Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably accomplished previously unpublished Vonnegut fiction and non-fiction short stories
As these have been published for the first time, one could reasonably assume them to be much rougher diamonds than the work the author sought to polish to publication perfection; however one cannot speak of a low quality Vonnegut here at all. This - a collection of six fiction short stories, the author's non-fiction 'anthropology' essay and an unfinished science fiction...
Published 19 months ago by AK

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok
Some stories were amazing and some were just below expectations. I enjoyed the twist and surprise angle to some of the stories.
Published 22 months ago by Ibitayo S


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably accomplished previously unpublished Vonnegut fiction and non-fiction short stories, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As these have been published for the first time, one could reasonably assume them to be much rougher diamonds than the work the author sought to polish to publication perfection; however one cannot speak of a low quality Vonnegut here at all. This - a collection of six fiction short stories, the author's non-fiction 'anthropology' essay and an unfinished science fiction story - gives you all the author's wit and powers observation in a more bite sized format.

I personally did not find the title piece the strongest, that title in my opinion going to the non-fiction essay, where he reflects on the profession he studied for but did not enter into - anthropology.

In the end, if you are a fan of the author, I can only recommend the book. It has the qualities of his other works (even if one certainly cannot call it one of his best), and is probably the last of his works to be made available. If Vonnegut is not your thing, the book is unlikely to change your mind, either. In spite of the bite sized format, I would still probably recommend one of his other books for a first taste of the author for those completely new to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some stories were amazing and some were just below expectations. I enjoyed the twist and surprise angle to some of the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unpublished work, 3 April 2014
By 
A. Rothwell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a fan of Vonnegut you will find much to like but newcomers may be put off reading his masterpiece Slaughterhouse 5. Start there..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reminder of what we've lost, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thes are not all the best Kurt Vonnegut, but in even the worst of them, the quality shines through. What a pity that the SF story is unfinished as what is in here is intriguing and an excellent basis for a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good shorts, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having read a number of K.Vonnegut's novels I decided to take these on holiday. Not disappointed only trouble they're a bit too short. Good endings though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have learned to love Mr Vonnegut, this certainly won't disappoint. Full of the usual acerbic wit and open heart that characterises his writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vonnergut, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not a great fan of short stories, but never-the-less I enjoyed reading this collection. The twists in the endings were neat and often unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vonnegut but not top Vonnegut, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoughtful, wise and funny, Vonnegut couldn't help being otherwise, but not in the first rank of his writings. Better than just about any other writer of his generation, nonetheless. Something for the fans rather than to win over converts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vonnegut - Genius, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At the price it is a steal.
For those who are familiar with Vonnegut's major novels (Slaughterhouse 5, Player Piano, Cat's Cradle, Breakfast of Champions, et al) this is a delight.
For those unfamiliar it is a great introduction to the mind of Kurt Vonnegut.
Although pidgeonholed as a Science Fiction writer, Vonnegut transcends boundaries.
His imagination may sometimes take us to the stars but he is equally adept in the darker recesses of the mind, as the opening tale of obsession shows. Time to Vonnegut is not linear, but a pool to be dipped in and out of in search of the story behind his characters and his humour always restores my joy in reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reflection of my own thought processes., 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The recent attempts by the US to avenge deaths by killing even more people made the time of my reading this quite poignant. Kurt is obviously a man with his own views within, but separate from the conglomeration of views that make up modern America. I agree with just about every theme that he touches on. The beginnings of the unfinished story indicate that he still is prepared to push the envelope and say what needs to be said instead of what other people might like to hear. And damn good value too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sucker's Portfolio: A Collection of Previously Unpublished Writing
Sucker's Portfolio: A Collection of Previously Unpublished Writing by Kurt Vonnegut (Paperback - 12 Mar. 2013)
£5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews