Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written.
Most enjoyable read. I gave it 5 stars because I couldn't put it down. I will read more of this author.
Suitable for anyone who enjoys a good crime story.
Published 10 months ago by Mrs Pamela Williamson

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Swimming With Sharks
This is the debut novel of German author Nele Neuhaus, better known for her hugely successful crime series featuring Oliver von Bodenstein and Pia Kirchhoff (one of which, "Snow White Must Die" has just been translated into English). Swimming With Sharks is an enormous novel, over 600 pages long, and after her manuscript was rejected the author initially self published...
Published 13 months ago by S Riaz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Swimming With Sharks, 1 July 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Swimming with Sharks (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the debut novel of German author Nele Neuhaus, better known for her hugely successful crime series featuring Oliver von Bodenstein and Pia Kirchhoff (one of which, "Snow White Must Die" has just been translated into English). Swimming With Sharks is an enormous novel, over 600 pages long, and after her manuscript was rejected the author initially self published the book.

Set in mid-1990's New York, the novel features German investment banker, Alex Sondheim, as the main character. Alex is head hunted by Vincent Levy, head of a bank in Manhattan, where she quickly becomes one of the best paid investment bankers in the city. Three spectacular deals later and both her own, and the banks, reputation is soaring. Then Levy makes some slightly illegal suggestions and she realises she is being asked whether she will,"play the game."

Alex is incredibly driven and ambitious and longs to be part of the rich and famous. When she is introduced to billionaire real-estate tycoon, Sergio Vitali, she sees him as her ticket to New York high society. However, Alex quickly discovers she is out of her depth and, despite not wanting to hear claims that Vitali is involved in organised crime, she soon realises how dangerous he is. Alex begins to link Vitali to frauds connected to the bank and begins to investigate.

The main problem with this book are the cliches that hit you again and again. Alex is so beautiful that every man she meets seems to fall instantly in love with her. Vitali's arch enemy is New York's mayor Nick Kostidis and he, along with everyone else, seem to immediately see the good within Alex and believes that she will do the right thing. The problem is that Alex is presented as a rather wilful, money obsessed workaholic when we first meet her - she happily accepts expensive gifts from her rich, married lover and is content not to delve too deeply into things that she feels do not concern her. Then, suddenly, she becomes very moralistic and her attitudes change overnight. Some of the dialogue is also rather trite - at one point in the book, one of Vitali's henchmen says, "as they say in the movies, he's sleeping with the fishes...."

Saying that, despite the faults, this is a fast moving and exciting read. The good guys are a little too good and the bad guys stereotypical baddies - some ambiguity would probably been more realistic. However, by the end of the book I was hoping Alex would come out of her trials unscathed. Probably, had this book not started life self-published, an editor would have suggested condensing the plot, making the storyline tighter and shortening the banking details. Overall, I did enjoy this and am certainly keen to read her crime novels. For a debut, this is an interesting read and shows immense promise; which Nele Neuhaus has certainly lived up to, as she is now published in 21 countries and has sold over 3 million copies of her books in Germany alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly enjoyable, 24 Feb 2014
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Swimming with Sharks (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I quite liked reading this but wouldn’t especially recommend it. The book is far, far too long. I did read it to the end but it reminds me of a TV mini-series. You might think that it all is rather silly and clichéd but you still want to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 Oct 2013
Turgid, written by numbers. I gave up a quarter way through. I cannot think of anything positive to say about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most enjoyable read. I gave it 5 stars because I couldn't put it down. I will read more of this author.
Suitable for anyone who enjoys a good crime story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good story badly written, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The plot is a bit derivative but quite compelling. The dialogue, however, is stilted and unrealistic and the descriptions of the feelings and emotions of the characters amateurish. Perhaps it lost something in translation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swimming with Sharks, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book with some twists and turns that were not expected well worth the time. Good strong characters in the story and would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swimming with Sharks by Nele Neuhaus., 29 Jun 2013
A fantastic & gripping murder mafia styled book. Also I have discovered an author who was unknown to me and I feel deprived of not having heard of her. This fast paced story was totally a "I can't put it down read"
I look forward to reading more from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly good read, +++++++, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written book, thoroughly good read, +++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best by nele, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swimming with Sharks (Paperback)
I love every book by nele Neuhaus .she is the best writer I ever known can't wait for more translated books in English and Polish also, and you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant story, just wanted to keep reading and reading it first read by this author, I will definitely read another of her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swimming with Sharks
Swimming with Sharks by Nele Neuhaus (Paperback - 18 Jun 2013)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews