Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second in the series
This is the second book in the Penton series and I would strongly recommend that you read this in order as this second outing does depend on a prior knowledge of past events.

The author has done a good job again and we are instantly drawn back into the story from where the first book left off. Mirren's character is an interesting one and I was glad to see that...
Published 15 months ago by free2shop2003

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5*. Less beige and bland than book 1, but still too 'lite' in terms of all things vamp, baddies, danger & romance.
Whatever type of tale I go for, and I do read an awful lot in differing genres, there has to be a touch of romance in it first and foremost. In book 1, I felt that the 'romance' was more Stockholm Syndrome rather than true love and attraction, but this book earned major brownie points in this area, as the romance seemed truer and definitely more sexy, and both leads were...
Published 17 months ago by ROROBLU'S MUM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second in the series, 2 Jan 2013
By 
free2shop2003 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Absolution (The Penton Vampire Legacy) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second book in the Penton series and I would strongly recommend that you read this in order as this second outing does depend on a prior knowledge of past events.

The author has done a good job again and we are instantly drawn back into the story from where the first book left off. Mirren's character is an interesting one and I was glad to see that his story did the character justice.

A brilliant addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5*. Less beige and bland than book 1, but still too 'lite' in terms of all things vamp, baddies, danger & romance., 28 Oct 2012
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Absolution (The Penton Vampire Legacy) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Whatever type of tale I go for, and I do read an awful lot in differing genres, there has to be a touch of romance in it first and foremost. In book 1, I felt that the 'romance' was more Stockholm Syndrome rather than true love and attraction, but this book earned major brownie points in this area, as the romance seemed truer and definitely more sexy, and both leads were more interesting, and he, Mirren, was certainly more Alpha than the not-really-Alpha vamp leader, Aiden. It was still not the hot, sexy, sensual/erotic type of romance that you get with Alexandra Ivy, Lara Adrian, Larissa Ione, and similar authors who are mistresses of their genre, but it was more credible than book 1.

It is still what I call vampire-lite reading, as it lacked the angst, excitement, danger, really bad baddies and battles-before-a-deserved-HEA, that I like from my paranormals, but it was better than its predecessor. A lot more happened in this tale, possibly as in book 1, the author was creating the 'world', which made it slow and muted.

I won't go into the tale in detail, as 1) the other reviewer has done that pretty well, and 2) sorry to repeat myself, everything in it, and I do mean, everything detailed above, was rather subdued for me. I likened book 1 to 'beige' reading, and this was perhaps a shade or two deeper in depth, in the events that happened and where the series will be heading now, but it was still very 'lite' in all things vampire, and I prefer my vamp males to be brooding, angsty, Alpha and sexy. Not that Mirren wasn't strong, principled, likable and decent, but he was too...normal and a bit too honorable, especially as he had been the feared Slayer. Grace, with her abilities and silent female strength, was the more interesting character,and when she decided Mirren was worth saving, and was the man for her, she went for her guy - this is why the romance element felt more real to me.

Whilst I'm not going to spoil the tale by going into too much detail, I will tell you why to me it felt 'lite': at around page 55, which is roughly a sixth of the tale, the initial danger was over - done and dusted, and very anti-climactic, too. Mirren had been imprisoned for a month without blood, but wasn't blood-lusted, and when he saw Grace, he didn't pounce on her as a food-source, only to find that he wanted her, not just her blood, as would normally happen in this type of tale. No, he recognised her as different and wanted to save her, never mind that he couldn't save himself. And, by this time, Grace had been abducted for a month too, and injected with heroin three times a day, yet it only took around 3/4 days of being in Penton for her to be seemingly over her addiction. The 'rescue' of Mirren and Grace, involved a seen-before vamp character simply walking into the baddie's house (yes, a house rather than an old-fashioned fortified compound or even a baddie's lair), going straight down to the basement, blasting into the cage that held Mirren and Grace, and walking out with them to safety, having felled only two not-very-threatening vamps, and with daylight about to break. Hmmm...exciting much? Not.

Still, overall, book 2 is a better read than its predecessor, and if book 3 comes up on Amazon vine, I will be reading it, but for me, comparing this author to the above mentioned, she's not someone whose works I will pay for - not yet, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Ms. B. E. Harris "36195barb" (lincoln uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolution (The Penton Vampire Legacy) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
this is a very good second novel in the penton vampire legacy novels.i enjoed this one much more than the first but hten i normaly do.i now look forward to the thrid novel in the series out later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please don't compare to True Blood - It has its own great moments..., 16 Oct 2013
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Absolution (The Penton Vampire Legacy) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This series, The "PENTON LEGACY", has been likened to the Alabama based, "Sookie Stackhouse" (better known as "True Blood") However, it is not nearly as thrilling or horrifying but does have its moments. To my mind they are not comparable. All vampire stories differ - there are no rules for writing them, as with all fantasy it is in the author's mind alone to set the boundaries and "powers" for that matter.

I did enjoy the first installment, "Redemption" and this is the second installment of the paranormal romance featuring the immortals of Penton, Alabama, where a heroic vamp meets a beautiful witch on a dangerous mission.

As we left redemption, the vampire world was on the brink of civil war over the scarcity of untainted human blood, (a world plague had left most human blood tainted and poisonous to the vampires). Battle lines are being drawn between the once peaceful vampire and human enclave of Penton, Alabama, and the powerful Vampire Tribunal who ency their way of life with a mix of willing human and vampires living and co-existing with help from each other. Mirren Kinkaid is the leader of this new community but he has a dark past as the Slayer for the Tribunal. The tribunal is determined to wake Mirren's dark side and turn him away from Penton. Glory Cummings is sent to "turn" Mirren or will this happen?

Susannah Sandlin is a very thorough author and really gets to grip with the characters who are all very singular and unique. (Her characters are much more in-depth than the well known Sookie and Bill!) Her ability to manipulate the characters and evoke a good reader response is undeniable, however some of the text is drawn out and I have to admit to skipping a few pages. However, I am going to stay with the series and look forward to reading OMEGA, which name portents great interest. Not to be missed if you enjoy a good fantasy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you like vampire books you will love this one. a good story too looking forward to the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Feb 2014
OMG I love this series. This could be turned into films to rival twilight. But probably better. Cannot wait to start the third book. Love it xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars AN improvement, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Rambleast Reviews (Truth Or Consequences, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Absolution (The Penton Vampire Legacy) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Definitely better than the first book, which was good enough (or I thought so at least) to merit reading this one in the first place. Here's to a third!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, can't wait to read the next book, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is so easy reading, I enjoyed as much as the first, if not more. It's fresh and real (ok, there are vampires and witch types) and I really got a feel for the characters. I highly recommend these books to those who enjoy paranormal romance/urban fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "2013 HOLT Medallion Award Winner" i can see why!!!, 26 Sep 2013
By 
gadget girl "wifi" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Absolution (The Penton Vampire Legacy) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
when food becomes scarce anarchy will reign.even when the society is one of the vampire. this is vampire for the grown ups . no teenage mush here(although i liked that too), im a sucker for vampires since reading dracula.basically this series deals with the human concepts of a communities destructive nature ,the good people verses the bad and wether you can truly become the good after the bad and forgive yourself for it . another series i must read from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kept me enthralled right up to the end, couldn't put it down. Loved the romance, adventure, and humour throughout the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4beccf0)

This product

Absolution (The Penton Vampire Legacy)
Absolution (The Penton Vampire Legacy) by Susannah Sandlin (Paperback - 9 Oct 2012)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews