Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archaeological Adventure
Though basically an archaeological thriller embracing a significant historical find, a grave robbery and actions to retrieve stolen items there are numerous interconnected threads to `Tears of the Jaguar', plus there are numerous characters. Everything and everyone are essential to the novel's intriguing and intricate plot. Author A J Hartley skilfully interweaves...
Published on 26 Nov. 2012 by D. Elliott

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly boring
An archaeological mystery thriller, Tears of the Jaguar should have kept me entertained into the wee small hours. Instead the tears were all down to sheer boredom.

The concept was good, but whilst a few of the characters were unlikeable, the rest were just plain bland. The main character was boarding on wet and whiny from the first few pages and didn't get...
Published 24 months ago by Ren


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good well paced story. Covers a wide range of differing localities and characters, and will keep most readers going to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good read...., 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a medium good read. Well researched and interesting plot, but I found it leapt from one place to another a little too much and would have been good with maybe a map as some books have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story but a bit predictable as to who the 'villain' is.Would try another by this author. Glad only cost me a pound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frightening amalgamation of long gone past and present, 28 Nov. 2013
By 
N. L. Burnett "Nicole" (Camberley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book I have read by this author and I could not put it down. It brings the Ancient Mayan Culture into the present, very real world and the participants in this thrilling who done it, are fabulous. Research amazing and so is the writing. There are only positives as far as I could see and it prompted me to download on my Kindle The Mask of Atreus, the Fifth Day and Time Devours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed the read., 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It held the readers interest, I consumed it in a few days..
I was opleased that I worked the story line out>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tears of the Jaguar, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second book I have read by this Author and I was not disappointed
the characters have just enough substance without over emphasis to add to the mystery
The Heroine Deborah Miller carries you along as she lopes from one continent to another in her search for answers
What I like about these Archiological thrillers are the settings. Ancient monuments and the history surrounding them, I like to look them up on Google Earth and compare them to the authors description, this draws me deeper into the plot
There was nothing that interupted the flow of this book for me, if you're a fan of this genre, prepare for an adventure, settle down and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good first read by Hartley, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
Mrs. P. R. Painter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first book by A.J.Hartley and I shall definitely read more. An interesting book revolving around an archeological dig, involving the finding of precious stones etc, and even murder. Well researched, with plenty of history thrown in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but worth perserveringwith with, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have been to Mexico or Chichen Itza in particular, this book will keep you interested; It brings the past to life and into the present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant book keeps you waiting for the next event, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hard to put down once started a really good read unable to second guess what will happen next in the story. Keeps you involved until you reach the end could there be a follow up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read., 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not just a thriller but a really interesting insight into the world of archaeology for a novice. The characters are believable and well drawn with one or two exceptions. The pace of the narrative keeps one anxious for the next step of the tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tears of the Jaguar
Tears of the Jaguar by A.J. Hartley (Paperback - 4 Sept. 2012)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews