Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read.
This book is such a fantastic read, a great filler while we wait for the game of games!
Everything you could possibly need to know about the progress of the Diablo games and with a few hints as to what lies ahead in Diablo 3! Couldn't put this down whetn I first opened it! So grab a beer, let.your misssus have the remote (like she doesn't already!) dim the lights and...
Published on 31 Mar 2012 by polypusher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
It's OK, but I expected more. I bought the book during the Diablo 3 hype and was a bit disappointed by the game. The book is quite like it.
Published 10 months ago by Pavel


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read., 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
This book is such a fantastic read, a great filler while we wait for the game of games!
Everything you could possibly need to know about the progress of the Diablo games and with a few hints as to what lies ahead in Diablo 3! Couldn't put this down whetn I first opened it! So grab a beer, let.your misssus have the remote (like she doesn't already!) dim the lights and enjoy an evening with decard walking you through the history (and future) of Sanctuary!
A first class effort buy blizzard this one! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Epic Edition, 24 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
Got my copy today. TODAY, 24th of December:) It simply could have not been better timing!

It will be a nice addition to my Diablo library.

I have played Diablo since "the beginning" and although I am over 30. right now I am still great fan of this series and can play it all over again. I believe this is the best game EVER created and the story behind is absolutely epic and brilliant. If you are the true fan of the Sanctuary this book is a MUST.

I am looking forward to get my copy of the Diablo 3 game and hope it will be as good as the first Diablo release!

Merry Christmas Everyone!

PS. I have read the book tonight and enjoyed every single minute of nearly 4 hours nonstop reading!

As the true Diablo fan I have found one single flaw in the story though... To my surprise the Dark Wanderer had been given a name and origin (Aidan, son of Leoric). It does not match the original Diablo tale and it also had not been mentioned by the Author of this book (Cain the Elder) in his Journal. According to the storyline in the game the Dark Wanderer was the very player himself (in the game every character had his own ending story). Nevertheless, the story might be regarded as still fine if we recall that the Dark Wanderer of Diablo II was a MALE...

This single inconsequence does not have impact on my rating though - without this book (and of course other Diablo related titles) Diablo series would have remained only a game but after reading the Book of Cain it is MUCH, MUCH MORE...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect timing by Amazon, 25 Dec 2011
By 
K. Piwowarski "haerdalis" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
As with the two above reviewers I was amongst the lucky group who secured the first printing of the book. It is beautifully stylized with intriguing illustrations and Cain's side notes to his niece . As neither of the reviewers above mentioned it, aside from plenty of lore content (which Blizzard have admitted to retconning at some stages, which isn't that much of an issue as, let's face it, we've not had a lot of lore on this franchise to begin with), and hints on what magical artifacts we may happen upon in the 3rd game, the book contains a map of Sanctuarium hidden in a sealed envelope attached to the back cover. All in all a must have for any Diablo fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great tome for any Diablo fan., 24 Dec 2011
By 
R. Wanders (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
I received my copy on the afternoon of December 24th, right on time for Christmas. The book looks amazing on the outside, with the Red band encircling it inscribed with the Diablo 3 logo forming a bookmark, fixed firmly to the inside of the back page of the book.

The book itself has a layered relief of a demonic skull as the cover, with the back cover shaped into a large sigil of some kind.
This sigil is only shown in the book once, in association with the nation of Xiansai.

Inside you'll find the entire story of the Diablo series up to the start of Diablo 3, along with descriptions of relevant religions, philosophies, regions and characters from the universe accompanied by many pencil illustrations all printed on paper made to look like old parchment. At the back of the book is also an envelope containing a gorgeous map of Sanctuary, the world the Diablo games are set on.

In all this tome represents a pretty complete collection of knowledge of the Lore of the Diablo setting, up to the start of the 3rd game that is (although regions from the 3rd game are described in some detail). While not essential, this book is a great repository of knowledge that any Diablo fan would be proud to have in his collection.

PS: The only negative mark I have about this book was the quality of the copy I received. The cover was flawless but the pages of the book were rather roughly cut during binding, making the outer edge feel very rough as well as giving it a somewhat shoddy appearance and probably making it more prone to being damaged, as there's a lot more surface area for stuff to get caught behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for any Diablo fan. Stunning cover and pages, great quality and attention to detail. Interesting chapters and illustrations. Cannot say how well the publishers have done, will be a great addition to any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality product, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
Very beautiful book, really enjoyed it. It's made like an old scroll.
Drawing are awesome. If you enjoy to expend your experience of Diablo III, this is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book of history, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
The best book for diablo indeed.You learn the in depth history of the game and the world of diablo.great images, great story.The best book about diablo that i ever read.All diablo funs must have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, enthralling book, 25 Feb 2012
By 
J. C. Neale (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
I'm not entirely sure what I could say about this that others haven't, but I wanted to express my enthusiasm at least!

It's a beautifully presented book, for starters. Embossed covers, fantastic art and design work and it's a pleasure to have in your hands - Really, it's gorgeous. I can't emphasise that enough!
As for the cotent, it's a brilliant way of entering the world of Sanctuary. Or if you are revising or reminding yourself, wanting to explore and understand more, or simply want to heat your juices up for Diablo III - It gives you all the backstory, the story arc and pretty much all you need to know to be left ridiculously exited for Diablo III, and the continuation of the story.
The world of Diablo has utterly riveting and compelling lore, and this book perfectly demonstrates that.

Would you expect any less from a Blizzard product?
In summary, a beautifully presented, beautifully told piece filled that packs in a ton of the incredible lore of Diablo, and snippets of that which is to come.

Worth every single penny paid, and a lot more. 16 feels like a bit of a steal, to be perfectly honest.
To echo what everyone else has said : If you are fan of Diablo, get this. Get this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Cain, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
This book is amazing, even if your english is not very well, you should buy it and read it slow with a diccionary, it's simple awesome, the pictures, the history, 100% recommended.

And thanks amazon.uk for a nice service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tome - a must have for Diablo fans, 30 Jan 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diablo III: Book of Cain (Hardcover)
The Book of Cain is written by our good friend Deckard Cain, Last of the Horadrim. He is passing his knowledge on to Leah, a child of long-forgotten royal descent. This beautifully-bound hardback is embossed with faux-metal-cladding and symbols of the Lord of Terror, the pages are tinted to look of great age and there are numerous asides and additions written in the margin as if Deckard is amending and elaborating. On top of this are fantastic full-page (sometimes double-page) illustrations of the characters, symbols and locales of the game.

This Book collects & profiles the notable figures of the Diablo universe, detailing the Prime Evils, lesser evils and the good-guys as well as elaborating on the surrounds and religions the entire thing plays out in. Resultantly, fans will recognise boss characters and NPCs alike throught this tome that adds depth to the experience.

Enclosed in an envelope at the back with a wax-seal sticker, is the map of the Diablo world (Sanctuary) which I am hoping will be the lay-out & basis for Diablo III. Fingers crossed we won't be waiting much longer. Highly recommended for Diablo fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diablo III: Book of Cain
Diablo III: Book of Cain by Deckard Cain (Hardcover - 11 Jan 2012)
15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews