Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars127
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£8.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2003
James Allen proves that it is possible to pack dozens of valuable nuggets in a small package. The language is often lofty and dated, which in other works detracts from the material. In this case it reads like the writings of a wise old scholar, enhancing the content and its weight.
If you enjoy highlighting key points, keep the cap off your highlighter while reading this. More than just an essay on positive thinking, Allen walks the reader through applications for personal growth, putting thought into action, using personal gifts to achieve right purposes, persevering to develop character, sacrificing and putting forth your full effort.
Powerful nuggets in a tiny package. Dynamite.
Larry Hehn, Author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory
11 comment66 of 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2010
This amazing book was written by James Allen in 1904 and with the world in its current state, this book should be essential reading for anyone wanting to live a life of abundance and create a better life for his/her family.
The books hit upon important areas such as the effect of Thought on Circumstances, whereby men are anxious to improve their circumstances, but are unwilling to improve themselves; they therefore remain bound.

I shall leave you with you an important paragraph taken from this small yet effective book, which may help you decide whether this book is for you or not.

A strong man cannot help a weaker unless that a weaker is willing to be helped. And even then the weaker man must become strong himself. He must by his own efforts, develop the strength which he admires in another. None but himself can alter his condition.

The above paragraph sums it up pretty well, if you want anything in life, good or bad, it all starts with the intention, if intentions are good, then good will surely come your way and vice versa.
0Comment21 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 1997
This book can serve as a turning point in any individuals life. Once one has mastered the control of the mind, they can determine the outcome of their life. The greatest testimony of this book comes from a 15yr old who read the book and has transformed his life. I have recommended this book and bought this book for many. I encourage the buying of this book for all who want to achieve their ultimate potential.
11 comment32 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2001
You are what you think. You are literally the sum of your thoughts. Action only comes once the seeds of thought have been planted and sowed. James Allen leads listeners to self-improvement through his inspiring and simple message: you are what you think. I also highly recommend "Open Your Mind, Open Your Life: A Little Book of Eastern Wisdom" by Taro Gold - which is written in much the same spirit as James Allen's work. Excellent!
22 comments54 of 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2009
Ever wondered about cause and effect? Ever pondered upon that gnawing problem in your life that you feel sure you have the power to resolve, you just can't quite get a hold of it? Problems losing your temper, feeling low self-esteem? Do you feel positive, but are not being able to convert those thoughts into action? Read this book!

At 60 odd small pages of large print this can probably be read in an hour. But do not let quantity be confused with quality - for this book could be read and re-read thousands of times in a life without decrease in profit to the reader.

Quite simply, Mr Allen explains how our thoughts shape us. Us as characters, us as personalities. Us as our personal appearance, us as our neatness and tidiness, or lack thereof. Us as our temper and anger, or us as serene and self-possessed. Us as thinkers and poets, or us as degenerates and slobs. We are what we think!

This book does not transform you in and of itself. What it does do is provide an eloquent and inspiring reminder to yourself - you are who you want to be. No excuses, no pretending, no whining. Allen lays down a challenge; experiment with the prinicples of clean, virtuous, wholesome, uplifting, kind, polite and generous thought, and see what happens in your life. Conversely, if you wish to be honest with yourself; ask and experiment at what results have only ever come through selfishness, laziness, slobbery, vanity, perversion, and the grovelling thoughts and feelings associated therewith.

Upon the discovery that, as Mr Allen states, the law of thought is governed by the law of the harvest, i.e., you reap what you sow, it will become evident to any reader that the task in front of them is to first get rid of the dry, dusty, barren land of their mind, laying fresh, fertile new soil in its stead. Then, to plant the most nutritious and delicious seeds of thought, goals and high and glorious desires. Next, to cultivate and tend the same with care, and then, in the fulness of season, to reap with joy the abundant rewards and fruitage of such labours.
44 comments25 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2000
This is a very small but really and truly very insperational book. Author wanted to show how most people use their thinking ability, and how to improve it for the better.
If you like the book--and I think you do--it became an instant classic for you. This tiny book can serve as a turning point in anyone's life.
11 comment22 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2008
This is the most wonderful little book you could ever possess!!! It is right up there with Wallace Wattles' "The Science of Getting Rich". It is a deserved classic and after only two days back at work having read it I am putting it into practice and seeing very positive results. Here's a taste: "man has but to put right himself to find that the universe is right; and during the process of putting himself right, he will find that as he alters his thoughts towards things, and other people, things and other people will alter toward him". Law of Attraction written olde worlde style basically, it takes a few readings to understand it but he has lots of little pearls of wisdom to offer and it is deceptively complex given the length of the book. You'll read it in an hour or two!! A wonderful gem!
11 comment19 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2010
Sincere comments given herein by me for anyone who cares to read them.

Frankly, in this materialistic and cynical world we tend to hang our heads in despair when wading through hundreds of false and silly comments about books, films, and TV programmes. Like me, you probally disagree with most of these.

Bless this author for leading humanity into more light for his wisdom is so very needed.

I have read many spiritual and philosophical books yet this one ranks as one of the very best. It is a priceless Tome-of-Wisdom that everyone should have - quite magnificent!

Makes one think...and think... and sort oneself out!
11 comment17 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2010
I read this wonderful book on my way to work on a daily basis.It sets me up for the day. Everyone should have a copy i'm always giving one away.
11 comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
I love this book. Allen tells you that you are what you think. He really goes into detail as to tell you what different types of thoughts will produce. This is a great read. I will encourage anyone to read this.
11 comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.