Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fo beginners
I wanted something that was full of quick easy projects to make. This collection of patterns is good for gift making.
Published 16 months ago by Julie Cartwright

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good..
A well designed book but it just didn't have anuthing that I really like
Published 16 days ago by georkost


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fo beginners, 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet One-Skein Wonders: 101 Creative Projects (Paperback)
I wanted something that was full of quick easy projects to make. This collection of patterns is good for gift making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crochet, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet One-Skein Wonders: 101 Creative Projects (Paperback)
really good book, a great variety of projects, the only reason i did not give it five stars was that it is in american crochet terminology, saying that i still recommend it, it is just a little confusing, a mention in the write up would be nice. there are a lot of projects that i will make so still a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely little book!, 18 Jun 2013
By 
Sophia (Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet One-Skein Wonders: 101 Creative Projects (Paperback)
We’ve waited a long time for a crochet book like this. I love the way the projects are organised by yarn weight - it makes using up the considerable stash seem less like a dream and more like a possibility (!) Many of the patterns could be made using a different yarn than the one specified - if you don't mind adjustments to scale. What's more the patterns are, for the most part unusual and a bit different. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet One-Skein Wonders: 101 Creative Projects (Paperback)
This is a great book, so much better than I had expected!

There are a lot of really nice patterns in here, the cover and even the "Look Inside" do not do it justice! There are some lovely glove/ wrist wamer patterens and some fantastic toy patterns, the two rabbit/ bunny patterns and the dog and great.

I can't wait to try them, my biggest problem will be deciding which to do first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "One skein" can be misleading, but overall good., 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a nice little book with a good range of projects. Also, although it isn't cheap, if you compare it to books with a fraction of the number of designs, it isn't bad value as long as you like enough of the projects.

There are only two real issues as far as I'm concerned, which dropped it down from five stars.

Firstly, "one skein" is based on a skein of 100g of yarn. Frequently skeins and balls of yarn are only 50g, so it's a little disappointing to realise that the pattern you thought would work so beautifully with a given yarn actually requires more than you have. Be forewarned, and don't expect to find something to use up every little ball in your stash. Some of them are adaptable, and there are lots of ideas. In general the suggested yarns are often a little pricey, but I haven't had too many problems with finding alternates. It isn't a big problem, but I feel like the undertone of "hey, you can use up all your leftover skeins" is a bit misleading.

The second disappointment is very much a your mileage may vary one, and that is how many of the projects are for babies or dolls. That's great if you have small children or children who play with dolls a lot, but if you don't, that writes off a lot of the projects from the get go.

Overall, though, there are some really nice ideas in here. My favourites are probably the amigurumi, which are well explained and really cute. I also like several of the scarf designs, and there's really quite a lot of variation in them. Everything from Tunisian to really simple stitch patterns, and a chunky cowl to light and pretty scarves that would even be suitable for a winter bride. IMO the lovely collection of scarves/cowls are probably the strong pout of the book.

All the patterns are given in US terms, unsurprisingly since it's an American publishing house, but the stitches are the same even when the names are different, and it's not hard to find a conversion chart. I'm still not a very advanced crocheters, but I've found once you understand the relation between the two systems, it's no problem at all to switch between them. Don't let it alarm you or you put off from an otherwise pretty good and varied collection of patterns.

If in doubt whether there's enough here to pique your interest, the book is listed on Ravelry with each pattern described. Overall, it's pretty good, though I'm glad I got it at a knock down price, and I'd definitely take a look at any more crochet specific one skein wonder books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Julie Murphy (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crochet One-Skein Wonders: 101 Creative Projects (Paperback)
This book is full of really attractive and useful items that use one skein or less of yarn. It is American, so uses slightly different crochet terminology to British. Don't let that put you off though if you can already crochet the British way as it's not vastly different. Although the projects are small and uncomplicated it's not the best book for a complete beginner as it doesn't include explicit stitch diagrams as some books do, but the patterns are very manageable once you have had some basic experience. A great value book (101 patterns works out at under 10 pence per pattern), but the best thing is just about all the patterns are ones you would actually like to make and not just to pad the book out to fit the title!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book - lots of interesting projects, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really nice crochet book with lots of different projects in it which are quick and easy to make. It would have been nice if the book said how big the skein of wool needed for some of the bigger projects like the baby blanket is so you would know how much yarn to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for left-overs!, 2 Dec 2013
By 
B. Wells - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Masses of super ideas and grouped according to the weight of the yarn, makes searching quicker and easier if you are looking for something for a left over ball......there are even some ideas for a few metres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many great projects!, 4 Nov 2013
What a fantastic book and great value for money! Just remember to convert stitches from US to UK. Very impressed with the extensive appendix which not only provides a background on the designers but also a fantastic glossary of stitches with clear illustrations. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 10 Aug 2013
This review is from: Crochet One-Skein Wonders: 101 Creative Projects (Paperback)
Love this book. Have made five items to date and I'm just itching to try them all. Often with craft books you get two or three things you want to make, but this one has loads and they just need small quantities of yarn. Wish I'd bought it first before I spent money on the other books and patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crochet One-Skein Wonders: 101 Creative Projects
Crochet One-Skein Wonders: 101 Creative Projects by Judith Durant (Paperback - 1 Mar 2013)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews