Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative for Beginners
I am a good amateur runner but have always just gone for a general run and raced when I fancied without any kind of training plan / nutritional plan etc. I've always known you should have rest days / hard days / tempo days etc when training and you should eat X amount of carbs / protein etc. However, I never really understood why but the book breaks it down and recommends...
Published 19 months ago by pgraham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Underworld big book of marathon and half marathon running
Interesting read with good advice
Certainly points you in the right direction although talks more about regular runners then starting from scratch
Published 12 months ago by Mrs L D Miles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative for Beginners, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner's World Big Book of Marathon (And Half-Marathons) (Paperback)
I am a good amateur runner but have always just gone for a general run and raced when I fancied without any kind of training plan / nutritional plan etc. I've always known you should have rest days / hard days / tempo days etc when training and you should eat X amount of carbs / protein etc. However, I never really understood why but the book breaks it down and recommends how many grams of protein / carb / fat etc that you should be eating pre / during / post training / race and what food equates to each quantity such as an egg has X amount of protein (6 if I remember correctly). This makes it easier than going in to a shop and looking for something on the shelf that says X amount of such and such nutrient. The fact it is American is annoying as it constantly refers to American races and PR's (personal records) rather than the standard PB us Brits are used to. All in all a very good book for your beginner / first time marathon or half marathon runner. Agree with an earlier post that you probably can get all this info for free on the web but it's handy to have it condensed into one place and form a source you can trust (I think).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Underworld big book of marathon and half marathon running, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting read with good advice
Certainly points you in the right direction although talks more about regular runners then starting from scratch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY BIBLE!, 16 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner's World Big Book of Marathon (And Half-Marathons) (Paperback)
Fantastic. A bible for marathon runners. Great plans that you can use whatever your pace. Info on injury prevention and dealing with an injury in the middle of a marathon plan, with back-up plans for x-training when you cant run. Brilliant all-round. A RUNNERS BIBLE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So so book, good toilet reading. AMERICAN VERSION, 27 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner's World Big Book of Marathon (And Half-Marathons) (Paperback)
This book is ok and a good all in one resource. Nothing you couldn't get off the net for free I guess but nice to have to read on the loo/in bed etc. Is American version which I don't think is clear, I certainly missed it but don't suppose it matters too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to run a Half marathon and a marathon, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner's World Big Book of Marathon (And Half-Marathons) (Paperback)
This is a good book for those who decide to take the next step and run a maratón, includes various tips and experiences that will help you out in running the big race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner's World Big Book of Marathon (And Half-Marathons) (Paperback)
A present for my Wife and she loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
Dr. Pr Beal - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book.

Although I wish Runners World would stop trying to claim they are the sole suppliers of this for much more money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Runners World Big Book of Marathon, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Runner's World Big Book of Marathon (And Half-Marathons) (Paperback)
As I'm training for my first marathon I was so excited to get this book. However I did expect more. The information is very general and doesn't really go into any real detail. Expensive for what it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Runner's World Big Book of Marathon (And Half-Marathons)
Runner's World Big Book of Marathon (And Half-Marathons) by by Burfoot (Paperback - 9 July 2012)
£14.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews