Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nightfall
After the Spider Shephard books I was looking forward to these ones, pleasantly surprised! A good cracking story that kept me reading on and on till it was finished. Got the next in the series as soon as I finished it.
Published 21 months ago by Smally

versus
42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different Leather in need of originality
Stephen Leather has forged a considerable reputation over the last two decades as someone that writes cleverly plotted thrillers. These most recently have featured ex-sas soldiers and undercover policemen. So it might be a surprise to his loyal fans to find this latest book is about a man that discovers his soul has been sold to the devil.

Jack Nightingale was...
Published on 2 Mar. 2010 by J. Potter


‹ Previous | 17 8 923 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new Stephen king, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Leather has done it again ! Fantastic new supernatural series. Kept me riveted from start to finish. I challenge you not to enjoy it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book., 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of suspense, drama and intrigue. Would definitely recommend and will be reading the rest of the series. A +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SL reliable as ever, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having run out of Spider Shepherds, I thought I would try this, although it is not my usual genre. Like all Stephen Leather's, it is eminently readable with some arcane touches. Jack is a good character but, as yet, Jenny is a bit two-dimensional. Strong, fast plot with some original baddies (Proserpine is particularly engaging but Sylvia deserved better!), I have already downloaded the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book, reality meets supernatural, perfect. Have bought 2 and 3 already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Nightingale, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first in the Jack Nightingale series. All of which are very much recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 28 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read and first one of the series I have read and will be reading more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A combination of crime & the supernatural, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
and a first class thriller to boot! Another disfunctional hero having a hard time but don't think you've seen it all before. Plenty of twists & spook factor & Jack Nightingale is a very likable lead though I do worry about his drink driving.. but he has plenty to put up with in his first outing. Looking forward to more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me reading, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After coming across this book on Amazon and reading some of the reviews I decided I would try this first book in the Jack Nightingale series. I think what drew me in was the combination of police/crime and the supernatural.

I found that the story drew me on and kept me intrigued. The main character of Jack was also appealing to me as he seemed a normal person with relatively everyday issues and characteristics. He is the hero of the story but does not realise it.

At first though I did wonder where the story was going with what I felt was the long introduction but in retrospect I suppose it made sense and laid the foundation for not just this book but also the series. The event and the consequences are referred to again and again (and not just in this first book) so it really seems to have a foundational aspect to it as far as the story is concerned.

I have already downloaded and started the read the second book so I think I can say that I have found a new fictional character to follow and get to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute must read, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took me a while to get into this book, but O M G what a fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the three books in the series in a row. Couldn't put them down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 923 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightingale: Nightfall Book 1
Nightingale: Nightfall Book 1 by Stephen Leather (Paperback - 11 Dec. 2012)
Used & New from: £8.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews