Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time.......
"The Woodcutter" is a modern fairy tale with a Grimm's Brother darkness. Leading character The Woodcutter is a creature of magic himself; the Steward of the Forest who ensures there is balance between good and evil in the 12 magical kingdoms. Yet when those of noble birth destined for greatness are murdered, The Woodcutter leaves the forest to investigate and put a stop...
Published 23 months ago by Book Addict

versus
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable but not exactly groundbreaking.
The idea of the book seems sound, fairytale characters all meshed together in a new story. The problem is it's been done before and with more depth, think TV shows like the 10th Kingdom, Grimm or even aspects of Once Upon a Time.

The story itself was quite good, although some of the chapters were far too short at a paragraph or two at most. For me the biggest...
Published 21 months ago by Ren


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable but not exactly groundbreaking., 18 Oct 2012
By 
Ren (Newcastle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The idea of the book seems sound, fairytale characters all meshed together in a new story. The problem is it's been done before and with more depth, think TV shows like the 10th Kingdom, Grimm or even aspects of Once Upon a Time.

The story itself was quite good, although some of the chapters were far too short at a paragraph or two at most. For me the biggest problem was the characters. In the original fairy tales the stories are plot driven and the characters are stereotypical and one dimensional, but for the length of a fairytale it works. However once you get to a full length novel where you characters are faced with something entirely new, you expect far more depth from your characters. Unfortunately only the main character of the Woodcutter was given any substance and even that was fairly shallow.

A reasonable read if a bit shallow, but not one that is going to set the world alight unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time......., 31 Aug 2012
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"The Woodcutter" is a modern fairy tale with a Grimm's Brother darkness. Leading character The Woodcutter is a creature of magic himself; the Steward of the Forest who ensures there is balance between good and evil in the 12 magical kingdoms. Yet when those of noble birth destined for greatness are murdered, The Woodcutter leaves the forest to investigate and put a stop to a growing evil.

I loved the mix of whimsy, magic and romance (true love's kiss really does win the day); which worked well with the darker moments as some characters' dreams are crushed whilst others face death. This book brought to mind fairy tales that I loved as a child and haven't thought of in decades; The Three Billy Goats Gruff and The Twelve Dancing Ladies, plus classics such as Snow White, Rapunzel, Jack and the Beanstalk and Little Red Riding Hood. These characters and many other familiar faces are cleverly woven into the plot and each play an important role during The Woodcutter's quest. There are some heart-breaking moments as The Woodcutter uncovers a dastardly plot; whilst the powerful finale is a wonderfully fitting end to a beautiful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Kindle Edition)
Loved every page. A book myself, my mother and my God daughter all enjoyed. Breathtakingly beautiful to read. It's thrilling and entertaining. The links to the fairy tales mean that everyone can enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A dark magical tale of faerie, folklore, fable and fantasy that is truly spellbinding!, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Kindle Edition)
This beautiful book has such a striking, exquisite cover that it certainly stands out on the bookshelf as something unique and not of this world. As one opens the pages it feels like `The Neverending Story' where dreams become reality as you are swept away into a world of myth and legend, of magic and the extraordinary. The twelve kingdoms is a place that you can escape to, reminiscent of Alice exploring Wonderland, and which brings the classic fairytales to the modern age. Current, contemporary and fresh `The Woodcutter' is a delightful story containing everything that one would expect within a traditional fairytale, such as romance, magic and an evil enemy.

Deep within a Wood, a young woman lies dead. Not a mark on her body. No trace of her murderer. Only her chipped glass slippers hint at her identity...

The Woodcutter, keeper of the peace between the Twelve Kingdoms of Man and the Realm of the Faerie, must find the maiden's killer before others share her fate. Guided by the wind and aided by three charmed axes won from the River God, the Woodcutter begins his hunt, searching for clues in the whispering dominions of the enchanted unknown. But quickly he finds that one murdered maiden is not the only nefarious mystery afoot: one of Odin's hellhounds has escaped, a sinister mansion appears where it shouldn't, a pixie dust drug trade runs rampant, and more young girls go missing. Looming in the shadows is the malevolent, power-hungry queen, and she will stop at nothing to destroy the Twelve Kingdoms and annihilate the Royal Fae...unless the Woodcutter can outmanoeuvre her and save the gentle souls of the Wood.

Blending magic, heart-pounding suspense, and a dash of folklore, The Woodcutter is an extraordinary retelling of the realm of fairy tales.

This wonderfully absorbing and darkly thrilling read is just breathtaking, as you follow the Woodcutter in his endeavors to overcome the wicked Queen. His enduring love for his wife is admirable as too is his determination to defend the twelve kingdoms, whatever the cost may be. Kate Danley gives classic fairytales a fresh, contemporary twist which will appeal to a wide readership including readers both young and old. Fans of Phillip Pullman's Grimm Tales or Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter, will love this take on classics with a twist that is totally inspired and cleverly crafted. The compelling narrative is so readable that you will find it hard to put this down, and so as a consequence I read this book in a single sitting; which I certainly feel is a great testimony to the author's writing. Good VS evil is a theme that flows through all memorable fairytales, with this book being no exception, and which I can compare to television drama `Once Upon A Time'.

Complete with Norse mythology, legends of old, magic and warmongering this book is an exciting read that is very enjoyable hence I would highly recommend it. If you love Fae, Myths & legends, magic and YA fantasy then this is something to add to your to-read list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 26 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Kindle Edition)
This is definitely not the most beautifully or well written book and at times the author over writes making it all a bit too much but the concept is fantastic, she brings the characters to life beautifully and your depth of feeling for and with the main character is unsurpassed. All in all a great read and one I have already recommended to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not all endings are happy ..., 20 Sep 2012
By 
free2shop2003 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In this book, we meet the Woodcutter whose job it is to keep the balance between the fae and human worlds. We meet familiar (and yet different) characters along the way.

I at first struggled to get into this novel but I soon found myself two thirds through and flying. The main character is likeable and had me flying through all his emotions with him. There is a cast of many but they add to the story rather than detract as they are used as a means to move the tale along and quickly go their own way.

As mentioned above, I really must give credit to the author for the way the most poignant parts of the tale are told. I am usually not one to cry at points in a book, however, I had to reach for tissues several times.

Not everyone has a happy ending (Cinderella dies in the first few pages) but I think this is what makes the book stand out from others.

Will definitely be looking for more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so magical..., 14 Nov 2012
By 
Kirsty "book fan" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Woodcutter was an interesting idea, I was sure I was going to love it because who doesn't like fairy tales? After reading it though, I honestly believe if it ain't broke don't fix it!

The Woodcutter is basically a Frankenstein monster of all the pretty tales you grew up with as a child. Practically every fairy tale you can think of has been dissected, and sewn back together in an unattractive and messy way.

I really didn't like the narrative and flow of the book. I was only a few chapters in, and had to check the book was not part of a series. I felt that I was being dropped into a world I should have already known about, and should not have needed explaining. You are swapmed with an overload of information at once, which made the first part of the book feel very bogged down and clunky. The VERY short chapters also made for a jarring and disjointed feeling, and made it difficult to really get absorbed in the book.

To be honest the story became a little repetitive as it went on. At every challenge the Woodcutter faced he seemed to be defeated, only to find a predictable solution and carry on the next trial to do it all over again...

Not a book I would read again. I wasn't keen, but with so many familiar and well loved characters making an appearance, it will appeal to some people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The woodcutter, 26 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Kindle Edition)
Fabulous book! Read in 2 days. Brilliant enchanting story for grown ups with all known fairy tale characters. Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 21 Dec 2012
By 
S. Kellock "Softball Slider" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Kindle Edition)
This is a straight read but a good one. The story is as enchanting as the world it inhabits and if you liked Stardust you will love this!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Woodcutter (Kindle Edition)
Enchanting, magical, mystical. Every fairy tale you ever heard, every dream you ever dreamed. A tale of true love. All wrapped up with a touch of magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Woodcutter
The Woodcutter by Kate Danley (Paperback - 6 Nov 2012)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews