Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light Caper That's Girlish Fun
"Dust Angel" reaches us as the fourth novel from German author Jutta Profijt, following on the heel of her three "Morgue," mysteries,Morgue Drawer Four, Morgue Drawer Next Door, and Morgue Drawer for Rent. Her first book featuring coroner Martin Gansewein, MORGUE DRAWER NUMBER FOUR, was shortlisted for the German 2010 Friedrich Glauser Prize for best crime novel, and...
Published 22 months ago by Stephanie De Pue

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but gets better as the story unfolds.
The book started slowly which after Morgue Drawer 4 was a little disappointing. However, once the pace increased, I enjoyed it although the story around the body in the boot fell a bit flat. Probably best as a holiday read or on a train journey to work.
Published 18 months ago by Snowy Owl


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light Caper That's Girlish Fun, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dust Angel (Paperback)
"Dust Angel" reaches us as the fourth novel from German author Jutta Profijt, following on the heel of her three "Morgue," mysteries,Morgue Drawer Four, Morgue Drawer Next Door, and Morgue Drawer for Rent. Her first book featuring coroner Martin Gansewein, MORGUE DRAWER NUMBER FOUR, was shortlisted for the German 2010 Friedrich Glauser Prize for best crime novel, and praised by "Mystery Scene Magazine" as "not only funny, but...insightful.". I've previously read and reviewed MORGUE DRAWER NEXT DOOR in these pages, wasn't crazy about it: it got old fast.

DUST ANGEL is a standalone, a light comic caper, featuring protagonist/narrator Corinna Leyendecker, set in Dusseldorf, Germany,a city by which it does a good job. Corinna has had the unenviable experience of losing her job in advertising, her boyfriend, and her apartment all the same morning. She does her best to cope with the red tape associated with unemployment insurance, does a couple of pointless job interviews, and decides to start her own business, Dust Angels, a cleaning, concierge, and catering service for wealthy men without wives. The business is doing well, until Corinna finds the body of a dead homeless man in the walk-in cooler of a fussy new client. She's got a bad case of flu, but she must somehow cope.

Profijt was born in 1967 in Ratingen, Germany. After finishing school, she lived abroad working as an au pair, an importer/exporter, a coach to executives and students, and a business English instructor. She currently works as a freelance writer and translator. DUST ANGEL appears to have been ably translated by the Seattle-based Erik J. Macki.

The book's thin, but charming and entertaining. I enjoyed it, aside from the minor annoyance of oddly capitalized words now and then; I have very little acquaintanceship with German, but believe it is characterized by capitalization of words not capitalized in English. Though of course, our narrator Corinna is using the capitalization for emphasis. Mind you, it's chick lit, of course, written by a woman, about women, for women. Couldn't recommend it to those of the male persuasion, but it's girlish fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow start but gets better as the story unfolds., 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust Angel (Kindle Edition)
The book started slowly which after Morgue Drawer 4 was a little disappointing. However, once the pace increased, I enjoyed it although the story around the body in the boot fell a bit flat. Probably best as a holiday read or on a train journey to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cleanup Firm, 13 April 2013
By 
J. Dye - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust Angel (Kindle Edition)
This book was recommended for my Kindle so I read the sample and was hooked. I bought the book and enjoyed it immensely and will look out for more by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust Angel (Kindle Edition)
Funny and kept you wondering what was going to happen next.
Liked all the characters as they were interesting. Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust Angel (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable light reading. The story was not at all what I was expecting. The ending definitely was not as expected but actually in a good way (trying not to include any spoilers)! Much lighter reading than the Morgue Drawer series the author is known for. Very good for a short quick read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anticlimactic, 31 July 2013
By 
PALSPRO (Sleaford, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust Angel (Kindle Edition)
It was a good story but it fizzled out at the end. I wanted there to be more behind the dead body, whereas it just went a bit flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Read from Jutta Profijt, 10 July 2013
By 
Dawn Mcmillan (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust Angel (Kindle Edition)
After reading her Morgue Draw books I couldn't wait to give this a try and it was well worth it. I didn't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust Angel (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book! Right up there with Morgue Draw 4.

Felt Profijt had given up slightly with Morgue Draw for Rent but with Dust Angel, BOOM - right back up there!

Brilliant :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellently written, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust Angel (Kindle Edition)
The plot of this book is, on the face of it, totally unbelievable. It just would never happen. Or would it? This has been written in such a way that everything that you can actually believe that this might happen.

The story flowed well and I found myself wanting to know how she got her way out of all her scrapes. A great read, and thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dust Angel by Jutta Profijt, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust Angel (Kindle Edition)
This book was full of surprises and the suspense kept on coming. A thoroughly enjoyable read.
I will certainly read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dust Angel
Dust Angel by Jutta Profijt (Paperback - 19 Mar. 2013)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews