Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and light read.
Good story! I like alternate history a lot and although the outcome for the doomed ship was the same of course, the fictional account of the murders aboard the ship was very well done.

The descriptions of the Titanic were very well done and the characters were well told too. My only real complaint with the writing (and this is nitpicky) was the overuse of...
Published 17 months ago by finalguy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doomed from the start?
This is quite fun: by taking the great disaster as a backdrop to a murder mystery, the author makes himself three great gifts:

1. The opportunity to ladle on titanic levels of dramatic irony;
2. The opportunity for fun with real-life characters (Jack Futrelle as detective);
3. The opportunity to explore the implications for morality of an enclosed...
Published 16 months ago by JK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars murder on the titanic, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a rather slight detective story, more interesting for its setting and main character than the mystery itself. The detective is the author Jacques futrelle, an american in spite of his name, who wrote stories about the american Sherlock Holmes, the "thinking machine" in the years before the first world war. In this novel futrelle, and who died in the Titanic disaster. The cast is populated with people who were present on the ill-fated voyage, and the atmosphere of the time seems nicely conveyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic murders, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a great read if as enthralled with this subject as I have been throughout my life. The murder twist together with data of this voyage made a really interesting read.
The information of sources at the back of the book is a great addition for further reference points. I am looking forward to gathering more information from this section.
I recommend this book as an easy, interesting read. I have already purchased some of the books mentioned throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good murder mystery set on board Titanic, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Real characters that where on board the Titanic, add a murder or two and develop the storyline around them equals a good fact/fictional account of what could have happened on board. With all things like this, it's up to the reader to determine could this have really happened. I was enthralled throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Titanic enthusiasts!, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I easily read this in one sitting. Yes, there is a murder plot involved, which was ok, but most of all I loved "being on" the Titanic! I am a bit of a Titanic nut ;0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good easy read., 7 Jun 2013
The first one in the series I have read. It will not be the last. Fascination added by using real passengers. Enjoyed reading whilst on holiday.( Not a cruise!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual idea that worked well, 14 May 2013
By 
S. Rayner "Atomc 82" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this idea whereby a story run along such a well known event, although not new it certainly stood its ground. Very easy to read and certainly moves along at a nice pace. If you want an easy read for your holiday then this is recommended. I think teenagers would love this too. Written in the similar vein to Robert Muchamore (Cherub and Henderson Boys series). Doesn't get hung up on description or bogged down in mundane references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the movie of a similar name, 14 May 2013
By 
Paul (Littlehampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this and the way it is linked into actual historic events is great - much preferred this to the film Titanic where they made up some soppy rubbish whereas this was a much better romp around the famous boat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well concocted mystery, 15 April 2013
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an interesting murder mystery set on the doomed liner, in that all the characters and suspects are real historical figures, many of them the famous names like Astor, Guggenheim, Strauss and Margaret (Molly) Brown. The central character is the mystery novelist Jacques Futrelle, who created a fictional detective who solved crimes using logic and deduction a la Sherlock Holmes. Here he tries to get to the bottom of the murder of two passengers (real names on the list of dead, but about whom nothing is known), who have apparently been blackmailing some of the wealthy and well known First Class passengers, as well as others in Second Class and among the servants of these passengers. The blackmailers identify some weaknesses in each of their victims, based on historically known facts. The author thereby concocts an interesting mystery based on entirely real historical figures and incidents, within the framework of a supposed story told to the author by Futrelle's real daughter, Virginia. It also provides a possible explanation as to why the ship was travelling so fast and why the boat drill on the final day was cancelled. Futrelle solves the mystery and is in a positive frame of mind after a good dinner on Sunday night "when something jarred him awake - an unexpected jostle that was the first sign since he'd boarded that he was on a ship, not in a hotel". The main narrative of the story then ends, with an epilogue explaining the real fates of the characters. A good, well constructed novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 3 April 2013
By 
Gazza (Yorkshire U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved all these books, they gave a really good insight into the history while also being a really good tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no sinking feeling with this one...., 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed very much - good unusual murder story which gave a real 'feel' on what daily life on the Titanic was like for the short time before the disaster. Always felt that Bruce Ismay was unfairly treated so nice to see him shown in a different light. Looking forward to reading his other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Titanic Murders (Disaster Series)
The Titanic Murders (Disaster Series) by Max Allan Collins (Paperback - 11 Dec 2012)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews