Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected.
First of all the delivery, It was dispatched Saturday, got early evening last night, not bad at all for a standard delivery!
Now the product...I could t contain my geeky excitement as I flipped the tab, opened the flap of the box and removed the book and stand. Just the right amount if packaging, nothing too wasteful.
I pulled the battery saver tab in the...
Published 19 months ago by James Doody

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay as a novelty gift
Good novelty present but overpriced for what it was. The sound is quite annoying and it's now just on a cupboard as once it's been opened there's not a lot more you can do with it. I would have preferred just the book - the space ship stand it's on isn't really necessary
Published 8 months ago by Cathryn Bancroft


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected., 11 Dec 2012
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
First of all the delivery, It was dispatched Saturday, got early evening last night, not bad at all for a standard delivery!
Now the product...I could t contain my geeky excitement as I flipped the tab, opened the flap of the box and removed the book and stand. Just the right amount if packaging, nothing too wasteful.
I pulled the battery saver tab in the underside of the well designed, Lcars inspired book stand, the button marked "initiate" begging to be pressed....Admiral Sulu comes to life and introduces the book in very clear tones.
....the book....oh the book...Beautiful blue hard back cover with a raised Starfleet emblem on the front. Inside well written, detailed and well illustrated. It's written as if a Historian from the future is detailing the past.
In short....Really pleased with my purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting book and an unusual way of packaging it, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
The book itself is very interesting, painting an interesting and well thought out back story for the ST universe. The "plinth" is pretty gimmicky, but still fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXACTLY what I have been wating for...and more!, 12 Mar 2013
By 
A. Proctor (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
Firstly, to refute a claim by one critic: The person who read this and found "very little new information" must have been incredibly knowledgeable indeed, apparently knowing things that the author had not even created yet! I can see why, at first glance, the person might have thought this was all old hat, but read it properly and there is actually a wealth of new and very welcome material here that has never appeared anywhere else.

To be fair, certain games and works have previously given their version of some of these events - but those works are largely decades old now, and the more recent shows and films have contradicted many of their entries. This work acknowledges all Star trek shows - and even the recent movie - and ties them all together in an updated account, that begins with Cochrane's Phoenix and stretches all the way up to the tribute Eulogy for James T Kirk, after his "death" on the Enterprise B.

This work is partly a summary of some of the events that happened on screen, all concentrated in one place, but far more space is taken up with a wealth of other details and information, much of which has never been attempted by any other source.

Information to be found within includes:
correspondence between ambassadors,
Treaties,
an account of the negotiations that created the Federation,
Admiral/President Archer's later career - and his campaign to create the Prime Directive,
a blow by blow account of the Romulan War (very different to former attempts to describe it, but much more in keeping with the setting established in Enterprise),
Officer reports (such as a transmission from Koloth reporting the destruction of the Tribble home planet!),
letters from Kirk and Spock, amongst others,
and - though it might seem a little matter to some - the mention of the Einstein class USS Kelvin (now confirmed as Kirk's birthplace), The NX class, The Daedalus class, The Baton Rouge class, and the story of the creation of the Constitution class - with a lovely picture of Robert April looking a lot like Gene Roddenbury. ;)
And much more.

As I said, some of this has been touched on elsewhere in various forms and versions, but a great amount never has been. The book is of course too small to be an in depth analytical study on every subject - and does not try to be. Instead it gives a concise summary of as much as it can within it's size constraints, and does a very good job of it. Never over weighty, the narration is none the less ahem, fascinating. At times one would have liked a slightly more thorough exploration of a subject - but to give any subject such attention would have deprived us of several other entries, or would perhaps have rendered the book too large and expensive to be viable (the larger the book, the more expensive and less appealing it becomes). As it is, David Goodman has done a fantastic job of touching upon as much as he could within his alloted space. He gets the balance just right, giving just enough to be interesting and informative, without ever becoming too lightweight and shallow, nor overly detailed to the detriment of other content. The book itself is glossy and thoroughly illustrated and filled with little gems throughout. Every page is a pleasure - and there are some real "wow" moments.

It is an overused term, but Federation: The First 150 years really is a "must buy" for anyone who is even remotely interested in Trek - especially now that the book has come down to a more reasonable price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 13 Mar 2014
By 
M. Borton (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
Awesome book, box, props and just a fun little thing to have on display in the big cabinet next to the telly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Present, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
As a fan of Star Trek, from the first episode to last; this is a superb gift for any trekkie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic present, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
Best present ever for a trekky fan who has every piece of memorabilia. Arrived in lovely box and in great time too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
I bought this for a Star Trek fan, and am one myself, and it's absolutely fine for the price I paid (around 30-40). I have looked at the original price and would recommend not paying the full price for it; when everything is considered it's a book with a few inserts and is on a plastic display tray w/voice sample, I'm afraid the recipient has yet to read it so I cannot comment as to the quality of the information inside.

It is presented well, the book itself is much larger than I originally thought, and is a good gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Okay as a novelty gift, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
Good novelty present but overpriced for what it was. The sound is quite annoying and it's now just on a cupboard as once it's been opened there's not a lot more you can do with it. I would have preferred just the book - the space ship stand it's on isn't really necessary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captain`s log, star date October 2013..., 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
This was a birthday gift for my Star Trek loving son. He was thrilled with it. The quality of the book is fantastic. It was very well packaged too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Piece of Fun at a reasonable Price, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years (Hardcover)
This is a nice mid price gift for your favourite trekker (or yourself lol) It looks impressive on its stand and the bits of ephemera add to the interest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years
Star Trek Federation: The First 150 Years by David A. Goodman (Hardcover - 4 Dec 2012)
23.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews