Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imagining how to use light better.
I wanted to find ways to improve my photography,not just technically but through inspiration and imagination as to how light could be used better, both indoors and outdoors. I saw this book, 'Off-Camera Flash' on Amazon and thought I would try it. It has proven both educational and inspirational. Van Niekerk shows one how a subject can be made both more interesting and in...
Published on 9 Oct 2011 by Flash Harry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough new material
This book is ok, being a follow-up to the same author's other book, On-Camera Flash. Probably because this book is intended to be useful without having read the previous one, there are a lot of concepts repeated and it just does not have enough new material in it to justify the price. As both are fairly thin publications, it would have been very easy to just combine them...
Published 3 months ago by Tescodirect


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imagining how to use light better., 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
I wanted to find ways to improve my photography,not just technically but through inspiration and imagination as to how light could be used better, both indoors and outdoors. I saw this book, 'Off-Camera Flash' on Amazon and thought I would try it. It has proven both educational and inspirational. Van Niekerk shows one how a subject can be made both more interesting and in many cases more beautiful! I have found it well designed and laid out. First helping to think through the best possible outcome, and then designing the shot. Both the technique and the kit are described and explained well. I hope to be able to decide what techniques and subjects I want to focus on, what minimal amount of extra kit I will need, and then put it all into place! I recommend this book as a means of learning how to think differently in the use of off-camera flash to obtain much better shots, and then actually achieve them. Thank you Mr van Niekerk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great book on flash photography, 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
Neil van Niekerk's blog is famous and a very good resource for anyone interested in flash photography. This book bundles and structures all the information on off-camera flash and is a great resource for flash photography in general.

Personally, I thought that the on-camera flash book by the same author was better value for money - possibly because I don't have an assistant to hold my flash gun/umbrella/softbox. Several chapters of these books overlap and although some things have been reworded/corrected/improved I do prefer the on-camera flash book. If you do use your flash gun mostly off-camera, I can thoroughly recommend this book. Apart from the many similarities (manual vs TTL flash, metering, balancing ambient light and flash), there are two things that might make you lean more towards this book:

1. Different topics: this book focuses more on positioning the flash and has a very interesting chapter on how to overpower the sun with flash.

2. This book contains so-called "Sample-sessions", i.e. information about a few shoots Neil did which were less prominent in the on-camera flash book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On clearing flash fog, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
I don't know where you got your 'flash education' from, but mine was a bit haphazard because flash pictures didn't play a big role in the kind of pictures I take .You can probably see where this is going with not the right and enough information and the right equipment it's a recipe for frustration.And when you find yourself with a flash that has off-camera capabilities it just compounds the 'problem'. Then I ran across Joe McNally's books , inspirational text and style of writing but still,to my mind, a bit haphazard.

Recently I got hold of Neil's books and it was like the sun started to shine through the fog.Everything fell into place and started to make sense.Intelligent talk at the right level ,like he was standing next to you. Ideally you should start with his first book 'On-camera flash' and then move on to this one. Best money I ever spent on flash equipment. If you have a love-hate relationship with your hot-shoe flash and you are done with all the frustration, get these books. Admittedly he uses professional Canon and Nikon flashes but you cannot fail to walk away from his books and see the sun shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellant book if you dont use his web site, 22 Feb 2012
By 
M. Von Kanel "M.VON" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
Ive got to be honest, Ive used this mans web site extensively and learnt a great deal from him. There is however as far as i can tell very little content in the book that isnt on his website , which you can access for free! Anybody using his site will buy the book thinking it will contain stuff not available for free. You will be disappointed! However i dont regret buying the book Nick puts huge amounts of effort into his site and that costs time and money and so i bought the more to support his efforts than for any other reason. I gave the book 4 stars because of its lack of original content, but if you use the site you should buy it to support his work and if you dont use his site then its an excellent book packed with useful advice and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough new material, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
This book is ok, being a follow-up to the same author's other book, On-Camera Flash. Probably because this book is intended to be useful without having read the previous one, there are a lot of concepts repeated and it just does not have enough new material in it to justify the price. As both are fairly thin publications, it would have been very easy to just combine them into one really good value book covering both on-camera and off-camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good offering from Neil van Niekerk., 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
One of a set of three very good books on the use of light and flash. Very easy to follow and well explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book..., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
I bought this after buying several other books on the subject....this is a good book and I enjoyed reading it and found it helpful. It gives a good starting point on the photographic ladder covering the subject well....but nothing will boost your portfolio more than practice....practice....practice....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
The most interesting position on the book market regarding off-camera flash techniques. A must have book for both photography enthusiasts and pro photographers. I also recomend another phenomenal book this author: "On-Camera Flash Techniques for Digital Wedding and Portrait Photography".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part an extensive series, 7 Oct 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
Most amateur photographers, regardless of the camera they own, will normally either use the built-in flash gun or use another which is fitted to the hot-shoe and fired from there. That may be fine for some shots, but the lighting produced can be rather flat and harsh, not cover the full area of the scene or fail to produce any modelling in the subject. In the worst case, it may result in the dreaded red-eye that can sometimes be eliminated in-camera.

The professional photographer may rarely use the flash on-camera but will often hold the flash gun in one hand and have it above his eye level whether or not the subject's eyes are at a similar level. Sometimes, he might have an assistant or someone nearby hold the flash gun high or to one side of the subject in order to create modelling and depth in the subject. To do this usually requires a more powerful and therefore more expensive flash unit. It may require that you purchase an optional trigger unit in order to utilise all the available features.

In previous times, it would have been simple to use the standard flash socket with which almost every camera was provided and that would have allowed any flash gun to be used with either an extended sync cable or an extension lead added to the one fitted. Now, that flash socket is rarely offered and most camera systems use a dedicated flash system with its own proprietary connection format on the shoe such that you usually need to use the same brand of camera and flash. Some independent units are provided but they may offer limited choice of supported camera brands, lower power and a smaller range of features in order to be able to share as many common features as possible, ignoring those exclusive to one brand.

This book may not provide all the answers to all of these problems but what it offers is a variety of practical solutions based upon years of working knowledge and experience. It is not the most comprehensive book on the use of flash but it provides more advice about using the flash off the camera than any other that I know. If you want to improve your use of flash, this is a book that you should consider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for inspiration., 1 Aug 2012
By 
Gareth Williams (Newport, Gwent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Off-Camera Flash (Paperback)
This a good book if you are just starting out or have some experience but are looking for some inspiration. Pretty much everything you need to know for off camera flash is contained within this book without baffling you with technical jargon. The printing is crisp and the images well chosen to highlight the different examples of use of flash.
I have the Speedliters Handbook as well and find that both of these books are superbly suited for beginners as well as more experienced flash users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Off-Camera Flash
Off-Camera Flash by Neil van Niekerk (Paperback - 21 April 2011)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews