Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Release another book, Adam!!!
Adam rich man funnily enough got me.through a difficult time due to his lovely genuine personality (and the cheeky good looks did help) I decided to finally get this book after searching everywhere to get it in UK (- a very country bumpkin part of) the book was great perfect mix of food, stories and some cheeky rendezvous I would love it if he wrote another.
Published 18 days ago by MLE

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was looking forward to this and ended up quite disappointed. Maybe I was hoping for it to be similar to MvF but it's very self-indulgent and more of a snap-shot autobiography where Richman uses it as a springboard to talk about acting gigs he gets and women he sleeps with, rather than the food. Yes, food is mentioned, obviously, but the number of times he goes on and...
Published on 16 May 2012 by Jordo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 16 May 2012
By 
Jordo (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking forward to this and ended up quite disappointed. Maybe I was hoping for it to be similar to MvF but it's very self-indulgent and more of a snap-shot autobiography where Richman uses it as a springboard to talk about acting gigs he gets and women he sleeps with, rather than the food. Yes, food is mentioned, obviously, but the number of times he goes on and on about the women he goes out with is self-serving and pointless. It's in every chapter too, with a heavy, descriptive prose that puts you off, especially the chapter in Honolulu which had me dry heaving. Adam, you're straight, we get it!

Could have done with about 5-6 more chapters and less "I'm brilliant aren't I?" within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Food doesn't win, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America The Edible (Paperback)
Those interested in this book will probably know Adam Richman from his TV series Man Vs Food, where his enthusiasm for food and easygoing charm make for a welcoming host. Unfortunately this hasn't translated well to print. He doesn't spend enough time on the details and history of the food and is more interested in giving us anecdotes about his bedroom conquests, which seems ungallant. When he does talk about the food his enthusiasm comes across as verbose, pretentious and sometimes just dull. Anyone who describes a banana pudding as "an edible manifestation of divine grace" needs to get a grip on himself or get a tougher editor. Or maybe he's joking - if so the humour doesn't come across without the TV screen to show the twinkle in his eye. I'll continue to enjoy his shows but I was very disappointed by a book I had looked forward to and wanted very much to like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Man vs Ex Girlfriends, 14 Aug 2012
By 
Vixxster (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was pretty good, but mainly I got the impression that Richman was using his now-celeb status to point and sneer at 'the one who got away' (trans: ditched him) - pointing out that he slept with as many women as he found new places to eat (or, in some cases, that the two were one-and-the-same).

I enjoyed the book, and his writing is quite witty, but I'd only read another book if he left the autobiographical neener-neener "Come and have a look at what you could have won" Bullseye element out of it. Kinda soured an otherwise entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I had hoped, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Thomas Hewitt "please help" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America The Edible (Paperback)
Was hoping for a summary of restaurants in the tv series with main dishes to look out for but it was more of a 'road trip' with only 4 or 5 cities visited and limited range if restaurants covered. More conversational style of review set out as a story but perhaps serving his own personal 'literary' ambitions rather than food and city guide. There were maps and some history of the cities too but would have preferred a 'rough guide' format with focus on the food. Today Adam, in the battle of man v food......there was no clear winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Release another book, Adam!!!, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America The Edible (Paperback)
Adam rich man funnily enough got me.through a difficult time due to his lovely genuine personality (and the cheeky good looks did help) I decided to finally get this book after searching everywhere to get it in UK (- a very country bumpkin part of) the book was great perfect mix of food, stories and some cheeky rendezvous I would love it if he wrote another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America The Edible (Paperback)
Bought this on Black Friday for a matter of pence for my dad. He loved it and said it was very funny. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Man versus past, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Adam Richman has an amenable screen persona and an obvious love of food. However, he does talk a little too much about the women he was with and the acting parts he never got. Admittedly this is something which we have to accept as a part of his story, but I did lose interest and struggled to finish. The parts about the origins of cuisines in America are where Richman is at his best and I think it's a shame he doesn't focus more on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift recipient loved it, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this product for a friends birthday and she loved it, so that's all that matters, shes a fan of Adam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: America The Edible (Paperback)
This is a great book. It's interesting and has maps to show where the restaurants are. It arrived quickly and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic journey., 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only downside to this book is it made me hungry! Adam Richman has a real knack for describing food in such a way that you can almost taste it. While it occasionally became a bit of a self-indulgent look at Richman's love life, the beauty of the places and the food more than made up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

America The Edible
America The Edible by Adam Richman (Paperback - 14 Nov 2011)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews