Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Fangborn" series book 1
Zoe Miller's life is a mess. She's mourning the loss of her mother, being hunted by the mysterious family her mother had always run from and trying to hide the fact she is a werewolf. When she is drawn to a small figurine to such a degree that she steals it, add to her problems her cousin's abduction for leverage to force Zoe to carry out a specific mission.

It...
Published on 8 Mar. 2013 by Book Addict

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work for me
Zoe is an archaeologist who is also a werewolf. All her life her mother has kept her hidden from her family and moved her around. She has few friends and little knowledge about her family past and background. When her mother dies various things happen which mean that Zoe has to get in touch with her bestial side which scares her and to link up with people she doesn't know...
Published 10 months ago by Anne

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work for me, 11 Jun. 2014
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Zoe is an archaeologist who is also a werewolf. All her life her mother has kept her hidden from her family and moved her around. She has few friends and little knowledge about her family past and background. When her mother dies various things happen which mean that Zoe has to get in touch with her bestial side which scares her and to link up with people she doesn't know who can introduce herself to her true nature.

This is an urban fantasy combined with a quest novel in the style of "The Da Vinci Code" but sadly it didn't work for me. The archaeological background was well done and I felt in safe hands with the author when she was exploring this part of the story but the supernatural aspect of the book and the way in which Zoe acts didn't ring true.

Zoe becomes aware that people are following her and she knows instinctively that they are the enemy but when she bumps into more people who also seem to know about her werewolf side she trusts them - I am not quite sure how she knows the difference. She also seems to bump into a lot of people who know about the secret supernatural world and those who don't know before the story are very accepting of it. The story centres around the Pandora's Box myth and at every step in her quest Zoe finds people who give her information about this and help her to find it - she doesn't actually do much in the way of research or discovery herself. I could just about grasp the kidnapping/quest storyline but as Zoe pursues the Box around the world this aspect of the story became sillier and more unbelievable.

I didn't like the way in which Zoe has little knowledge about her nature, the werewolf culture or the quest. She has partial knowledge all the way to the end of the book and is very reliant on other people's help whilst she actually seems to know very little about them. I didn't get a full picture of how the supernatural community worked and the different species interacted but I think that this will come in future volumes.

In the end, the book didn't really work for me. There just wasn't enough that joined together and Zoe wasn't really in control of anything. The quest plot was unbelievable (even for a fantasy). I received a free copy of this book from the publishers via NetGalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seven Kinds of Hell., 10 April 2013
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seven Kinds of Hell (The Fangborn Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As urban fantasy novels go, this should have had a lot to offer; it had an interesting, fairly original premise, but...

Cameron writes well with an easy, flowing style and has a wealth of archaeological knowledge to put to use, but her plotting structure really doesn't work that effectively. This is paced as a thriller - which is a bit different from most novels of this type and the breakneck speed in which the action moves from the USA to London, Paris, Berlin, Italy and Greece while introducing characters who are part of an international, clandestine group of shape shifters called the Fangborn just seems over-ambitious. Not enough time is spent developing any of the characters or establishing the plausibility of the various factions involved; the ultimate task - which the heroine, Zoe has to fulfil - is the retrieval of Pandora's Box.
For me, the cavalry appeared - with no proper explanation given - just rather too often when Zoe required rescue; the Fangborn seem to have access to considerable resources for such a clandestine organisation and I had some trouble taking some of the shape-shifting stuff seriously - I know it`s fantasy writing but credibility is still a requirement - a wolf running around in shirt and knickers...really? Was it meant to be funny?
I wanted to like this and Cameron does have real writing ability, but this just tries to do too much in one novel; as the first book in a series a more gradual unfolding of Zoe's predicament would have been - I think - advisable. As it is, I found it a bit of a hurried, un-engaging morass; it lacked that compelling, "what happens next" factor as good ideas were too hurriedly introduced and under-explored. I didn't find myself caring much about Zoe, which rendered reading this rather a chore.

Others have liked this book, but I`m afraid I don`t feel the same way; maybe the next instalment will have surer footing, but this novel only gets a tepid "okay" from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Fangborn" series book 1, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seven Kinds of Hell (The Fangborn Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Zoe Miller's life is a mess. She's mourning the loss of her mother, being hunted by the mysterious family her mother had always run from and trying to hide the fact she is a werewolf. When she is drawn to a small figurine to such a degree that she steals it, add to her problems her cousin's abduction for leverage to force Zoe to carry out a specific mission.

It appears Zoe has found a missing key to unlocking Pandora's Box, and if she wants to see her cousin alive again, then she has to travel to London and obtain another artefact using any means necessary. Along the way, Zoe has trailing at her heels useful friends, FBI agents, thugs and let's not forget her unknown father's family are still on her trail.

The pace of this book is hectic. Zoe's adventure has her zigzagging from one location to the next to uncover four figurines believed to be the keys to open Pandora's Box. She is also learning more of the Fangborn; a secret race of vampires, werewolves and oracles that she is a part of, yet Zoe proves to have abilities unknown in a werewolf Fangborn and she has an inkling as to why.

There is a strong fantasy element throughout the book. If Zoe isn't chasing after mythical artefacts in an Indiana Jones fashion, the Fangborn are making themselves known and displaying a variety of powers. I also liked the ideas surrounding Pandora's Box and that the Fangborn are the basis for a lot of the historical and assumed mythical images Zoe comes across in the archaeological world. There is a dose of romance; however this doesn't interfere with the frantic pace as Zoe bounces from one location to the next and leaving an increasing number of dead bodies along the way. I have only one gripe with the storyline. Every time a bad guy neared death or was in a dangerous fight, he would suddenly and conveniently throw vital information Zoe's way pointing her in the direction of the next clue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Indiana Jones type adventure, 29 April 2014
This review is from: Seven Kinds of Hell (The Fangborn Series) (Paperback)
Zoe Miller has been on the run her whole life, running with her mother from her father's family but following her mother's death, her father's family come out of the woodwork and all hell breaks loose in her life.

Now I didn't know much about Dana Cameron's body of work before reading this but I can honestly say this, I am going to find out more.

Seven Kinds of Hell is a fast paced exciting novel, the kind of story that grips you from the start and doesn't let go until the last page is digested.

Zoe is an Archaeologist, never staying in the same town for long, her mother has been protecting her daughter all her life from her father's family always keeping on the move and out of sight.

Zoe also has a major problem one that she has kept to herself for a long time, she can turn in to a wolf and because of this she is worrying that she is losing her mind.

She loses her mother at the start of the book and following her death her father's family starts to come out of the woodwork, coming at her at every opportunity, she does the one thing she knows best, prepares to flee.

Her escape is hampered by her cousin Danny being abducted, and Zoe has to help the kidnapper retrieve a figurine, a figurine that is part of a set and Zoe has one of these hidden in her bag, she explores Europe looking for the rest of the set so she can get Danny back and along the way she finds out that these objects are linked to the mythical Pandora's Box.

As she progresses on her journey she realises she knows nothing about being Fangborn, she meets on her journey friends and foes who explain more about what it means and the history behind it.

This story reminded me a lot of Indiana Jones, a kick ass wolfy Indiana Jones!, I loved how the story explored beautiful parts of Europe and the details of the architecture in the cities was a lovely addition too.

This was a great story and I am pleased to say there is a book two in the series called Pack of Strays which I will be reviewing hopefully next month.

I have awarded Seven Kinds of Hell 4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, and much better on a second, less rushed reading., 18 April 2013
By 
DebB (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seven Kinds of Hell (The Fangborn Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I realised the day after I first read this that I had no idea how to review it - I'd read it too fast, so took a week or so break then read it again.

This is a big book - 409 pages in my A5 format paperback - and it uses that length to develop a long story arc. Action takes place in Boston, London, Paris, Berlin, Venice, Mykonos, a Turkish island in the Med, and if the London bit is anything to go by, the location details are sound - the London underground station Zoe emerges from to find her friend is right where I used to live!
There's a bit of reminiscing and flashback at the start to set up Zoe's back story, but not too much, and it certainly establishes why she's grown into the young woman she is. Then other characters start being introduced, and initially I found myself wondering who was significant and who wasn't - altho' my second, more measured reading, reveals only 8 characters who become important -maybe its the Ben, Danny, Will, Adam similarity - all short, traditional names?! In a nutshell, her cousin is kidnapped to force Zoe to retrieve an artifact. The kidnapper seems to know nothing of her Fangborn heritage, just that she's an archaeologist who's recently nicked a little something he wants from the museum where she works.
And so she's off - aided and hindered by various good/bad/undecided individuals. She's a little too trusting for my liking at times, given what she learns about vampiric abilities (and these are unlike any vampires I read before - they love the sun!), and the introduction of some of the characters are a tad "hey how you doing, wanna join my adventure" at times. There's a twist concerning one principle character, some tragedy for another, some sex, although by the norms of the genre its pretty low key, a developing mystery over what the artifacts are, and some huge set ups for the next book. The question of her relationship with her father's people, a biggie at the start, sort of fades and isn't resolved at all.
The book ends, somewhat as it began, with Zoe essentially as alone as she was at the beginning, apart from one person she doesn't trust and what seems to be a ghostly companion - that or she's hearing voices in her head! She may know a bit more, and an awful lot of people now know about her, but there's one hell of a lot she doesn't know, and she knows she doesn't know it! - maybe that's the next book.
So - this needs with reading with a bit of care - then the extra bits of detail reward and add to the storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to like it more, but i didnt., 7 April 2013
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seven Kinds of Hell (The Fangborn Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Zoe has led a pretty troubled life.

She is an Archaeologist, and her mother has recently died.

They have been on the run for pretty much Zoe's whole life, a story told her by her mother because her father is "bad people"

Of course when Zoe's mum passes way Zoe discovers a whole host of stuff that she didnt really know about herself, that oh yes she is a werewolf, she had of course been fighting the change since she was 16 with alcohol and drugs but calls it "the beast" and thought that she was crazy - well you would wouldn't you.

Anyway a whole bunch of crazy stuff starts happening to her and she gets introduced to The Fangborn, her people if you like, a generation of a different species, werewolves, vampires, snake shifters etc etc etc who live in secret.

Zoe of course runs, because of course you would.

Anyway she runs to a cousin Danny and an old friend Sean and that's pretty much when the whole story kicks off.

Cue a whole host of new characters, bad guys, jaunts to London, Berlin, Venice, Turkey, Greece etc and a hunt for Pandoras box.

Snore.

This is precisely the point where i lost total and utter interest.

As a huge fan of Gena Showalter's Lords of the underworld Series everyone knows that Pandoras box created the Arc for that storyline which has been massively successful and unfortunately people keep trying to capatlise on the same success.

Please stop. Get your own storylines, and find another object to base your book about because its getting boring.

Also the precise point where she finds Pandoras box and puts her hand in it was reminiscent of the exact moment where Sienna became well God in Darkest Seduction (Lords of the Underworld).

I understand that you are friends with Charlaine Harris and i loved how you created a new description of vampires being completely purple, i thought that was all kinds of awesome but sorry for me i thought that you needed to base the story about a different relic, even making one up would of been better because the minute you mention pandoras box and the paranormal everyone automatically refers to Genas work.

Anyway that was my take on it.

Up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 23 May 2013
By 
David J. Brooks "Brooksy" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Poor qaulity. Writing is infantile. Would not bother with it and certainly would not read anything by the same author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Different and interesting., 17 May 2013
By 
Peter Miller (Sudbury, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven Kinds of Hell (The Fangborn Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had not read a modern vampire type story before. I found this book interesting story following the adventures of a shape shifter who is being pursued by the members of her family.
Personally I prefer traditional fantasy set in medieval worlds and could not relate to this genre. My fault and not that of the book.
I am sure that those who do like the genre will really enjoy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seven Kinds Of Hell, 12 Aug. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Naomi" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seven Kinds of Hell (The Fangborn Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I absolutely loved this book.

Teh storyling was unlike anything I have read in the su-pernatural genre and had many teists and turns in the story.

It was hard to know who to trust from a readers point of view and the characters. She was thrown into a whole new world and it was all surreal to her..she had thought she was just nuts haha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Only on 8th chapter so far and im really pleased with the story line, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only on 8th chapter so far and im really pleased with the story line. It got me hooked straight away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Kinds of Hell (The Fangborn Series)
Seven Kinds of Hell (The Fangborn Series) by Dana Cameron (Paperback - 12 Mar. 2013)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist