Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A HARROWING TALE
For many years we heard and saw words and images depicting a country under the control of an erratic dictator, who controlled Libya with a rod of iron, and hatred filled rhetoric, and most of the world seemed to offer little support, comfort or physical assistance to save him and his regime from an internal uprising fueled by Western Allies. I cannot recall much worldwide...
Published 12 months ago by DOPPLEGANGER

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corrupt Gaddafi and his henchman
Very rambling and often repetitive. However a truly awful account of how vile Gaddafi was and what a corrupt human being he was
Published 11 months ago by Sue Harding


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A HARROWING TALE, 24 Oct 2013
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaddafi's Harem: The Story of a Young Woman and the Abuses of Power in Libya (Hardcover)
For many years we heard and saw words and images depicting a country under the control of an erratic dictator, who controlled Libya with a rod of iron, and hatred filled rhetoric, and most of the world seemed to offer little support, comfort or physical assistance to save him and his regime from an internal uprising fueled by Western Allies. I cannot recall much worldwide sorrow when Muammar Gaddafi was dragged from a sewer tube like a frightened rat and crudely executed by his own people.

In her book "Gaddafi's Harem" special correspondent for Le Mode, and one of France's most admired journalists and author, Annick Cojean, reveals her meticulous research into another not as yet generally widely known aspect of this horrific man's evil characteristics namely his extreme sexual appetite fueled by massive a consumption of cocaine and viagra. His perverted actions knew no bounds of decency, or compassion, only excessive cruelty and brutality to scores and scores of young women and girls who were unfortunate enough to be 'ordered' and normally forced by his pimps and procuresses to his bed. Many of the unfortunates were very young girls whom he like the look of on visits to schools and universities, and were later rounded up by his lackeys, and taken to Gaddafi's compound, palace, tent or wherever this despicable dictator was staying.

The book tells the detailed and shocking story of one such girl called Soraya who was ripped from her family having been 'touched' by Gaddafi during a visit to her school when she had just turned 15, and was brutalized, raped, frequently urinated on, and kept a prisoner who was forced to 'surrender' to 'The Guide' as he was known by his sycophants, whenever called and this was frequently. Gaddafi did not limit his demands to her, but had many such poor girls on tap to satisfy his seemingly unsatisfiable sexual perversions. His desires were not restricted to females, as he kept a 'stable'of young boys for frequent visits, very often at the same time as one or more of his female 'sex slaves'.

He was totally obsessed with sex and the submissive control of women maintaining around him a large coterie of supposed personal guards known as The Amazons, but were also expected to perform other 'duties', high ranking people in his group who acted as arrangers of girls and women for his delectation, and many other accomplices and providers.

After Gaddafi's regime had been dismantled, the author spent a great deal of time searching out others who might have suffered similarly to Soraya, not only for collaboration purposes but to paint a fuller picture of this evil man's malign influence, and she also relates many of their stories.

This is a most harrowing story of unbelievable cruelty carried out on mainly young girls, where the threat of imprisoning and torturing brothers of girls who tried to resist Gaddafi's desires, was often made and carried out, until sexual submission was forthcoming. Gaddafi also extended his 'net' to the wives and daughters of other Heads of State, and their senior people, and by offering huge riches for favours seemingly had quite some success although on more than one occasion some very potentially damaging diplomatic incidents were brushed up against.

There cannot have been a more repulsive leader of a nation ever than Gaddafi, and I commend Annick Cojean for producing this excellent account, and whilst it makes the stomach tighten with revulsion it, perhaps appeases our consciences for the military action that erased this man from our planet.

A very good, highly readable but disturbing, excruciating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corrupt Gaddafi and his henchman, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very rambling and often repetitive. However a truly awful account of how vile Gaddafi was and what a corrupt human being he was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not just Libya, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that needs more world awareness.
Leaders of all countries should be questioned on how much they had known and were thereby complicit.
I holidayed in Libya a couple of months before the uprising and was surprised to see that most women in Tripoli only wore the scarf and not the veil.
However discussions with our driver showed complete hypocrisy. He bragged about his wild life in Spain but was not prepared to even let his brothers see his wife without a veil.
Sadly corruption will succeed and, as we see, 'democracy' will only be a path used to reinstate the next pig at the trough.
Is Libya now a free democracy. Soraya, unfortunately, will never get the justice or recognition for her bravery that she deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 17 Nov 2013
By 
R. Gray (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a revelation!!! What we all suspected and what those in power always knew. His friends in other governments who turned a blind eye are shameful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant and dogged piece of Journalism, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shocking! revealing and ultimately heartbreaking.This young victim takes you with her on her descent into Gadaffi's secret hell,.where she remains today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... but a bit repetitive - I was a bit disappointed to be honest - not enough about Gaddafi the, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaddafi's Harem: The Story of a Young Woman and the Abuses of Power in Libya (Hardcover)
Deeply shocking but a bit repetitive - I was a bit disappointed to be honest - not enough about Gaddafi the man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very dark and depressing, but insightful. Gaddafi was ..., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very dark and depressing, but insightful. Gaddafi was a proper drug fueled monster of the most humanly depraved. The complicity encouraged through fear among the population ultimately enabled his omnipotence, in which he indulged in narcissistic sexual pleasures and delusions propped up by viagra, cocaine and whisky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and harrowing - Must read!, 12 Oct 2013
i read this book in one sitting. This is a harrowing account of the fate of very real women in a corrupt and cruel regime. Anyone who has any experience of Libya will not have any doubts regarding the sincerity of the witnesses or the nature of Gadaffi. Disbelief only occurs when one considers how many condoned and enabled this despot to carry out these despicable acts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting account of Gaddafi's reign - thought provoking and upsetting to think that having had equality for so long in this Country that in places like Libya the women still don't have any of the freedoms we take so forgranted. Gaddafi was a brutal tyrant that got his just desert, but where is the justice for people like Soraya?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story though not well written, 2 April 2014
By 
K. V. Lester "Carter" (Olney, Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gaddafi's Harem: The Story of a Young Woman and the Abuses of Power in Libya (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading this book while on holiday and although the content is shocking and disturbing, the writing is not as good as I had anticipated even though it is written by a top French journalist. The book is repetitive in parts but I think that just reflects the fact that all the dictator was interested in was sex, violence and drugs. I recommend this to people interested in the middle east and tales of human suffering. If you liked the 'Princess' trilogy by Jean Sassoon you will enjoy Gaddafi's Harem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gaddafi's Harem: The Story of a Young Woman and the Abuses of Power in Libya
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews