Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars it makes for a fantastic gift for that special Mad Men die-hard in your ...
Even though it's not really much in the way of content, it makes for a fantastic gift for that special Mad Men die-hard in your life.
Published 4 months ago by Rivereyes

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
I have been looking forward to this arriving but it is not the book I thought it would be. Mad Men fans have heard snippets of interesting anecdotes being recorded on to a dictaphone throughout the programmes, these would have made excellent and very funny reading. I really was hoping for the life, loves and adventures of Roger Sterling, Sterling's Gold is after all his...
Published on 30 Nov. 2010 by WHISKET


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 30 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man (Hardcover)
I have been looking forward to this arriving but it is not the book I thought it would be. Mad Men fans have heard snippets of interesting anecdotes being recorded on to a dictaphone throughout the programmes, these would have made excellent and very funny reading. I really was hoping for the life, loves and adventures of Roger Sterling, Sterling's Gold is after all his autobiography. This book just contains some quotes and a few pictures. Nice to have but not at all the book I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what I expected, 29 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man (Hardcover)
This isn't a book, and it's not what I expected, but, then, did I really expect someone to write a full book as an autobiography of a fictional character? As a die hard Mad Men fan I will be keeping the book, as it does seem to have some funny things in, and pictures etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 30 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man (Hardcover)
Was expecting a biography of Roger Sterling not a few quotes and grainy photos. The some what redeeming feature is the nice typography and presentation of the book. Content wise it's pretty bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sterlings gold the book, 27 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man (Hardcover)
This book is so so poor 171 pages at best no more than 30 words per page The only thing that makes it a book is that it has a cover its going back P J Stone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what it appears..., 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man (Hardcover)
Was really disappointed with this. The description and title are misleading as they suggest that this book contains something of Roger's autobiography that we hear snippets on throughout the series. What is actually contains are a few quotes from Mad Men (in massive font - so don't expect too many), and some pictures. Sorry, but it's rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wit and wisdom???, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man (Hardcover)
bought a used copy as it certainly wasn't worth buying at full price ! Very little content and not much wit or wisdom as far as I could see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it makes for a fantastic gift for that special Mad Men die-hard in your ..., 11 Nov. 2014
By 
Rivereyes (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man (Hardcover)
Even though it's not really much in the way of content, it makes for a fantastic gift for that special Mad Men die-hard in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a Mad Ad world, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man (Hardcover)
Funnier and strangely truer than you might think - antidote to all the aphorisms contained in the accepted 'text books' by Name gurus; if you like Charles Handy's take on business more than Drucker, Peters et al you might something here that fires up your brain? I Ching like maxims for you to use as inspiration rather than parroting . Or just Machiavelli for Generation X ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man
Sterling's Gold: Wit and Wisdom of an Ad Man by Roger Sterling (Hardcover - 18 Nov. 2010)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews