Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good
I'm working my way through all the Nate Heller novels and so far not one dud. I do like the way Max Allan Colins interweaves a fictional account in a factual backdrop, no one does it better. If you like Dashiel Hammett or Raymond Chandler these are the books or you.
Published on 27 Jan 2012 by Mr. Stephen F. Male

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Notr one of my most enjoyable reads!
I quite enjoyed this but didn't find it a rivetting read. Kept picking it up and putting it down - and reading another story in between so proably a sign I didn't enjoy it all that much. Don't know if I'll read any more of this authors books.
Published 6 months ago by Judith Yapp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 27 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen F. Male "Steve" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm working my way through all the Nate Heller novels and so far not one dud. I do like the way Max Allan Colins interweaves a fictional account in a factual backdrop, no one does it better. If you like Dashiel Hammett or Raymond Chandler these are the books or you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Books - Great Character, 20 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have now read all the Nathan Heller series and pretty much liked them all. He is the archetypal private eye who interacts with real crimes and real people from history. Max Allan Collins treads a thin line but magnificently well in telling real life stories through his fictional detective.
Great stories really well told and at a great price! If, like me, you are not rich but have a book addiction then here's a way to keep the monsters at bay a bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heller, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book as intriging as all the Heller books. Nat is the sme tough and virile character again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good rread, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read,
great story and keeps the reader(ME!) interested from start to finish.
Well written
Highly rated and is recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A REALY GOOD READ WAS A BIT DOUBTFUL AS I HAVE NOT ..., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A REALY GOOD READ WAS A BIT DOUBTFUL AS I HAVE
NOT READ A BOOK BY THIS WRITER BEFORE BUT ENJOYED
IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Notr one of my most enjoyable reads!, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I quite enjoyed this but didn't find it a rivetting read. Kept picking it up and putting it down - and reading another story in between so proably a sign I didn't enjoy it all that much. Don't know if I'll read any more of this authors books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this style of writing and the story line just keeps on chugging along. Will definitely be reading more of the Heller series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great series, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The characters & historical details are fascinating. All my Nate Heller downloads have been great value & very compelling stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Real life and crime fiction in one, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Aidan Walker "Aidan" (Fulking, West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. Philip Marlowe for the MidWEst and a decade or so earlier. Fascinating period - Chicago early 30s - and Collins stitches his fictional character and the real people of the time - John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Pretty Boy Floyd - with complete authenticity. Next step: get my hands on everything he's ever done. Fab stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The style of writing brings out the character very well.Action and humour and historical facts abound in this book,and a bit of spice too.
Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Crime (Nathan Heller Novels)
True Crime (Nathan Heller Novels) by Max Allan Collins (Paperback - 13 Sep 2011)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews