Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and light read.
Good story! I like alternate history a lot and although the outcome for the doomed ship was the same of course, the fictional account of the murders aboard the ship was very well done.

The descriptions of the Titanic were very well done and the characters were well told too. My only real complaint with the writing (and this is nitpicky) was the overuse of...
Published 19 months ago by finalguy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doomed from the start?
This is quite fun: by taking the great disaster as a backdrop to a murder mystery, the author makes himself three great gifts:

1. The opportunity to ladle on titanic levels of dramatic irony;
2. The opportunity for fun with real-life characters (Jack Futrelle as detective);
3. The opportunity to explore the implications for morality of an enclosed...
Published 17 months ago by JK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic murders, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Totally great read. The characters were great and it kept me engrossed from start to finish with the storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars murder at sea, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i loved the descriptions of dress, style of the day, the ships interia etc; the story was good with lots of facts' tho the outcome of the mystery was a tad unreal?? A good read and different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this style which mixes fact and fiction and provides a different slant to a well known event. Even though the outcome obviously can't change I really wanted to know what happened to all the characters and the ending still brought a tear to my eye. A great read , will look out for more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Different twist, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story was slow, lots of suspects. Nice story line following the investigators. High lighting the classes. Bringing real life characters to life.
For me the book needed a wow the conclusion was flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good novel, 1 Sep 2013
By 
D. King (Sevenoaks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this murder mystery with its Titanic setting. Well written, I will look out for more of this author's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Titanic Murders, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very well written book based partly on fact but with an interesting mix of fiction. The characters are well drawn and, both real and imaginary, are very convincing. The plot is fast moving and full of excitement. The story ends just short of the sinking of The Titanic, and knowing what is going to happen adds to the tension. There are wonderful descriptions of the ship that make the reader feel actually aboard this luxury, but ill-fated, liner. I thoroughly recommend this book - it is a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Carrying a nice idea, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Tough Chops (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These stories are excellent, creating a fictional mystery within the boundaries of a genuine event. I have enjoyed them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely old fashioned 'innocent' mystery!, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. It takes a totally different look at the Titanic, and gives a lot of description of how the Titanic looked, and it's opulence. It made a lovely change from blood and gore, computers and bad language. It's a tale of innocent times, of love and deception and, of course, includes the eternally intriguing story of The Titanic. It also looks at it from a different angle, of a crime writer on board the Titanic trying to find a murderer. It works very well. I was a bit worried that we might have to go down the tear-jerking bit when couples are separated as the ship goes down, but the author writes around this very skilfully, ending the story without the need for tissues! Well done Max Allan Collins, a credible story, and a darned good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't normally read these kind of books but really enjoyed reading could not put it down. Def start reading more of this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever., 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love murder/mystery and this was excellent. I though it was so well written that you almost felt as though you were on the cruise yourself. Great idea and well carried out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Titanic Murders (Disaster Series)
The Titanic Murders (Disaster Series) by Max Allan Collins (Paperback - 11 Dec 2012)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews