Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Into the Unforgiving and the Unsettling
This follows on from Jack Wakes Up, featuring Jack Palms star of an action blockbuster Shake Em Down, which no one he meets lets him forget. His acting career very much on hold Jack is drawn once again into the role of private investigator. In this instance a complex case of police corruption, the murder of one office and the deaths of girls trapped in the sex-trade...
Published 18 months ago by Ghostgrey51

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is Lively
Actor Jack Palms had a hit movie, then he hit the bottle, hit the clubs, hit the drugs and hit rock bottom. On his way back up he finds himself as a sort of private investigator (I'm sure more of the justification for this strange state of affairs is covered in the previous book) looking into corruption that goes into the highest reaches of San Francisco's public...
Published 17 months ago by A. Chell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Into the Unforgiving and the Unsettling, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is Life (A Jack Palms Novel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This follows on from Jack Wakes Up, featuring Jack Palms star of an action blockbuster Shake Em Down, which no one he meets lets him forget. His acting career very much on hold Jack is drawn once again into the role of private investigator. In this instance a complex case of police corruption, the murder of one office and the deaths of girls trapped in the sex-trade.
This is no light-hearted caper of an actor trying to live down or up to his screen image; the reader is drawn into a Noir world of betrayal, violently abrupt ends unsettling visions of desperately vulnerable victims of the sex-trade and as hardened and cynical law enforcement officers as you are ever likely to meet, along with the modern archetype villains who by convention are required to be Eastern Europeans.
Written in the present tense third person narrative in the short sentence, paragraph and chapter style it conveys an urgent edgy pace which suits this brutal and unsettling tale.
I can't say I enjoyed the book, I personally found some of the imagery disquieting, but having said that I believe this is what the author was intending to convey and he does this most effectively, so good luck to him!
If you like you detective tales filled with dark and hard, gritty action upon the means streets of the classic American style then I would reckon you'd like this book and maybe want to back track to the previous novel to pick up on some of the nuances. If you have read the first one (which I haven't) I am taking a mighty guess in thinking you may wish to add this to your collection.
Very good offering of its style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh voice in crime, 7 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My first exposure to Seth Harwood was with his latest novel "In Broad Daylight", which was a cracking slice of FBI procedural set in bizarrely long summer days of Alaska. "This Is Life" is actually a sequel to an earlier novel, "Jack Wakes Up", and while quite different in tone to "In Broad Daylight" is still an excellent, fast-paced crime novel. Harwood's style is brisk, his characters engaging, and the plot has just the right number of twists and turns to keep any crime reader happy. I hope the chronicles of Jack Palms keep on coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy read, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not thrilling but keeps the attention and easy holiday or bed time reading. Main character quirky and typical of this type of detective story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is Lively, 16 Mar 2013
By 
A. Chell "Avid reader" (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This is Life (A Jack Palms Novel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Actor Jack Palms had a hit movie, then he hit the bottle, hit the clubs, hit the drugs and hit rock bottom. On his way back up he finds himself as a sort of private investigator (I'm sure more of the justification for this strange state of affairs is covered in the previous book) looking into corruption that goes into the highest reaches of San Francisco's public servants.

Having set up the premise, author Seth Harwood treats us to car chases, gun battles, fights, friendship, betrayal and murder - all written in the present tense - which, at first, made the novel difficult for me to get into. I'm glad I persevered as 'This is Life' is an enjoyable, pacey, if pretty unbelievable, action thriller, though I'm unsure whether I'd go out of my way to read future instalments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "He wishes that he had time to smoke a cigarette,, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is Life (A Jack Palms Novel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
that this night wasn't turning into a cherry-busting party for him: his first kill and his first time shooting real rounds from an automatic weapon"

Jack Palms, an actor that is known from a Bruce Willis style action flick where he played police sergeant Mike Haggerty, is involved in his second dangerous case and once again he must work with a contact from the police and an old former NFL star acquaintance. Things, however, are spinning completely out of control when it turns out that there are several different players working against them - from the Russian mafia to the San Francisco police department.

I guess if you take this as a light entertainment thriller chase (not unlike a Bruce Willis movie), the book is ok as it's well paced and easy to read. However, if the concept of an actor, who starred as a police man in one blockbuster movie, can go in and take over an investigation and that the police and FBI would be willing to let him loose like that annoys you, I'd say stay clear and read something else. There are also a fair bit of gratuitous violence in most of the middle part of the book which I found annoying - especially since it wasn't very innovative - he basically seemed to butt a lot of noses.

I finished it, but will not be reading other instalments in this series. Oh, and this is the second book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, dark, adult crime, 28 Feb 2013
By 
D. J. Burton (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This is Life (A Jack Palms Novel) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not for the faint hearted, this book follows a has-been actor as he unfolds and investigates killings of young women in and around the city. They are all linked, and soon the culprits are after the main stars of the book......

It's grim, dark and seedy, with graphic scenes and some notorious "hard man" characterisations. It's not full of cliches and normal crime 101's, so credit to the author must be given for this.

I enjoyed the plot - some twists are there, and the reader is left guessing. It does get a bit movie-star far fetched at times, with some odd physical discrepancies that leave you a bit confused / unconvinced. One moment the star is doubled over in pain from a single punch, the next moment he can take a barrage of assault. I guess it keeps the plot going.

All in all I did enjoy this book, and look forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a goog book to take on holiday, 5 Jan 2014
A typical american book about crime and the police, well written and exciting. It also makes you pleased that you live in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars value, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
keeps you interested.the story is easy to pick up after lay down,no need to go back several pages.thank you good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 19 Dec 2013
By 
R. M. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This is Life (A Jack Palms Novel) (Paperback)
Follows on from where we left off with Jack Wakes Up. I found this a truly enjoyable read, well written with plenty edge of the seat stuff. More great work from Seth Harwood, buy it you you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He's back - yes Jack Palms, your favourite hero is back with a new story 'This is Life.' Couldn't wait to read this one and I wasn't disappointed. Loved the first book 'Jack Wakes Up' and this is a cracker. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This is Life (A Jack Palms Novel)
This is Life (A Jack Palms Novel) by Seth Harwood (Paperback - 19 Feb 2013)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews