the air between them"

"Anticipation kindled at the thought of an eternal solution to his current problem, of acting instead of only watching"

I just can't read this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She Can Tell (She Can Series)
She Can Tell (She Can Series) by Melinda Leigh (Paperback - 4 Dec. 2012)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews