Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Duncan gets swept off his feet (book 5), 14 Aug 2013
Duncan's left Raphael to take over a new territory. It's time and it's with Raphael's blessing.
Duncan must fight the present Lord who's been letting things slide. No problem for Duncan but it's the aftermath that's trouble. The ex Lord had a sordid side which included assault, rape and murder but to make things worse it seem half of congress are involved and so the sorting hat is donned.
Emma is at her wits end worrying about her bestest friend in the whole wide world Lacey she went out to a special party at a bloodhouse and that was day's ago. Emma's only hope is to see the ambassador who turns out to be Duncan.
Duncan likes Emma's determination and agrees to help there's a hitch, Emma wants in on everything he finds out. Duncan is quite happy to keep her by his side which he's surprised about cos the feelings he gets when he's with her he hasn't felt in a very long time.
After some investigations and a few close shaves they find who they are looking for and get the revenge they seek.
A bit of romance and bonding later Duncan is in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously good reading, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This author is now on my favourite list along with Nalini Singh and Thea Harrison. Hope the next book comes out soon for my next fix. Don't plan on doing anything else once you start reading as you will not be able to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited and well loved book, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Duncan: 5 (Vampires in America) (Paperback)
I'd like to start this review by saying that my microwave needs cleaning. You may wonder why I'm telling you this in a review? Well it's because it's D.B. Reynolds' fault that my microwave needs cleaned! Apparently porridge needs watched constantly (I'm a new porridge eater so I didn't realise it expanded the same as scrambled egg while it was cooking) while microwaving. Oh FYI, don't microwave porridge while you're reading the first sex scene with Duncan in it! Especially if Duncan is your favourite vampire and you've been waiting for his book since Raphael.

So this is the book that a lot of people have been waiting for. I know there a lot of Duncan fans out there and this is the book where we get to roll around in Duncan (*sigh* Ah, if only it were real rolling around). And away from that train of thought! Duncan becomes a Vampire Lord in this book and meets his happy ending. I really liked Emma from the start, she wasn't scared of the vamps and wasn't afraid to stand up to Duncan.

There's not a lot I can say about this book because I really do have a serious literary crush on Duncan and couldn't wait for this book to be released. Although I don't think the guy on the cover does Duncan any justice, he's too small. And on that note, I urge you all to go buy Duncan right now, although if you haven't read the first 4, go buy them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Duncan Review, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Evampire (Gonzales, LA USA) - See all my reviews
The fifth book in the Vampires in America series is a thrilling action packed vampire romance.

The time has come for Duncan to leave Raphael and tackle the greatest challenge of his life. He will face treacherous vampires and murderous humans and he will rock the halls of human power if necessary, but Washington D.C. will be his. Emma Duquet will have to deal with the new vampire in town to find her best friend and roommate. But powerful enemies will stop at nothing to keep their secrets and Duncan and Emma will have dig beneath the corruption and depravity to uncover the most heinous conspiracy of all…

This fast paced and smooth flowing plot keeps the reader on the edge of their seat with lots of action, suspense and romance. The author brings this story to life with well written words vivid imagery and detail that captures the imagination and makes the reader feel as if they are part of the story. The characters are strong and captivating and grab the reader’s attention; Duncan of course captured mine from the very first book in the series and he does not disappoint in his own story. Emma has a spitfire and take-charge attitude with a vulnerable side that makes her a very endearing character and a great match for Duncan. Their attraction radiates heat from the very first page and the sex scenes scorch the reader with their intense red hot passion.

The setting of the story is perfect for Duncan’s story and the tension building multiple enemy conflict keeps the reader thoroughly engaged from beginning to end. There are surprising twists and betrayals that the reader doesn’t see coming and the thrilling battle scene gets the adrenalin pumping.

I have really enjoyed this great vampire series so far and I can’t wait to read more and find out just how Raphael achieves everything that he wants. I was totally engrossed in Duncan’s story and couldn’t put it down until the very end and I while I really hate having to wait for the next book, I love how the next book is set up in the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another fantastic installment. great series!, 4 Feb 2014
This one was a bit of a slower starter for me. Maybe its because id become accustomed to Duncan being with Raphael and not a Lord in his own right...?
Anyway, Raphael thinks its a good time to overtake the Washington DC territory - and that includes getting rid of the Lord already there. Duncan has no difficulties doing this- he is a VERY powerful vampire....now Vampire Lord.

Victor the previous Lord had been an abomination. Cruelty, pimping, neglect...all the worst things that a Lord could be. He held "parties" for select people who basically used an abused the girls at them.

Emma is Lacey's best friend - in fact her only person she has in the world. When she goes missing, shes worried...then frantic. Lacey had gone to one of those parties.

She is brave enough to face Duncan to find out what happened. The pair work together to find the vamps AND humans responsible for all the depravity, including the death of Lacey.

The romance and spark between all the Lords and their potential mates is always the same - its fought from both sides, and then a huge release for them both, and a new need comes - lust isn't the only thing in the relationship.

Duncan now has to prove himself to the vamps in the territory, weed out traitors or rogue vamps, while finding out who he can trust, making a name for himself as a Lord and has the power to be in this position without being challenged.

Emma is being recognised as his "human".....he should leave her be to be safe.....she should stay away to be safe.....
But the monsters aren't always the things that go bump in the night......

After the slow start, a really enjoyable read, again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifically good!, 21 Dec 2013
Duncan was a secondary character since book one in the series and I always had a soft spot for him. That he has his own book thrills me! - and it was an excelent book, the kind Duncan deserves!

The venue, this time, is Washington, DC, a town that also keeps my interest (I'd love to know this town), so it was just one more elemento that made my interest grows. In a world of depravity, Duncan will have to fight some enemies and the tension grows until an end where he discovers and fights an unexpected enemy. All this while falling in love with Emma and helping her in her vengeance against her best friend's murderer.

I just missed Raphael and Cyn in this novel. The epilogue with Lucas made my heart beat faster and next week he'll be my next boyfriend! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read the entire series so far, powerful characters with whom you can empathise. Looking forward to the next one!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book enjoyed it but... more story less sex, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed the whole series of books so far but have found that sexual encounters are getting in the way of a really good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 25 April 2012
When you get a series as good as D.B. Reynolds - Vampire's in America, you want to be able to articulate how good these books are without just saying 'go buy it already'. But that's pretty much what I want to shout to anyone who hasn't come across these wonderful stories.

I know some people are put off by paranormal Romance stories, and I feel the same. A lot in that genre do little for me, they value the romance before the characters and story. Not so, with these books. The romance is there, sure, but it sits alongside the character building moments and the incredible action. And when that romance does happen, you'll be left almost as breathless as the characters themselves. In fact, if you're trying to quit smoking, you might want to stock up on some gum, because you're going to want a cigarette after you finish some of the steamier scenes.

One other thing I should point out, is that the vampires in these books are some of the best I've read in years. Mostly, because they actually act like vampires. Yes, they're sexy and passionate, but they're also incredibly dangerous and ruthless, just like vampires should be.

So onto, Duncan as a whole. Well, it's my favourite book of the series, staring my favourite character. D.B. Reynolds' characters as so rounded and well-developed that you're quickly drawn into the story as it races along. Emma is an excellent addition to the world and it's nice to see someone who doesn't flinch from the vampires, and even stands up to them.

All in all, you could easily start reading from 'Duncan', but you'll want to buy the others once you're done. And if you've already read them, Duncan is the best so far. I enjoyed every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be my favourite book out of the series so far. Duncan story is amazing don't want to give anything away but the i needed a few breaks just to cool down, the love story is so sweet and the sex scenes so hot. Read the whole book in a day just could not put it down. Can't wait for the next one..!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa742e864)

This product

Duncan: 5 (Vampires in America)
Duncan: 5 (Vampires in America) by D. B. Reynolds (Paperback - 30 Nov 2011)
10.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews