Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2011
A very good account of the combat operations of the 6th Fallschirmjager Regiment, from its activation in 1943 to its surrender in 1945. We follow these `Green Devils' from their first operation in Rome when Italy tried to surrender in 1943, then into the hard and heavy fighting in Russia back across to Europe to participate in the German efforts to repeal the Allied invasion in Normandy and then into Holland, the Eifel Region and then the Ardennes.

The book has some excellent, never seen-before photographs of these German paratroopers in action and lots of them. The one failing of this book, or I should say the publishers failing, is a substandard effort in editing. I came across numerous typos, spelling mistakes and badly translated sentences which spoilt the overall affect of this book and tarnished the great effort the author took to make this an exceptional book on these Fallschirmjager's.

Overall a great book and well worth the time to read and should be in every serious military library and I hope that the publishers take the time to edit the book in its next printing run and fix these very basic errors.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
As an ex para I looked forward hopefully to reading this book, I wasn't disappointed!. Fills in a lot of gaps about the fighting in Normandy.An interesting veiw of the US Airborne from the German side. Lots of interesting eye witness accounts, v. gripping read, recommended.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Having reviewed some of the other customer feedback before purchasing this book, I was aware that there were some grammatical errors in this book. However, these did not detract from what is a really good book, which focuses on one of the best units (on either side) to fight in WW2. I really loved some of the photographs and the opportunity to learn of the experiences of war from some of the rank and file German paras.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
Very well written from the German point of view and a war book which hooks you from the start and is difficult to put down. Accurately documented piece of work of the 6th Para Regt from 43 to 45 and just shows the unswerving dedication by these guys who easily matched anything thrown at them from the Allies on each front - they travelled a lot!

If you are interested in the German side of the war, this IS one book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
The complete history of the 6th Fallschirmjaeger (Airborne) Regiment since its creation on February 1943. This regiment (known even as the "Heydte" Regiment, from its commander name, it is probably one of the most valorous regiments , on the german side, on the WWII; its combat history began in Italy, after the italian armistice (8th September 1943) , with the german occupation of Rome; then at the end of 1943 it was sent in ukraina where it was almost destroyed; after its "reorganization", it was deployed in Normandy where at Carentan it has stopped for days the allied advance; after having been almost destroyed during the allied operation "Cobra" (25th July 1944) it has been rebuilt and sent near Eindhoven , in Holland; after almost two months of fightings it has been retreated from the front line and sent to the Eifel region to prepare for the Ardennes offensive. The Ardennes offensive saw the Regiment on a launch mission behind the allied lines, after which it ended the WWII fighting for the homeland on the West Front.
Every formation that has been detached from the Regiment , even a while, during the WWII, it is followed on its distinct combat adventure.
The book includes the complete order of battle of the unit, including the list of decorated soldiers of the unit and a wonderful series of photos done by the soldiers during the WWII. All the book is enriched by first hand stories of the german soldiers, members of this glorious unit.
It is important to note that on the pages of this book you will not find propaganda or words of disdain for the enemy, but just history.
The book will make you love those soldiers and their stories.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I have read the accounts of the paras &american paras now the perspective of the Germans ,also there para regiments
Now you have conflict between the best of the best !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
This book is fantastic and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in WW2 history!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
I choose the highest rating as I found this book an avid read. After reading band of brothers and watching the series plus many other "victors" books and films I really appreciated the German perspective of this conflict written without embellishment. Given the logistics shortage and professionalism of the German paratrooper it leads one to wonder just how things might have turned out had things been different.For me it puts into perspective the "war stories" we are fed today. We may have won the Second World War but if this tells me anything only by sheer weight of numbers, air power and logistics.... Not by the skills of our ground forces
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I purchased the Kindle edition of this book and I'd have to say I'm a little disappointed. The history of the regiment is interesting but the book has been poorly proof read. Between the end of Loc 526 and start of Loc 533 the Kindle edition seems to jump or skip a section of text. I'm not sure how much text is actually missing. At the start of the sentence the author is talking about the troops helping the locals with the wine harvest and then it jumps to a road being impassable due to American artillery fire. The poor editing really lets it down.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
Good story told well, without the "Band of Brothers" hype.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)