Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Luck
I bought this for myself as I have only just learnt to Tunisian crotchet, I found this an excellent book, lots of pictures, always helpful, and instructions which I found easy enough to follow. Lots of lovely things to make that are useful as well as fun to do. A great book for beginner or more advanced.
Published 20 months ago by Angela

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good beginners guide
If, like me, you are interested in learning a new craft, and enjoy crochet, then this book will be a great way of learning a different way to crochet. Very hard to buy patterns in England, so Amazon is the way to do it.
Published 14 months ago by Annette Hull


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Luck, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet (Paperback)
I bought this for myself as I have only just learnt to Tunisian crotchet, I found this an excellent book, lots of pictures, always helpful, and instructions which I found easy enough to follow. Lots of lovely things to make that are useful as well as fun to do. A great book for beginner or more advanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crochet, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet (Paperback)
I can crochet, have done for years but only just heard of Tuniaian crochet, so bought this book. Very well laid out, step by step instructions and lots of great patterns to get you started. Tunisian crochet gives a knitted effect and I can see lots of applications for this. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Guid to Tunisian Crochet, 7 April 2013
By 
Annie Wright ""craftymadam" (Thetford, Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet (Paperback)
A good starting point for tunisian crochet. Shows the basic stitches and some easy patterns to start with for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet (Paperback)
Lots of tips and techniques that can be easily undertaken. This book does not dissapoint, totally inspiring . Big thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good beginners guide, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet (Paperback)
If, like me, you are interested in learning a new craft, and enjoy crochet, then this book will be a great way of learning a different way to crochet. Very hard to buy patterns in England, so Amazon is the way to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet (Paperback)
The book is very clearly explained with enough pictures to guide the reader. I haven't started any work. I am yet to get my tunisian needles. But the colour and projects are very useful. i like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a beginner, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet (Paperback)
Shows an alternate way of crocheting and quite simple to pick up. I haven't attempted any of the patterns but hopefully intend to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hooking Delight, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet (Paperback)
I enjoy learning new skills and this made it an easy process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing., 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen some of the wonderful things that can be done with Tunisian crochet, this book was a bit of a let down, to be brutal.

The pros: it will introduce you to the basic techniques of Tunisian crochet, and it has a handful of patterns to get you going. The techniques are reasonably well explained though some of the descriptions/diagrams aren't the clearest. It will get you started on the basic stitches and a few slightly more unusual stitches.

The cons: the patterns are not at all inspiring. Granted, the beginner doesn't want anything tooooo ambitious, but these patterns are kind of dull. While I understand that part of the selling point of the book is "use crochet skills to create items that look knitted", it's as if the potential of Tunisian crochet is ignored in favour of patterns that really only mimic knitting and don't do so in especially exciting ways.

Considering it's supposedly aimed at beginners (since it's right there in the title!) I'd think that some more creative but not complex projects would be a better selection. There's a scarf that's just tunisian knit stitch (boring) and then on the other hand there are cabled mittens (possibly overly ambitious, and ironically, still not that interesting).

Overall, it's not a bad intro if you have no other resource from which to learn the craft, but there were only a couple of stitches mentioned that aren't in my 24 year old second hand Reader's Digest needle craft book, and there are several (more interesting) stitches in the RD book that don't make an appearance in this one.

I think it's a bit overpriced for a book that's not remotely comprehensive, the patterns are less than exciting, and calling it an "Ultimate" anything feels like a stretch. It's okay, it'll start you off, but if you're expecting to receive an 'ultimate' guide and come away from the book feeling confident and having created some really interesting pieces of crochet, there's a good chance you will, like me, come away disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beginner's book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet (Paperback)
Very clear instructions. Photographic diagrams are very clear. Some easy projects to start people off. I do recommend it to my students.
Chris Applebee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet
Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Tunisian Crochet by Kim Guzman (Paperback - 12 Aug 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews