Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cats, colours, coffee and, yawn, a killer...
I read this in the Italian version, so I can't comment on the English translation, but I really enjoyed this book, not so much for the plot, which revolves around the usual rather over-used rigmarole of the psychopathic serial killer, nice but nothing particularly exciting, but for the tasty side-dish effect of its particular details.
The first, of course, is the...
Published 13 months ago by Stuart Wilson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well plotted and well paced detective story
This book delivers what is promised on the dust jacket: an entertaining, well plotted and well paced reading experienced - an unusual serial killer is on the loose in Perpignan and is being tracked by a team of detectives. The detective on whom we focus most is happily married but is surprised to find out that he has unsuspected difficulties in his relationship with his...
Published 10 months ago by William Jordan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well plotted and well paced detective story, 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: Summertime All the Cats are Bored (World Noir) (Paperback)
This book delivers what is promised on the dust jacket: an entertaining, well plotted and well paced reading experienced - an unusual serial killer is on the loose in Perpignan and is being tracked by a team of detectives. The detective on whom we focus most is happily married but is surprised to find out that he has unsuspected difficulties in his relationship with his wife - and has been suffering the career consequences of a move to part-time working some years previously when he first had children.

A real sense of Perpignan is delivered - the place and the culture. And alongside this a credible characterisation of the lead detective and his life - and perhaps also of the serial killer (though it's hard to know for sure without having studied the subject). We get a sense of the office politics of Perpignan police life; the plot moves at sufficient pace and in directions that the reader doesn't always anticipate. So: an enjoyable reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cats, colours, coffee and, yawn, a killer..., 11 July 2013
By 
Stuart Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summertime All the Cats are Bored (World Noir) (Paperback)
I read this in the Italian version, so I can't comment on the English translation, but I really enjoyed this book, not so much for the plot, which revolves around the usual rather over-used rigmarole of the psychopathic serial killer, nice but nothing particularly exciting, but for the tasty side-dish effect of its particular details.
The first, of course, is the setting: the highly-coloured Roussillon region of southern France - not to be confused with the famous Provencal town of the same name - close to the Pyrenees, where the language spoken is a strange blend of French and Catalan, and coffee seems to play a vital role in the lives of its inhabitants. It's not an area I know at all, but the book inspired in me an immediate desire to go there.
The inspector's refreshing mountain walks are so vividly and realistically described that you too feel as if you're searching in those cool shady spots for a little comfort from the deadly summer heat.
The second reason is the character of the police inspector, Sebag, with his all-too human imperfections, unusual perhaps in this type of book for his devotion to family rather than work, so tender in his enduring love for his beautiful wife and in his tormenting doubts regarding her fidelity. He's a man who's not afraid of showing weakness, one whose life you're keen to follow in order to see what happens.
The third is the cats, in general, and especially this story's particular cat who, bored and sapped by the heat, decides to abandon his garden to keep the inspector company by the swimming pool. Mysterious and elusive as the book's killer, but without his dark soul. I've already got the second Italian book in the series at home - perfect reading for the summer hols ...
(Bianca Orazi)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars French police procedural, 27 July 2014
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summertime All the Cats are Bored (World Noir) (Paperback)
Summertime, All the Cats are Bored is a police procedural set over a few hot weeks of early summer in Southern France and the local police’s attempts to save a young woman who has been kidnapped and two murders. The strength of the story is the sense of place and characterisation. Georget firmly places the reader in the Perpignan region during tourist season and captures the team dynamics and interactions of the investigative team. The narrative mostly focuses on Inspector Gilles Sebag, a cop who’s slipping into a midlife crisis as the case starts - he’s prioritised his family over his career, but now his teenage kids are making their own way in life and his wife is spending increasingly more time with friends and holidaying on her own and he suspects she’s having an affair, and his boss wants him to apply for promotion. His basis of his sense of self seems to be on shifting ground and now he’s trying to deal with a case where the life of a young woman is under threat. The intertwined scenarios of Sebag’s crisis and the perplexing investigation provide a nice hook and plot. However, the telling unfolds at a too leisurely pace, with a little too much unnecessary explication. The cats might be bored, but the reader veers towards that state a little too often until the final third of the book. Overall, an interesting character study and investigative case that too often lacks pace and edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars summertime the cats may be reading something else, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summertime All the Cats are Bored (World Noir) (Paperback)
Not a bad little read but I got tired of central characters perfect wife who he suspected of infidelity. He could have found out the truth but chose not to. ( this is a policeman). Clever uncovering of one murderer (sad) but the real villain gets away with murder - past and present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fluent and engaging, 27 Aug 2013
By 
D. P. Mankin (Ceredigion, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summertime All the Cats are Bored (World Noir) (Paperback)
Having read the first pages the author's prose and voice grabbed my attention. This a fluently written and highly readable crime novel; and for me it made a pleasing change from American, British and Scandinavian crime novels. So if you're looking for a good read - whether on holiday or not - you can't do much better than this. Intrigue, mystery and murder are interwoven with interesting and believable characters and an excellent evocation of place. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, but beware the language., 13 Aug 2014
By 
N. Ward "croyde nick" (Devon, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A solid if not particularly inspired alternative to PC obsessed Swedes and food obsessed Italians. My main gripe is that the original French, that most European of languages, has been translated into American, that most un-European version of the English language. A French cop opening the 'trunk' of his 'sedan' in a 'parking lot'? For me that just doesn't fit and grated all through. Otherwise a readable and well plotted novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was the best detective story I have read for a long time, 25 July 2014
By 
Dr (Bath, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the best detective story I have read for a long time. The plot unfolded gradually with sub- plots especially the one relating to the main detective's marriage (which by the way was left unclarified to be resolved perhaps in the next book which I gather is on the way) and, although the denouement was perhaps predictable, it still held my attention until the very end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 May 2014
By 
Barbara Enticknap "Irish Book Worm" (Waterford Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant written a real page turner fantastic some of the translation were a bit off - my favourite being her hairstyle was permanent ( perm i think he meant) all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anytime not just summertime read, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summertime All the Cats are Bored (World Noir) (Paperback)
Great read, good to see the French detectives giving the Scandis a run for their money and let's face it, we all need some sunshine right now. Read it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric thriller, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summertime All the Cats are Bored (World Noir) (Paperback)
Very good "cat and mouse" thriller set in Perpignan.Interesting sub plot with policeman and wife.Translation not good and overall lets it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Summertime All the Cats are Bored (World Noir)
Summertime All the Cats are Bored (World Noir) by Philippe Georget (Paperback - 11 July 2013)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews