Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book for beginners and therapists
excellent book for someone like me who is working towards a qualification in CBT. Easy to read, answers many questions
Published 3 months ago by Mike Short

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the basics, less so the beyond
The second edition of Judith Beck's book has much to offer anyone who is interested in CBT or who is comtemplating, engaging in or has just completed training as a CB therapist. There are chapters on all the concepts an introductory text should be covering, mostly written in a clear, uncomplicated style and updated from the 1995 original. It is most definitely a useful...
Published 20 months ago by N. Dutton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the basics, less so the beyond, 31 Dec 2012
By 
N. Dutton (Newcastle, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond (Hardcover)
The second edition of Judith Beck's book has much to offer anyone who is interested in CBT or who is comtemplating, engaging in or has just completed training as a CB therapist. There are chapters on all the concepts an introductory text should be covering, mostly written in a clear, uncomplicated style and updated from the 1995 original. It is most definitely a useful companion to a good CBT training course.
I found some features disappointing, hence only a 3.5 star rating in my view. The coverage of the evidence base for CBT is rather brief and might lead the reader to suppose that CBT is equally effective right across the board. I realise that an introductory text is not the place for an extensive discussion of research, but a better job could have - and has been- done in similar books such as Westbrook and colleagues in their An Introduction to Cognitive Behaviour Therapy who differentiate betwen areas of clear and limited evidences of efficacy. I was also disappointed by the chapter on progressing as a therapist, which says little more than practce the techniques on yourself . At times the language becomes mangled; for instance there must be a more elegant way of referring to problems in therapy than "stuck points".
These criticisms notwithstanding there is plenty here to stimulate the aspiring therapist, though I suggest looking elsewhere for the "beyond" part of the subtitle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book for beginners and therapists, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond (Hardcover)
excellent book for someone like me who is working towards a qualification in CBT. Easy to read, answers many questions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond (Hardcover)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond (Hardcover)
Excellent, clearly written really for reinforcing basic CBT theory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So what else would you expect from the Beck family?, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Ms C. Cotter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an extremely informative CB therapist's guide and no more than you would expect from one of the greats! Brilliant read and an absolute must have. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly good, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond (Hardcover)
i bought the book for a class i have in my master, and i was very pleased when the book arrived in less than a week from the time i ordered it! great condition, interesting book, very happy with it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Study, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond (Hardcover)
This product has every thing in it that I need at the moment, I am studying to become a Cognitive Behavioural Therapist and this product was the best place to start for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for CBT, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond (Hardcover)
From this one volume we have full course-requirements for the student of Counselling and Psychotherapy and a reference book for application in future practice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond (Hardcover)
great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond
Cognitive Behavior Therapy: Basics and Beyond by Judith S. Beck (Hardcover - 17 Aug 2011)
£34.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews